Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

WD Green or Red?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 29-12-2012, 03:57
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 897

I've currently got 2 D-Link ShareCenter Pulse NAS Enclosures with 4 WD 2TB Green HDD's fitted in them both. The NAS Enclosures are on constantly but are only accessed when backups are running between 12am and 2am and when Streaming media using a WD Live SMP.

I'm thinking of getting another 2 enclosures but the updated version which supports 3TB drives.

Should I get 2TB/3TB Green or Red?

I've researched a bit and found out that Red are optimized for NAS use but are they any good for MY NAS use?
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 29-12-2012, 08:20
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,622
If your drives are unused most of the time I suppose you could go for the Green ones. However, the only difference will be saving a few pennies of electricity.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 09:37
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 921
Most consumer NASs use Linux and software RAID so, while the WD Greens have lots of reported problems with TLER and hardware RAID, i don't think it will really be a problem to use the Greens.

I'd say the only real benefit of the Reds in your case is the longer warranty period (unfortunately 3 years seems to have become a rarity these days). Whether that's worth the premium to you i don't know.

I'm currently building out my second Microserver file server. 6x 2TB (WD Reds) and 8GB RAM with FreeNAS running from a USB stick in the internal port.
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 14:14
Helmut10
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 398
The WD Black drives have a 5 year warranty.
Which are very commonly available, nothing rare about them.
Helmut10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 16:23
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
does your nas operate anywhere near the limit of a green drive?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 16:30
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 897
Most consumer NASs use Linux and software RAID so, while the WD Greens have lots of reported problems with TLER and hardware RAID, i don't think it will really be a problem to use the Greens.

I'd say the only real benefit of the Reds in your case is the longer warranty period (unfortunately 3 years seems to have become a rarity these days). Whether that's worth the premium to you i don't know.

I'm currently building out my second Microserver file server. 6x 2TB (WD Reds) and 8GB RAM with FreeNAS running from a USB stick in the internal port.

After the cashback how much is the total cost for the server?
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 16:35
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 897
does your nas operate anywhere near the limit of a green drive?
What's the limit of the green drive? At the time I bought the drives I was looking for the cheapest highest capacity drive?

I would assume no?

Only time they are used are for backups around 12am til 2am per night. Streaming media for around 3 or 4 hours a day and for syncing files using all way sync. These files are only small word docs and pics etc.
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2012, 17:06
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 921
After the cashback how much is the total cost for the server?
119.54 (plus any shipping) for the base unit.

Around 4 for a decent 4GB flash drive to hold the OS.

Another 53 if you want to fit 8GB of RAM. There are reports that it'll take 16GB but it's prohibitively expensive for me to try at the moment.

The server comes with caddies for the 4 internal hard drives, so if that's all you want to fit that's all you need.

The server also has an internal SATA port, ostensibly for fitting an optical drive, but with a 45cm SATA cable, a molex to SATA power adaptor and a 3.5" to 5.25" mounting bracket you can fit a fifth HDD in there.

Some people have also looped the e-SATA port on the back of the Microserver back into the server for a sixth drive.

Rather than do the e-SATA loop i opted for a cheap PCI-e SATA card, a molex to 2 SATA power adaptor and a Nexus Doubletwin to mount 2 3.5" drives in the optical bay.

All in all it works out cheaper than buying an off-the-shelf NAS while being far more powerful and flexible.
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:35
Esot-eric
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 921
Further to my previous post; i had a bit of trouble with the PCI-e SATA card. After about half an hour running it would lose access to the first disk attached to it. This would cause my ZFS array to become degraded. Shortly after it would regain access to the disk and all would be well for a time, then it would lose it again.

I'm unsure if this is a problem with FreeBSD's support for the card, or a hardware problem somewhere, and i couldn't be bothered trouble-shooting it, so i opted to pull the card and just have a 5 disk array using the included bays and the spare SATA port for the optical drive.

Been running fine since yesterday and hasn't experienced the lost drive problem again.

Currently rsyncing data from my first Microserver (Debian Squeeze-based) to my second (FreeNAS) and averaging between 55MBps and 60MBps.

So my recommendation if you're going the Microserver route is to stick with the onboard SATA ports and a 5-disk array max.

Think i'll spend some of the 90 saved from not buying a sixth disk on my next project; a Raspberry Pi-based PBX.
Esot-eric is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 11:59
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,877
Because its so quite I've got quite a few friends who are also now using the microserver as a play back device as well as being NAS, downloader, ftp server, etc. You only need to add a 30 video card and wireless keyboard/mouse. Most are using Win7 which means software RAID is out but you can still use the onboard RAID to mirror.
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:38.