Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Vodafone network down ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2013, 01:19
coopermanyorks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Gods Own County
Posts: 19,713

My phone as been searching for the network for the last hour , am I alone ?
coopermanyorks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 01-01-2013, 01:26
hpmann
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 11
My phone as been searching for the network for the last hour , am I alone ?
You're not alone
hpmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:28
lost boy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Norfolkland
Posts: 1,632
My phone as been searching for the network for the last hour , am I alone ?
No, a few other people in this thread are having Vodafone issues too.
lost boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 01:39
beecart
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 362
Also on voda eforum people reporting probs
http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Netwo...p/usingnetwork
beecart is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:00
flagpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,579
Incandescent with rage.

Is it the whole network. Or just bits of it?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:03
coopermanyorks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In Gods Own County
Posts: 19,713
drag the VF staff back from their celebrations and get it fixed ?
coopermanyorks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:04
f_196
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 9,607
Amusingly, I managed to send a load of texts at midnight - the time it's supposed to die. It then dissapeared at roughly 12.20am.

This is the first time though I've seen it go completely down for NYE - usually you just don't get your text reply for hours.
f_196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:22
flagpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,579
Also Vodafone start paying your taxes. Bunch of clowns.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:38
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The square root of you.
Posts: 2,694
if it's any consolation O2 has been shit for me tonight too guys x
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:46
flagpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,579
There's shit and there's having no access to your own network.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 02:57
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The square root of you.
Posts: 2,694
That is a very good point!!!
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:17
flagpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 41,579
No emergency calls on Vodafone tonight.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 03:21
f_196
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 9,607
No emergency calls on Vodafone tonight.
Something I've noticed too. Very alarming.
f_196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:46
MrsHavenWarrior
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cumbria
Posts: 151
Seems it has been resolved......

http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/About...t/td-p/1384744
MrsHavenWarrior is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 09:57
ney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scotland, Dunfermline Area
Posts: 8,864
if it's any consolation O2 has been shit for me tonight too guys x
Yes 02 was crap last night but at lest the whole 02 nextwork never went down.

Darren
ney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 10:02
clonmult
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
Yes 02 was crap last night but at lest the whole 02 nextwork never went down.

Darren
This time; there will be other times when O2 will go down.

Its one reason why I'm going to be happy keeping my works phone on Voda and personal phone on EE, the odds of both networks failing are remote.
clonmult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 12:09
blackmagic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: 53 N, 1 W
Posts: 1,345
I also struggled to find the Vodafone network at 00:07 for about 20 seconds, whilst trying to send a bunch of texts.

The texts failed to deliver, until I happened to wake up at 5am and sent them all.
blackmagic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 16:11
f_196
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: West Yorkshire
Posts: 9,607
This time; there will be other times when O2 will go down.

Its one reason why I'm going to be happy keeping my works phone on Voda and personal phone on EE, the odds of both networks failing are remote.
My company mobile and my personal one are both on VF - both no service - both no emergency calls - I was double-******!
f_196 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 18:17
That Bloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Manchester
Posts: 5,821
I lost signal for at least an hour around 4 or 5 this morning. I'd assumed someone at my company had messed up (again) and we'd all been cut off (again, again).
That Bloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 20:02
tfl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 114
I only got service again this afternoon... I swear vodafone is the worst uk network these days. In remote locations I never even have a 2g signal and I'd be lucky to see 3G anywhere!
tfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 20:47
moox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 6,661
I only got service again this afternoon... I swear vodafone is the worst uk network these days. In remote locations I never even have a 2g signal and I'd be lucky to see 3G anywhere!
I was with Vodafone for a while and really I don't think their service is worth the price premium that they think it deserves.

Minimal 3G coverage (not really any better than O2 in my opinion), poor customer service, a shakier network.

In my case EE are cheaper and offer a better service.
moox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 21:02
clonmult
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
I only got service again this afternoon... I swear vodafone is the worst uk network these days. In remote locations I never even have a 2g signal and I'd be lucky to see 3G anywhere!
Signal varies from network to network, and there are obviously differences in the way the various phones pull in a signal.

I have the 4S on Vodafone, and a Nokia 808 on EE. There are places where Vodafone are stronger, places where EE are stronger. EE will currently have an edge due to the linked networks, but I do question the strength of their backend, as despite having decent 3G at times, I don't get decent download/upload speeds.
clonmult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 21:54
Steve_Harriman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 118
i sent around 20 texts atg midnight on nye which all sent then mine crashed around 12.30 am and didnt come back untill 7am today
Steve_Harriman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2013, 23:07
tfl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Signal varies from network to network, and there are obviously differences in the way the various phones pull in a signal.

I have the 4S on Vodafone, and a Nokia 808 on EE. There are places where Vodafone are stronger, places where EE are stronger. EE will currently have an edge due to the linked networks, but I do question the strength of their backend, as despite having decent 3G at times, I don't get decent download/upload speeds.
yeah ive got the 4S as well. Whats annoying about it is once it switches to 2g or edge it's quite reluctant to switch back to 3g. D'you get that with yours or is it just me :P In all honesty though i think ill be switching to EE once my contract is up. Even with all this talk of a 98% 3g coverage after o2 and voda pool their infrastructure etc i doubt it'll get much better. I dare say 4g coverage will be equally as bad too.
tfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2013, 08:52
clonmult
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,803
yeah ive got the 4S as well. Whats annoying about it is once it switches to 2g or edge it's quite reluctant to switch back to 3g. D'you get that with yours or is it just me :P In all honesty though i think ill be switching to EE once my contract is up. Even with all this talk of a 98% 3g coverage after o2 and voda pool their infrastructure etc i doubt it'll get much better. I dare say 4g coverage will be equally as bad too.
Once they pool their networks, it should make a fair difference - I used to have some zero signal areas on Orange, that are now perfectly filled having the T-Mobile link.

4G coverage will be an interesting one, as thats as much going to be down to backend infrastructure - do they have the bandwidth? I'm tempted to suggest that EE don't have the bandwidth to cover the user base, whereas believe it or not, Vodafone likely will have the bandwidth due to recent acquisitions.
clonmult is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:53.