Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Why the sudden fuss about BBC iPlayer?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-12-2012, 16:14
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,816

Latest from the BBC "Now you can watch BBC iPlayer on your TV"

Now? I forget when I wasn't able to watch iPlayer on my TV via either my Freesat box or my Sony Blu-ray system, it's been there for so long. Isn't it available on the Wii as well?

Why are they suddenly going on about it?
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-12-2012, 16:17
mossy2103
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 58,364
Presumably ir is an information exercise aimed at those who think that iPlayer is only for PCs, and that it can be viewed on a TV using other devices and methods?

Maybe it's just a marketing exercise with a marketing slogan?


But one thing's for sure, it's not aimed at the likes of yourself who already use iPlayer or are aware of its capabilities
mossy2103 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 16:21
d'@ve
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Darn Sarf
Posts: 20,642
Latest from the BBC "Now you can watch BBC iPlayer on your TV"

Now? I forget when I wasn't able to watch iPlayer on my TV via either my Freesat box or my Sony Blu-ray system, it's been there for so long. Isn't it available on the Wii as well?

Why are they suddenly going on about it?
Youview and Sky do it too, now, that's why. Big surge in availability on TV, to lots more people (especially with Sky).
d'@ve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 16:35
BMR
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,240
Youview is probably the reason. I guess the BBC have to be platform neutral, so to save having to mention Virgin Media Catchup, Freesat Iplayer, Xbox and PS3 and so on as well, they just avoid mentioning any of them by name.
BMR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 16:48
derek500
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 17,732
They've just had a surge of 2.7m of Sky homes who are connected and able to watch iPlayer through their TV's.

TalkTalk have shifted 29,000 Youview boxes in its first two months, I expect BT are behind that figure.
derek500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 16:52
RadioKnower
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,088
It's simple really. It's recently been made available on Sky so that's a large chunk of licence fee payers getting it for the first time, as well as the Youview product.

Presumably, they've conducted some research which suggests there is less awareness of the version for TV screens than the PC version. There may also be thousands of people who have bought Smart TV's, PS3 etc, who never connected them to the internet and have never been aware of the catch up service they could be receiving.
RadioKnower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 16:56
degsyhufc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Up North
Posts: 49,871
True. I've recently hooked up the sky box to my router.

Does the tv iplayer have the same content as the web?
degsyhufc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 16:58
doug35
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: cranleigh surrey
Posts: 130
dont forget that i player is also on internet streaming devices,ie roku which connect to your tv, they are now on sale in currys/pc world stores.
doug35 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 17:01
RadioKnower
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,088
True. I've recently hooked up the sky box to my router.

Does the tv iplayer have the same content as the web?
Not sure about everything, but yes more or less.
RadioKnower is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 17:13
derek500
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 17,732
True. I've recently hooked up the sky box to my router.

Does the tv iplayer have the same content as the web?
More or less and with the added bonus of being completely ad free.
derek500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 19:02
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,816
There are different implementations of TV iPlayer. For example, the Sony home cinema version is superior to the Humax freesat offering. On Sony you can set the higher quality version permanently in settings, whereas you have to select it each time on the Humax box or you get the crap low def version.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 19:30
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,270
I set it once on my Humax Freesat box when I first got it and it has stayed set ever since so don't know why you would claim different?
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 19:51
derek500
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 17,732
There are different implementations of TV iPlayer. For example, the Sony home cinema version is superior to the Humax freesat offering. On Sony you can set the higher quality version permanently in settings, whereas you have to select it each time on the Humax box or you get the crap low def version.
...and the Sky version doesn't use streaming and you get the same quality as the original broadcast.
derek500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 20:05
CLL Dodge
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Green Hills of Earth
Posts: 71,115
Something more for BBC announcers to annoy us about.
CLL Dodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 20:11
derek500
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 17,732
Something more for BBC announcers to annoy us about.
...watch it all on catch-up. No continuity announcers or credit squeezes etc.
derek500 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 20:15
Colin_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Essex
Posts: 2,822
I can get BBC iPlayer via my Youview box, Sony TV and Sony Blu-Ray player - as well as my PC, iPad and iPhone :-0

If a program isn't available in HD then I find it better to watch via the Sonys rather than Youview as the PQ is better.
Colin_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 20:28
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,816
I set it once on my Humax Freesat box when I first got it and it has stayed set ever since so don't know why you would claim different?
I'm not claiming anything, I'm saying what actually happens. When I select a programme on the Freesat box, on the left there are two choices: Watch Now (Suitable for most internet connections) and Higher Quality (Needs a high speed internet connection). I need to click on Higher Quality every time.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-12-2012, 23:05
gomezz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Buckingham
Posts: 23,270
I beg your your pardon. I mixed up how it works on my Youview box. But it is hardly a biggy is it? And in fact some would see it as a better way for those on marginal broadband speeds.
gomezz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 10:21
Phil 2804
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 13,728
Latest from the BBC "Now you can watch BBC iPlayer on your TV"

Now? I forget when I wasn't able to watch iPlayer on my TV via either my Freesat box or my Sony Blu-ray system, it's been there for so long. Isn't it available on the Wii as well?

Why are they suddenly going on about it?
While you've been able to watch it on consoles and some boxes for a few years now this year has seen the rise of "Smart TVs", ones that come with full internet access as standard and that means accessing iplayer is now almost as simple as changing a channel on the remote.

The BBC has been absolutely at the forefront of on demand and this is the latest drive in that technology.
Phil 2804 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 15:19
CLL Dodge
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: The Green Hills of Earth
Posts: 71,115
...watch it all on catch-up. No continuity announcers or credit squeezes etc.
Just a big fat DOG.
CLL Dodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 20:36
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,816
And in fact some would see it as a better way for those on marginal broadband speeds.
Obviously. But if you do have high-speed broadband, it's convenient not to have to remember to change it from the default every time.

On the Sony box it's in Settings so once it's set you don't have to bother.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 22:46
carl.waring
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Knaresborough, North Yorks
Posts: 19,713
Just a big fat DOG.
Not on the BBC channels. It's barely noticeable, really.
carl.waring is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2012, 23:13
redhatmatt
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 5,069
More or less and with the added bonus of being completely ad free.
I don't know what version of Iplayer you have been using but the web version has always been advert free.
redhatmatt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 11:04
The Phazer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 8,093
True. I've recently hooked up the sky box to my router.

Does the tv iplayer have the same content as the web?
Not quite. Most of the films don't appear. Virtually everything else.
The Phazer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-12-2012, 16:29
degsyhufc
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Up North
Posts: 49,871
Not quite. Most of the films don't appear. Virtually everything else.
I only asked because last week when I was looking for a couple of programmes I missed I looked on the Catchup serivce but they weren't on iPlayer, but they were on the website.
This week though one of the programmes was on Catchup. I wonder if it just takes longer to become available?
degsyhufc is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:29.