Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Suggested Media Players?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-12-2012, 13:05
bsnalex
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brum
Posts: 182

So I'm looking to get some sort of standalone media player. Currently I use my PS3. The only problem is the PS3 is limited to only being able to show divx avi and mp4, when stored on the PS3 itself, whereas I like to watch mkv, m2ts, etc.

I've used the PS3 Media Server program on my PC to stream those sorts of files in the past, as it renders on the fly. Only problem is my PC isn't capable anymore of converting and streaming to the PS3--for whatever reason, just overused, getting old, overheats quickly. I would do a reinstall of windows, but i'm getting off track.

So can anyone suggest any media storage that I can connect directly to the TV? I'm looking for something that can do all those normal files I mentioned above--I've heard some have remotes so obviously that would be a benefit.

Thanks
bsnalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-12-2012, 13:15
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,974
Media center PC is the most flexible and complete solution I have come across. You can pick up a small form factor ex-corporate PC for around 75. Add in a 30 low profile video card and a wireless keyboard and you have a great solution.

I have to also say that I have now installed a couple of HP microserver as media player & NAS combined. 130 plus the cost of the hard drives + 30 video card and wireless keyboard. Masses of storage and media playback all in one.
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 13:23
BromleyBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 743
I have an Xtreamer Prodigy, with a digital TV tuner it's 210 without 160.
Plays EVERYTHING, Blu ray ISO, 3D ISO, FMV, MKV etc....
Also it has an android OS built in so you can surf the internet, stream TV off the internet.

I used to have a popcorn hour c200, but the Xtreamer is much better at more than half the price, doesn't have a DVD/Bluray player, but if you rip your disks to ISO you won't need to.

You can also put a 3TB hard drive in it and store your movies that way, it also works with my Windows 2011 Home Server, so its very flexible.
http://www.xtreamer.co.uk/produkte/x.../beschreibung/
BromleyBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 15:23
witham1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Witham, Essex.
Posts: 207
I use one of these: http://dx.com/p/1080p-hd-multi-media...d-black-126191
It plays most formats and is very good value for money.
The only disadvantage is that the remote is a bit on the small side.
witham1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2012, 20:20
bsnalex
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Brum
Posts: 182
I use one of these: http://dx.com/p/1080p-hd-multi-media...d-black-126191
It plays most formats and is very good value for money.
The only disadvantage is that the remote is a bit on the small side.
Does that have any internal storage? Or have to attach something? Only thing I see going south with that is that the file may not transfer to the device as quick as it can be rendered...
bsnalex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 11:04
jjne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 5,337
Hmmm.

Spending more than a nominal amount on a non-networked media player seems a bit of a waste, now that you can buy Android mini-PCs for 20-30.

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-...708518432.html

http://www.aliexpress.com/item/Free-...708470814.html

The first of these would be my choice, but the other one does everything you need for less than 20...
jjne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 15:49
witham1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Witham, Essex.
Posts: 207
Does that have any internal storage? Or have to attach something? Only thing I see going south with that is that the file may not transfer to the device as quick as it can be rendered...
It does not have internal storage so I use it with a USB powered external HDD. It will play full HD content so the USB speed does no seem to be a problem. If you are using an SD card make sure it is one of the faster types.
witham1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 18:41
Clarence Beeks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 282
This http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Cyclone-Pr...item53ee6efefe is what I've been using and so far it's played everything I've tried including avi, mp4 and mkv and also larger 7gb files. You'll need to put a sata hard drive in it or you can buy one with it already installed but you pay extra for what is a simple task. I've only had it a few months and it's been great, no out of sync issues or jerky playback. Hopefully it'll stay working as media players seem to have a reputation for going faulty quite quickly but so far so good.
Clarence Beeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 20:14
witham1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Witham, Essex.
Posts: 207
This http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Cyclone-Pr...item53ee6efefe is what I've been using and so far it's played everything I've tried including avi, mp4 and mkv and also larger 7gb files. You'll need to put a sata hard drive in it or you can buy one with it already installed but you pay extra for what is a simple task. I've only had it a few months and it's been great, no out of sync issues or jerky playback. Hopefully it'll stay working as media players seem to have a reputation for going faulty quite quickly but so far so good.
I think this one beats my Measy player. Although I have not had any problems with it in the last year I find the remote is a bit small for comfort.
witham1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 17:36
neilmcca
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: manchester
Posts: 500
This http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Cyclone-Pr...item53ee6efefe is what I've been using and so far it's played everything I've tried including avi, mp4 and mkv and also larger 7gb files. You'll need to put a sata hard drive in it or you can buy one with it already installed but you pay extra for what is a simple task. I've only had it a few months and it's been great, no out of sync issues or jerky playback. Hopefully it'll stay working as media players seem to have a reputation for going faulty quite quickly but so far so good.
Thanks, just what i was looking for too !
can i ask if it matters if the hard drive is FAT32 or NTFS ?
also (maybe a daft question), when adding movies to the hard drive, can they be in their own individual folders ?
neilmcca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 19:07
Clarence Beeks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 282
Thanks, just what i was looking for too !
can i ask if it matters if the hard drive is FAT32 or NTFS ?
also (maybe a daft question), when adding movies to the hard drive, can they be in their own individual folders ?
It doesn't matter as far as it states it works with both though there is actually an advantage with using FAT32 as you can copy films onto it from a usb stick (One Button Copy it's called) instead of connecting it to a computer which is what I do as my hard drive was already NTFS formatted. NTFS only lets you copy to it via computer.

When it starts up I just select explorer then the hard drive and browse it so you can create any folder you like for movies, tv series etc as you would on any hard drive. There are 3 other menus on the startup screen: Movies, Music and Photos which I believe show all files of that type when you click that but I've only been using the file explorer.
Clarence Beeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 19:45
neilmcca
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: manchester
Posts: 500
Thanks a lot.
neilmcca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 20:35
witham1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Witham, Essex.
Posts: 207
The trouble with using FAT32 is that the file size is limited to 4GB. If you have a film that is in HD then it could exceed this. I always use NTFS as the limit is 16TB!
With my player I have films in various folders and I can navigate around them as I would with a computer.
The files can also be grouped into Movies, Photos and Music.
witham1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 21:09
Clarence Beeks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 282
The trouble with using FAT32 is that the file size is limited to 4GB. If you have a film that is in HD then it could exceed this. I always use NTFS as the limit is 16TB!
With my player I have films in various folders and I can navigate around them as I would with a computer.
The files can also be grouped into Movies, Photos and Music.
That's good to know in case I change the drive in mine. Think I'll stick with NTFS.
Clarence Beeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-12-2012, 21:10
powar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 158
Noontec or Boxee
powar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 06:58
BOOTHY2905
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 1,078
I bought myself a western digital media hub thing and its amazing. Plays every file format I've thrown at it. And I've got cat 5 running to a splitter and all round the house and can use the iPad app to control it over wifi. Connects to a USB hard drive and I can either stream from my pc or copy files from my pc to it wirelessly. It cost about 70 from amazon. Best thing I've ever bought.
BOOTHY2905 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-12-2012, 09:31
niall campbell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7,011
I would start off with a NAS and you store all your media on there.

SMART Tvs will play straight off the hard drive , as well as PS 3 , xbox, ipod touch/iphone/ ipad/ Tablets .......................

Look on Amazon for CAT 6 cables with the ends on them. Cheap as chips. Just run 1 wire from router to the back of tv and then use an unmanned switch to feed your TV , media player , blu ray player & more

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ethernet-Net...5995513&sr=8-3 cable

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Netgear-GS10...5995559&sr=8-1 switch

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Personal-Clo...5995595&sr=8-1 NAS

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Western-Digi...5995645&sr=8-1 media player

just buy 2 metre CAT 6 cables to patch from switch . You can either put the NAS behind Tv to switch or better still plug straight to Router
niall campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:46.