Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

My Nokia Lumia 800 with 7.8 S/W


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-12-2012, 21:17
Prilicla
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 539

Apparently I am the second person in the UK to get genuine 7.8 upgrade on a Lumia 800.

The screen tiles fully fit the screen and you can resize the tiles. The arrow is at the bottom when get to the bottom on the scroll.

The Nokia service guy said he was able upgrade to 7.8 as it was a simfree. Certain network locked he could not upgrade.

I don't know other changes as i only got my 7.8 today
Prilicla is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 13-12-2012, 21:24
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,524
You need to upload a picture proving it
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 21:26
Prilicla
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 539
You need to upload a picture proving it
I dont know how to upload?
Prilicla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 21:30
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,524
I dont know how to upload?
Sadly, we can't directly upload to Digitalspy. Either provide a link to the photo on your skydrive account or upload it to a website like photobucket and post the link to the photo here.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 21:47
Prilicla
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 539
not the best pictures http://www.flickr.com/photos/6645348...in/photostream

http://www.flickr.com/photos/6645348...in/photostream
Prilicla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 21:56
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,524
Awesome! And this is the legit version, not the one from xda or nokia's navifirm servers? i.e. you did this through zune?

I tried doing the force update trick a few times but it didn't work out for me. I have a simfree version too.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-12-2012, 21:58
Prilicla
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 539
Awesome! And this is the legit version, not the one from xda or nokia's navifirm servers? i.e. you did this through zune?

I tried doing the force update trick a few times but it didn't work out for me. I have a simfree version too.
It is legit got it at a Nokia service centre. it is not downloadable yet via Zune until next year!
Prilicla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 19:57
Prilicla
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 539
Just an update:

Nokia is rolling out 7.8 for only the 800 now via Zune but it might be certain countries.

Only way to find out is connect your phone.
Prilicla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 19:37
Playamonte
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 166
Looking at the posted link my 800 tiles seem to be about the same size ?

Also...........Does anyone know how to ?
Increase the size of displayed numbers when looking at a contacts details, mine are quite small.

Increase the size of the signal strength battery state displays on the top of home page screen.

When I first transfered my conntacts onto this phone I must have missed something as they all went into People & are now intermixed with mail address's etc, so I have no dedicated Contacts phone number section. ......... thoughts ?

Zune drives me insane (like many I fancy)
I use you-tube downloader to pop music onto the PC, this then somehow gets onto the phone when I connect the cable to the PC.
Fine I can then play the tracks on the phone, but when connecting the phone via the USB post on the car radio it cannot see them ?
Used to work fine on my MusicExpress using this route ?

Thanks for any inpute.
Playamonte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 22:15
Arenas52
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Scotland
Posts: 99
(Also...........Does anyone know how to ?
Increase the size of displayed numbers when looking at a contacts details, mine are quite small.)

There's an app in the market called Big Phone Book. That's what I use.

With Windows Phone your contacts are listed under People with all of their contact details. There is no separate list of numbers, everything is pulled together in one place.

I find Zune pretty straightforward to use. Don't really have any problems with it. All my music and photos are there and I can choose what to drop into my phone.
Arenas52 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2012, 05:23
IvanIV
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,405
In WP7 you can create a group of contacts with phone numbers and use this one instead of People hub. You can also delete or link together contacts that represent the same person. In WP8 and maybe in WP7.8 you can select contacts from what accounts are visible (they are all still searchable) .
IvanIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2012, 19:39
Prilicla
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 539
Has anyone with Lumia phones have the no signal bars if you are in 3g weak spot and yet you make a call but still no bars in signal icon.

http://discussions.nokia.com/t5/Noki...1358337#M10182

I am on 3 network unlocked and have this problem.
Prilicla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-12-2012, 23:03
DANCE OF DEATH
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Trapped inside my Octavarium..
Posts: 4,717
In WP7 you can create a group of contacts with phone numbers and use this one instead of People hub. You can also delete or link together contacts that represent the same person. In WP8 and maybe in WP7.8 you can select contacts from what accounts are visible (they are all still searchable) .
You can filter them so you only see what contacts that you want to see. If you go to people then settings then you can filter my contact lists then just untick the boxes that you don't want to see. If you have twitter and facebook filter your friends out like what I have done and just have all my telephone contacts.
DANCE OF DEATH is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-12-2012, 00:15
NerdyMagee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 95
Lucky! I was hoping the update would hit me before Christmas so I could try it out on my 710, but I guess not. I have the 920 for Christmas so, eh, it's worth it.
NerdyMagee is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:14.