Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Wireless networking problem - can anyone help?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-01-2013, 23:04
Donald Dallas
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,419

Hi there,

I've just bought a new Samsung laptop - which only seems to be getting very limited connectivity to our Virgin Broadband wireless router.

All other devices connect just fine to the router - so that doesn't to be an obvious issue.

Conversely, when I connected the Samsung to another wireless connection it worked just fine.

I've never encountered a problem like this before - any thoughts will be greatly appreciated.
Donald Dallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-01-2013, 17:40
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,007
Does the connection from the router to the Samsung work when using ethernet (wired) connection?

This is an old thread but may possibly help http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/12...nectivity.html
mac2708 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2013, 17:48
MrQuike
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6,544
Have you got Virgin Wireless Management software installed?

If you have try uninstalling it and let windows manage your wifi.

I had a similar problem with my mothers laptop last week. All problems disappeared after I got rid of the Virgin software. There's a reference to an issue on the Virgin website and instructions for removing it - if required.
MrQuike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2013, 03:21
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,292
Check for firmware updates for the router, and firmware and driver updates for your laptop.

That may improve compatibility.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 00:08
Donald Dallas
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 3,419
Thanks for the suggestions guys, but I've got it sorted now.

I rang up Virgin and was put through to their Indian support team. The first guy described the issue as a 'unique' problem, then remotely linked up with me with Ethernet. His supervisor then came on and did some stuff. Which mostly seemed to be flicking around screens whilst not changing anything.

Satisfied with his work, he declared the problem fixed. It wasn't.

When I rang back I spoke to a Welsh woman who quickly deduced the issue was that the router had WEP security, which the new laptop couldn't interface with. After switching it to WPA/2, it's worked fine. We then had a short discussion about the benefits of Windows 8 - which she isn't a fan of (and my early opinion is that I am not either) - and she'd had no training on.

She was great - one of the best customer service people I've dealt with.
Donald Dallas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 04:56
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,292
Any laptop that can use WPA can also use WEP, so that wasn't the issue.

Perhaps there was something about the driver for your wireless card that doesn't like working with WEP very well.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 09:33
Roush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 2,261
Any laptop that can use WPA can also use WEP, so that wasn't the issue.

Perhaps there was something about the driver for your wireless card that doesn't like working with WEP very well.
Not necessarily. WEP has been depreciated and from the start of next year won't be permitted in new client devices at all. Some manufacturers have already begun to remove it.

WEP is disallowed in new access points from this year.

Also, Windows 7 does not allow automatic connection to WEP networks to discourage casual use. You have to manually configure it if you want to use it.
Roush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-01-2013, 00:27
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,292
Interesting ......

I sit corrected.
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:38.