Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

New PC has no CD drive, what CD drive should I buy?.


Closed Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2013, 06:20
Tourista
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dagenham Essex UK
Posts: 8,002

Hi all:

My 10 yr old HP desktop is finally dying, and am upgrading to a new PC. Problem is that I have only now realised that I have thousands of photo's on CD disks, but the PC I have ordered has only a DVD drive.

(yes I hear you saying "idiot", but please be nice)

New PC specs

The question is, should I look out for a particular CD drive, or is any that are Windows 8 compatible OK?.
Tourista is offline  
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-01-2013, 06:47
CAMERA OBSCURA
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 5,375
The DVD drive should read your CD's with no problem.
CAMERA OBSCURA is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 08:19
Tourista
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dagenham Essex UK
Posts: 8,002
The DVD drive should read your CD's with no problem.
Thanks CO.

My old PC had 2 seperate drives, one for DVD, and the other for CD's which is the reason for my last minute panic over it.
Tourista is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 09:24
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,288
Thanks CO.

My old PC had 2 seperate drives, one for DVD, and the other for CD's which is the reason for my last minute panic over it.
I suspect that your old PC had CD burner and DVD play only drives in it. Maybe the DVD was added as an upgrade?

But I do not know of a single DVD drive that cannot read CD disks. It is normal for optical drives to be backwards compatible, so a DVD will play CDs and similarly a Blu-Ray will play DVDs and CDs.
chrisjr is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 09:44
paulj48
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,021
. Problem is that I have only now realised that I have thousands of photo's on CD disks, but the PC I have ordered has only a DVD drive.
I'd suggest you get all those photos off the cd's and backed up onto something more realiable.
paulj48 is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 13:03
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,671
I'd suggest you get all those photos off the cd's and backed up onto something more realiable.
You beat me to it. An external hard drive is far more practical for backing up thousands of photos.

And OP, please don't make the common mistake of only storing the photos on the CDs (or external drive, if you decide to get one). Data should always exist in at least two separate places, so ensure you store them on the new PC and whatever other medium you chose.
max99 is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 15:18
LostFool
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 43,616
You beat me to it. An external hard drive is far more practical for backing up thousands of photos.

And OP, please don't make the common mistake of only storing the photos on the CDs (or external drive, if you decide to get one). Data should always exist in at least two separate places, so ensure you store them on the new PC and whatever other medium you chose.
Yes, you can never have too many backups.

Also look at some Cloud storage solutions such as Drop Box, Sky Drive or Google Drive which means that your photos and other documents are instantly available across all of your devices. See http://www.hongkiat.com/blog/dropbox-gdrive-skydrive/ for comparisons.
LostFool is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 19:11
Sexbomb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Preston
Posts: 12,312
Asking about dropbox etc. if you upload the pics in therir original size, if you download again do they stay in their original file size?

i have about 22gb of pictures
Sexbomb is offline Follow this poster on Twitter  
Old 07-01-2013, 19:13
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Asking about dropbox etc. if you upload the pics in therir original size, if you download again do they stay in their original file size?

i have about 22gb of pictures
Yes they are the same size, dropbox does not alter any file.
anniebrion is offline  
Old 07-01-2013, 19:47
LostFool
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 43,616
Asking about dropbox etc. if you upload the pics in therir original size, if you download again do they stay in their original file size?

i have about 22gb of pictures
Files are stored in their original size. It's not like a photo upload site.

With 22GB of photos then Dropbox may not be for you as a backup solution but I can thoroughly recommend it as a way of sharing files between computers, tablets and phones.
LostFool is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 10:57
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,455
Processor Type: Celeron
Don't waste your money on that Pc, how much are you paying for that btw ?
rottweiler is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 13:19
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,671
It's a perfectly respectable PC for regular, non-demanding users.
max99 is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 13:38
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,773
It's a perfectly respectable PC for regular, non-demanding users.
rottweiler thinks he's an expert now, especially with Macs. He'll be going into business as an IT consultant with cmorris next
mred2000 is offline  
Old 08-01-2013, 19:01
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,789
rottweiler thinks he's an expert now, especially with Macs. He'll be going into business as an IT consultant with cmorris next
LOL
alan1302 is offline  
Old 09-01-2013, 03:44
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,455
Instead of taking the piss out of me, why don't we wait for the op to list how much he is paying for his Celeron new Pc ?
rottweiler is offline  
Old 09-01-2013, 04:37
curiousclive
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Slough, UK
Posts: 371
Instead of taking the piss out of me, why don't we wait for the op to list how much he is paying for his Celeron new Pc ?
Why you going to offer to sell him a better one for less?
Bet it a fraction of the price of a Mac and will still do what he wants it for.
curiousclive is offline  
Old 09-01-2013, 10:30
shhftw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Yorkshire
Posts: 1,932
Instead of taking the piss out of me, why don't we wait for the op to list how much he is paying for his Celeron new Pc ?
Doesn't matter how much you pay if you could get something much better. 100% wasted if it's not the best you can get.
shhftw is online now  
Old 09-01-2013, 10:42
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,896
Doesn't matter how much you pay if you could get something much better. 100% wasted if it's not the best you can get.
How is your Ferrari going or is that not a good enough car for you?
bobcar is offline  
Old 09-01-2013, 11:54
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,671
Instead of taking the piss out of me, why don't we wait for the op to list how much he is paying for his Celeron new Pc ?
And why didn't you wait to find out how much he is paying before telling him not to waste his money?
max99 is offline  
Old 10-01-2013, 02:53
rottweiler
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: England
Posts: 2,455
So where is the price ?
Nowhere to be seen..... I wonder why ???

Someone askes this

Problem is that I have only now realised that I have thousands of photo's on CD disks, but the PC I have ordered has only a DVD drive.
And you wonder why I asked how much the new pc cost ?

The OP was clearly about to be ripped off by someone/store

And I don't have a Ferrari, wouldn't mind one as a run around but wouldn't get the family in so I'll stick with the Range Rover.
rottweiler is offline  
Old 10-01-2013, 07:27
Tourista
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Dagenham Essex UK
Posts: 8,002
Sorry for not get back to you all, and thank you all so much for the advice regarding the "lack" of a dedicated CD drive.

Have tested a couple of CD's, and they work fine. The confusion is because of poor product description alone, a thing which would be easy to sort out, and have asked PB why they dont tell people about the capabilities of their machines accurately (dont honestly expect a response)

Oh rottweiler, if you are still all a tremble with curiosity over what I paid, all I can say is that it was cheaper than a Ferrari...

(seriously it cost 349 from Littlewoods, but because they screwed up an order a while back, I got a 35.00 discount, so rottie I dont feel "ripped off" and I wont actually "pay" for it until Jan next year)

Also, thanks to those saying I should have more than 1 backup for my photo's etc, it is something I will look into asap. Currently have them all on my lappy, a seperate hard drive and CD's, but "cloud" seems the way to go, so cheers for the help......

If I can admit it, the layout of W8 has me a tad frazzled atm, and I think it will take me a while to get into it, ....

Sorry for the long post guys.....
Tourista is offline  
Old 10-01-2013, 07:31
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,993
I hope you get on OK.

Thanks for coming back to the thread to give us feedback.
Stig is offline  
Old 10-01-2013, 10:44
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,711
It's a perfectly respectable PC for regular, non-demanding users.
Have they improved then? I got a celeron machine here and while now it would be out of date at the time it was suppose to have been top notch for the price, but it is so slow,
noise747 is offline  
Old 10-01-2013, 12:18
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,671

Someone askes this

Problem is that I have only now realised that I have thousands of photo's on CD disks, but the PC I have ordered has only a DVD drive.
And you wonder why I asked how much the new pc cost ?
The OP didn't realise that a DVD drive will also play CDs. You should have.

Have they improved then? I got a celeron machine here and while now it would be out of date at the time it was suppose to have been top notch for the price, but it is so slow,
Celerons are much improved over the version from a number of years ago. Obviously not as fast as a faster, dearer processor, but still a decent chip for regular usage.


If I can admit it, the layout of W8 has me a tad frazzled atm, and I think it will take me a while to get into it.
Take a look at Classic Shell. It brings back the Start Button, so will make it easier for you to find your way around. Brief review here.
max99 is offline  
Old 10-01-2013, 18:28
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,671
Have they improved then? I got a celeron machine here and while now it would be out of date at the time it was suppose to have been top notch for the price, but it is so slow,
Only just read that properly. The processor is only one part of the system, so you can't say that a machine is slow 'because it's a Celeron'. There are other factors to be taken into account. So if your machine has slowed down, giving it a clean-up and ensuring it has enough RAM are the first steps. But ultimately, if it is a lowly old Celeron, it's not going to cope well with demanding tasks.
max99 is offline  
 
Closed Thread



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:59.