Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Humax HDR-1000S Firmware Update 1.00.16 - Now Available


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 28-01-2013, 09:25
Pollensa1946
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 152
Lot's ot the other comments are repeatable but frankly are so trivial that they beggar belief.
You clearly are happy to put up with daily finding new bugs and stupid omissions on a premium brand box, others are not.
Pollensa1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 28-01-2013, 09:50
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,631
You clearly are happy to put up with daily finding new bugs and stupid omissions on a premium brand box, others are not.
As long as mine continues to record the 25 odd series recordings I have set reliably why wouldn't I be happy ?

I actually had first failed recording yesterday in a long time. Countryfile failed to record but as it was down to the Tennis I don't think that counts
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2013, 11:24
Pollensa1946
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 152
As long as mine continues to record the 25 odd series recordings I have set reliably why wouldn't I be happy ?...
Buy a Mercedes, the radio doesn't work, the electric windows go down but not up and the boot lid rattles, but what the hell, it gets me from A to B.
Pollensa1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2013, 17:19
REPASSAC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perchede, France
Posts: 1,769
Buy a Mercedes, the radio doesn't work, the electric windows go down but not up and the boot lid rattles, but what the hell, it gets me from A to B.
Or perhaps a nice new Boeing Dreamliner.
REPASSAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2013, 17:52
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,177
I still don't get it. This is not a no name branded PVR - it is a huge High Street brand, and international brand, yet this product appears to have been delivered to the end user far short of what could reasonably be expected of a PVR at this price point. Despite this a number of you appear to shrug your shoulders and seem to think that this is fine, somehow par for the course. I'm sorry but I'm used to buying tech from the likes of Panasonic Sony Apple etc. and I've never taken delivery of products in this apparently unfinished state. I'm certainly not prepared to lower my expectations for a PVR just shy of 300.
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2013, 17:59
Pollensa1946
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 152
I still don't get it. This is not a no name branded PVR - it is a huge High Street brand, and international brand, yet this product appears to have been delivered to the end user far short of what could reasonably be expected of a PVR at this price point. Despite this a number of you appear to shrug your shoulders and seem to think that this is fine, somehow par for the course. I'm sorry but I'm used to buying tech from the likes of Panasonic Sony Apple etc. and I've never taken delivery of products in this apparently unfinished state. I'm certainly not prepared to lower my expectations for a PVR just shy of 300.
+1 from me.
Pollensa1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2013, 18:01
Pollensa1946
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 152
Or perhaps a nice new Boeing Dreamliner.
That's at least grounded in contrast to this poor attempt at quality technology.
Pollensa1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2013, 21:26
Eston Bleu
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: UK
Posts: 430
I still don't get it. This is not a no name branded PVR - it is a huge High Street brand, and international brand, yet this product appears to have been delivered to the end user far short of what could reasonably be expected of a PVR at this price point. Despite this a number of you appear to shrug your shoulders and seem to think that this is fine, somehow par for the course. I'm sorry but I'm used to buying tech from the likes of Panasonic Sony Apple etc. and I've never taken delivery of products in this apparently unfinished state. I'm certainly not prepared to lower my expectations for a PVR just shy of 300.
As far as I'm aware, the much lauded Humax Foxsat DVR was awash with many bugs and poor functionality when it was released and gradually had them patched and fixed as time rolled on.

I bought it about a year or so before the new one came out and I'm very happy with it, but I wouldn't buy a 1000s for at least another year or so.

It seems to be Humax's methodology: release an unfinished, poorly tested product that can be described as an alpha release at worst, and a beta release at best and use its customers as unpaid (or actually - paying!) testers.

It's shoddy, really.

A PVR that misses recordings? That's core functionality. They should be deeply embarrassed.

Perhaps they need a Steve Jobs figure in their business to tell them that they should be ashamed of themselves and make them cry, then maybe this poor excuse for quality testing would stop.
Eston Bleu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2013, 22:12
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,631
A PVR that misses recordings? That's core functionality. They should be deeply embarrassed.
.
I will say this again only once, , under specific and repeatable circumstances the box will fail to record when using 1.0.16 firmware. Once these were identified (no thanks due to the whingers on here ), two perfectly workable alternatives were found until a fix was found (one of which was down to a suggestion by Repassac). That fix is now freely available (1.06.22) and after applying it despite some 80 or so recordings not yet found any significant problem. Even previous to the fix using one of the workarounds I only lost recordings deliberately as part of trying to be 100% sure of the failure mechanisms involved..

Do you have the box are you simply dishing up the postings of others. Do they have the software fix installed, have they actually tested it to see if the problem is resolved ? I doubt it.

Going to stop wasting time and effort and simply continue to watch my recordings.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2013, 22:50
Faust
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 6,177
I will say this again only once, , under specific and repeatable circumstances the box will fail to record when using 1.0.16 firmware. Once these were identified (no thanks due to the whingers on here ), two perfectly workable alternatives were found until a fix was found (one of which was down to a suggestion by Repassac). That fix is now freely available (1.06.22) and after applying it despite some 80 or so recordings not yet found any significant problem. Even previous to the fix using one of the workarounds I only lost recordings deliberately as part of trying to be 100% sure of the failure mechanisms involved..

Do you have the box are you simply dishing up the postings of others. Do they have the software fix installed, have they actually tested it to see if the problem is resolved ? I doubt it.

Going to stop wasting time and effort and simply continue to watch my recordings.
Graham, I bought a 1000s for a relative and was going to purchase two for our household to replace Sky, which we rarely watch anymore. I'm not sure why you feel the need to defend Humax or the guys at Freesat. If a product doesn't come up to muster then this should be recognised, brought to the attention of those responsible and a fix should be forthcoming, and in short order. I don't want to pay 600 for two boxes then start applying fixes to make them usable. I want a set and forget solution and so should you.
Faust is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-01-2013, 23:03
misar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 259
Once these were identified (no thanks due to the whingers on here ), two perfectly workable alternatives were found until a fix was found (one of which was down to a suggestion by Repassac). That fix is now freely available (1.06.22) and after applying it despite some 80 or so recordings not yet found any significant problem.
Even taken at face value this is a bizarre defense of a premium price consumer product, as others have said. But taking it at face value is ridiculous. Readers of this and similar forums are a tiny minority. This product is being sold as a simple-to-use, homely device that even your granny will be happy with. Most purchasers have never seen these discussions let alone know of beta fixes or how to get and use them. They have every right to assume that Humax would not release a product until it is sufficiently reliable for its mainstream customers to use.

Before you repeat it yet again, your frequent justification that all previous Humax products were just as bad and all PVR manufacturers offer software upgrades at some point simply moves your argument even further from the real world.
misar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2013, 11:49
Bob_Cat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Surrey, UK
Posts: 1,302
Humax products undergo weeks of intensive testing by the Software Quality Engineering team, that team poke and prod almost every aspect of the product (independently of the development team). Until the SQE team are happy with the product it cannot be released. In the case of the original Foxsat-HD zapper it was very much rushed because a line was drawn in the sand (outside of the control of Humax) and they had to be out before they were ready, however engineers worked day and night to resolve the issues and a succession of patches were delivered to resolve things that were missed.

For the HDR-1000S a great deal more attention was given, however because of the level of innovation involved and the complexity of the product sometimes things slip thought the net, especially because there are only so many circumstances you can test against when under commercial constraints. It may not seem like it to the average consumer but in comparison to other products the HDR-1000S is probably the most innovative product on the market, it stretches STB technology further than has yet been done by anyone and as such there are some lessons that need to be learnt.

It is also worth noting that Humax is a relatively small company compared to their competitors, I believe Humax are less than 25% of the size of Pace, 200x smaller than Samsung Electronics, and 0.015% of Panasonic. There are about 20 people in the UK working for Humax (excluding call centres).

Finally, a large volume of these products have been sold, the negative feedback received has been small, but Humax take everything seriously and engineers are working hard on the next evolutions of software which will be arriving as soon as possible. Announcements will be made as soon as any software is finalised and has passed testing at both Freesat and Humax SQE. The team don't like to announce anything before it is fully tested because it creates undue anticipation and enquiries for dates which cannot be committed to. If a product failed testing then it that would only create more tension as dates were moved.
Bob_Cat is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2013, 12:28
paul1962
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 82
Bob_cat, while we appreciate the complexity of the product the testing is definitely falling short.
The missed first recording of the day is so simple I can't begin to understand why it wasn't found at the test stage.
As well as internal testing Humax/Freesat really need to start using beta testers out in the field like other manufacturers do. If they do this already they need to find better beta testers.
paul1962 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2013, 12:33
misar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 259
@Bob_Cat

I still think Humax could do better but thanks for a much more constructive discussion of the issues than the regular blind faith denials.
misar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2013, 12:48
daver34
Guest
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 814
Humax products undergo weeks of intensive testing by the Software Quality Engineering team, that team poke and prod almost every aspect of the product (independently of the development team). Until the SQE team are happy with the product it cannot be released. In the case of the original Foxsat-HD zapper it was very much rushed because a line was drawn in the sand (outside of the control of Humax) and they had to be out before they were ready, however engineers worked day and night to resolve the issues and a succession of patches were delivered to resolve things that were missed.

For the HDR-1000S a great deal more attention was given, however because of the level of innovation involved and the complexity of the product sometimes things slip thought the net, especially because there are only so many circumstances you can test against when under commercial constraints. It may not seem like it to the average consumer but in comparison to other products the HDR-1000S is probably the most innovative product on the market, it stretches STB technology further than has yet been done by anyone and as such there are some lessons that need to be learnt.

It is also worth noting that Humax is a relatively small company compared to their competitors, I believe Humax are less than 25% of the size of Pace, 200x smaller than Samsung Electronics, and 0.015% of Panasonic. There are about 20 people in the UK working for Humax (excluding call centres).

Finally, a large volume of these products have been sold, the negative feedback received has been small, but Humax take everything seriously and engineers are working hard on the next evolutions of software which will be arriving as soon as possible. Announcements will be made as soon as any software is finalised and has passed testing at both Freesat and Humax SQE. The team don't like to announce anything before it is fully tested because it creates undue anticipation and enquiries for dates which cannot be committed to. If a product failed testing then it that would only create more tension as dates were moved.
it was very much rushed because a line was drawn in the sand (outside of the control of Humax)
and they had to be out before they were ready

Why?

especially because there are only so many
circumstances you can test against when under commercial constraints.

So the customer suffers , but thats ok.

It is also worth noting that Humax is a relatively small company compared to their competitors

So if your product is sold with faults , thats ok?.

Sorry bob_Cat, but i find your explanation poor for someone high up at humax.

I dont own this product ( I have 9300t & foxsat hdr which both work impeccably),was going to but this thread seems to be like the samsung SMT - S7800 thread.
daver34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 19:59
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,776
I have both the Humax HDR (G1 EPG) freesat unit & the Humax 1000s (G2 EPG) 1tb unit.

1. On the Humax 1000s when I choose a program to record from say ITV or Ch4 it does not give me the option to record in HD - I have to go to say ITVHD or CH4HD and record. The option to record in HD on BBC1 & 2 works fine.
My 1TB box arrived today and just tried this and I do get the option to record from HD on itv.
In the guide it does actually give an indication with the icons just above the grey banner as to which programmes will give you the option of which to record. Those programme that do you'll see an SD>HD icon.
Channel 4 however seem to not do this.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 21:04
Pollensa1946
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 152
it was very much rushed because a line was drawn in the sand (outside of the control of Humax)
and they had to be out before they were ready Why?
I've stated in a number of posts in this and other forums that the 1000S was designed by committee (Humax/Freesat) with no single overseeing responsibility, and that each would blame the other. What Bob appears to be doing is inferring that Freesat pushed Humax to get the product out before it was ready.
Pollensa1946 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 21:18
IQ1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 231
My 1TB box arrived today and just tried this and I do get the option to record from HD on itv.
My Foxsat HDR gives me the HD symbol (record in HD) for every program on 103 in the next 24 hours, except of course the regional news at 6:00.

Can you get the same result with your 1000s ?
IQ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 21:20
REPASSAC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Perchede, France
Posts: 1,769
I've stated in a number of posts in this and other forums that the 1000S was designed by committee (Humax/Freesat) with no single overseeing responsibility, and that each would blame the other. What Bob appears to be doing is inferring that Freesat pushed Humax to get the product out before it was ready.
I think you read more into bob-cats post that he ment.
REPASSAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 22:05
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,776
My Foxsat HDR gives me the HD symbol (record in HD) for every program on 103 in the next 24 hours, except of course the regional news at 6:00.

Can you get the same result with your 1000s ?
Yes from what I can see.
It's only Channel 4 that that only shows SD as an option so have to make rocording selections via 4HD.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 22:29
IQ1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 231
Yes from what I can see.
It's only Channel 4 that that only shows SD as an option so have to make rocording selections via 4HD.
That's odd as my 1000s doesn't give me the HD option for a few programmes the News at 11:25/ 13:30 and the late night Jackpot/ Jeremy Kyle/ This Morning.......


<Freetime> don't believe in giving HD record options for upscaled at source SD programmes.*ITV HD would obviously give the better PQ but they would prefer us to record the SD channel.
IQ1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 23:47
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,776
That's odd as my 1000s doesn't give me the HD option for a few programmes the News at 11:25/ 13:30 and the late night Jackpot/ Jeremy Kyle/ This Morning.......


<Freetime> don't believe in giving HD record options for upscaled at source SD programmes.*ITV HD would obviously give the better PQ but they would prefer us to record the SD channel.
Oh yeah just had a look and those particular programmes are the same.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 00:23
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,776
Been catching up with a few things on demand tonight and have noticed a couple of things so apologies if they've already been discussed.
BBCiPlayer HD & SD quality doesn't seem to be as good quality as my Sony Blu Ray player which is 2 years older. I have however just noticed a video quality setting within iPlayer itself so I will see how that looks tomorrow.
And whoever decided we need to have most of the screen taken up with black top and bottom for around 8-10 seconds while the program's already started playing needs shooting.
ITVPlayer, well quality is pretty rubbish on any device so no complaints on that at the moment.
The only 2 issues with ITVPlayer I do have is that when going back through EPG certain programmes are missing ie: Corrie on Monday 28th has the 1st episode, but not the 2nd.
All episodes are however present if you goto ITVPlayer directly and search for Corrie.
The 2nd issue was that the 1st episode of Corrie had about 30 seconds missing from the end and just stopped dead which I've checked on iPhone app and the episode is in full with end credits.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 09:05
grahamlthompson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Redditch Worcs
Posts: 15,631
There is a known bug with accessing iplayer HD content via the epg, even though you ask for HD you only get SD. If you use the red button it works in HD.
grahamlthompson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 09:26
-GONZO-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Kent
Posts: 7,776
There is a known bug with accessing iplayer HD content via the epg, even though you ask for HD you only get SD. If you use the red button it works in HD.
I had a play around and managed to work out how to see HD content, but like I said before the PQ is not as good as what I get my 2 year older Blu Ray players iPlayer.
On the whole I'm pretty happy with what I've seen so far with the box(apart from the clicky remote), but it just seems a shame that you've got a nice smart looking EPG and Menus and then you've got a not very nice looking UI with BBCiplayer and ITVPlayer.
I know its wishfull thinking, but hopefully they will be both be given a complete overhaul at some stage.
-GONZO- is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:23.