Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Laptop via TV


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2012, 18:53
kopite 64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: merseyside
Posts: 245

Hello all. Having connected my laptop and TV together via the VGA connections of each and PC input on TV. I was surprised that no sound was evident from the TV speakers just from the laptop,

Is there something I've not done right here regarding the settings of one or both units? Should I have used a VGA to HDMI cable instead of VGA to VGA cable? Or does it require another type of cable or sound source?.

Thanks in advance.
kopite 64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 10-12-2012, 18:54
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,481
You need to also connect the headphone socket of the laptop to the audio input on the TV next to its VGA socket.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 20:00
mooghead
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 440
VGA is picture only - you really need HDMI for both....
mooghead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2012, 20:09
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,481
Doesn't sound like the laptop has HDMI. Not much wrong with a VGA connection. Millions of computer users can't be wrong.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 00:40
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,966
You need to also connect the headphone socket of the laptop to the audio input on the TV next to its VGA socket.
^^^ This. VGA carries audio only.

Check your TV manual, there will be an audio input somewhere for when you connect a PC via VGA.
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 00:49
call100
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,452
^^^ This. VGA carries audio only.

Check your TV manual, there will be an audio input somewhere for when you connect a PC via VGA.
Video.....................??
call100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 19:15
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
Doesn't sound like the laptop has HDMI. Not much wrong with a VGA connection. Millions of computer users can't be wrong.
Er assuming we are talking about a TV of perhaps 32" or usually well above that then VGA on a TV = grim results and always at the wrong aspect ratio . Don't get me wrong VGA is fine for 4" Phones or CRT 14" screens but 640 x 480 will not work well on normal TV's

HDMI to HDMI is the only answer for anything other than a quick look see .
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 19:39
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,780
Er assuming we are talking about a TV of perhaps 32" or usually well above that then VGA on a TV = grim results and always at the wrong aspect ratio . Don't get me wrong VGA is fine for 4" Phones or CRT 14" screens but 640 x 480 will not work well on normal TV's

HDMI to HDMI is the only answer for anything other than a quick look see .
VGA in this case is the socket, it's capable of carrying much higher resolutions than 640 x 480.

Analogue component is capable of 1080p60.

1920 x 1080 16:9 is common, it depends on the capability of the graphics card in the computer, not the connection type.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 20:17
iangrad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 768
VGA in this case is the socket, it's capable of carrying much higher resolutions than 640 x 480.

Analogue component is capable of 1080p60.

1920 x 1080 16:9 is common, it depends on the capability of the graphics card in the computer, not the connection type.
Yes in theory you are correct , in practice i bet the laptop will max out at a 4.3 800 x 600 or a blured smudgy 1024 x 768 both of which are horrible to use on a normal size TV
iangrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 20:23
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,272
Yes in theory you are correct , in practice i bet the laptop will max out at a 4.3 800 x 600 or a blured smudgy 1024 x 768 both of which are horrible to use on a normal size TV
The same laptop will probably max out at those resolutions via HDMI as well (if it even has it) - VGA is perfectly fine on an LCD TV, I've connected MANY computers to LCD TV's, some via HDMI but the vast majority via VGA (HDMI is still fairly rare on computers) - and VGA is usually just as good as HDMI.

Incidentally, I'm typing this on a 24" LCD monitor at 1920x1080 via VGA, despite both monitor and computer having HDMI, there's just no reason to change it.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 21:39
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,481
HDMI to HDMI is the only answer for anything other than a quick look see .
Whether you are right or whether you are wrong is irrelevant if you don't have that option.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 21:41
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,966
Video.....................??
Duh, yes video only
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 21:43
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,966
Yes in theory you are correct , in practice i bet the laptop will max out at a 4.3 800 x 600 or a blured smudgy 1024 x 768 both of which are horrible to use on a normal size TV
The screen I using right now is a 1920x1080 VGA connection.
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2012, 21:55
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,780
Yes in theory you are correct , in practice i bet the laptop will max out at a 4.3 800 x 600 or a blured smudgy 1024 x 768 both of which are horrible to use on a normal size TV
My latptop looks very good on a 40" TV at 1280 x 720 16:9.

Using hdmi or vga makes sod all difference.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 20:35
David (2)
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: North Wiltshire
Posts: 16,202
One of the screens at work is vga at 1920x1080 16x9. Awesome picture. Its the host pc graphics + monitor circuits that limit the res options, not vga.
David (2) is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 17:29
kopite 64
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: merseyside
Posts: 245
You need to also connect the headphone socket of the laptop to the audio input on the TV next to its VGA socket.
Thanks Gomezz. Thats exactly what I have to do. Many thanks.
kopite 64 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:25.