Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy

DS Forums

Lost DVD and VCR tape? how to get back? Does DVD player keep record?

Old 31-12-2012, 06:55
books
Forum Member

I have lost a VHS tape which had sentimental videos on it, I played it on my VCR and also on my DVD/VCR combo player. Does a VCR or a DVD/VCR combo player have maybe some kind of hard drive or way to get them back, like could it have recorded it somehow even though I only played the VHS tape on the VCR and on the DVD/VCR combo? like what a PC does? The last time I played the VHS tape on the VCR and the DVD/VCR Combo was maybe back in 2002. Im not very technical and just was hoping? Anyone know?
books is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 31-12-2012, 09:43
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member

I have lost a VHS tape which had sentimental videos on it, I played it on my VCR and also on my DVD/VCR combo player. Does a VCR or a DVD/VCR combo player have maybe some kind of hard drive or way to get them back, like could it have recorded it somehow even though I only played the VHS tape on the VCR and on the DVD/VCR combo? like what a PC does? The last time I played the VHS tape on the VCR and the DVD/VCR Combo was maybe back in 2002. Im not very technical and just was hoping? Anyone know?
No, DVD's and VCR's don't do anything of that kind.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2012, 11:21
c4rv
Forum Member

Sorry, but no unless you specifically select the record option its not going to keep a copy.
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2012, 18:08
books
Forum Member

Sorry, but no unless you specifically select the record option its not going to keep a copy.
Ohh I didn't realize you could even get DVD/VCR combos that you can put in a VHS tape and record directly onto the same DVD/VCR machine?
Old 31-12-2012, 18:29
niall campbell
Forum Member

was it a tv programme ?? or film ?

if it was camcorder maybe someone has a copy of the original ?