Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Connecting to a VM box.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-01-2013, 22:57
droogiefret
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: looking for tinned loganberrie
Posts: 14,966

My TV is dying so I'm going to take the opportunity to

Get an HD TV
Get rid of the Sky package and BT phoneline and move to VM

But I'm wondering about connecting to the VM box.

1. I have a surround system I currently connect to my DVD and Sky box via an optical connector. Is that available on a VM box?

2. I'll probably ditch the DVD recorder and get a blu ray player, but what happens if I want to keep something longer term than the VM storage? Is there anyway I can record from a VM box to my MacBook Pro?

(I'm also wondering if I just need a cable to connect my mac laptop to the TV or whether I need some kind of HDMI converter too ... but I guess this is not the right sub-forum for that question).
droogiefret is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 03-01-2013, 00:51
R410
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Guisborough, North Yorkshire
Posts: 2,878
My Samsung SD box that I have had for over a year has a Optical Connector so I am certain that any box that you would receive will have, either the V HD box or TiVo.

Not sure on the recording to your MacBook though, I don't think it is possible.

And to connect your MacBook to your TV you need an adaptor to convert the output on the MacBook to HDMI, they are not that much money, a quick search brought up this one:
http://gb.dinodirect.com/displayport...Z1Y2s&AFFID=33

Although I would say that if you really want to get HD, you stick with Sky, they have more HD channels, and might even be cheaper to get them via Sky instead of VM. Compare the prices before you choose.
R410 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2013, 01:07
droogiefret
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: looking for tinned loganberrie
Posts: 14,966
Thanks R4. I can keep my existing audio by the sounds of it then .... but I may need to keep some kind of DVD recorder. Thanks for the heads up on the HD channels - I must have a closer look then.
droogiefret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 20:05
psouth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: epsom
Posts: 294
My TV is dying so I'm going to take the opportunity to

Get an HD TV
Get rid of the Sky package and BT phoneline and move to VM

But I'm wondering about connecting to the VM box.

1. I have a surround system I currently connect to my DVD and Sky box via an optical connector. Is that available on a VM box?

2. I'll probably ditch the DVD recorder and get a blu ray player, but what happens if I want to keep something longer term than the VM storage? Is there anyway I can record from a VM box to my MacBook Pro?

(I'm also wondering if I just need a cable to connect my mac laptop to the TV or whether I need some kind of HDMI converter too ... but I guess this is not the right sub-forum for that question).
instead of going with virgin media for the tv,use sky tv for the HD and virgin media for the fibre broadband and landline phone.. its a good mix..
psouth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 01:58
droogiefret
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: looking for tinned loganberrie
Posts: 14,966
instead of going with virgin media for the tv,use sky tv for the HD and virgin media for the fibre broadband and landline phone.. its a good mix..
Thanks - that's actually what I've done in the end - and it costs about the same.

I've got smart tv on the panasonic, imediashare on the ipad and ondemand on the skybox and am just about overflowing with viewing options now.

I may not even bother connecting the macpro to the TV now. Just the Blu ray to decide on really.
droogiefret is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 12:14
Sue_Aitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 4,712
http://www.bbc.co.uk/reception/digit...nnecting.shtml
Sue_Aitch is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 18:03.