Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Using your smartphone on London Underground!


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-01-2013, 18:41
Nick_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 473

Thanks to Virgin Media who have rolled out wifi on the underground, if you have a smartphone which supports UMA, you can now use your smartphone on the underground to make calls and texts!

Most Blackberry's have UMA.

Switch on Wifi and UMA should automatically start.

Virgin Media wifi is free for Virgin Media,EE,Orange,T-Mobile and Vodafone customers.
Nick_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-01-2013, 21:17
carnivalist
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,091
It's been out for a while.

When it first came out and so not as widely known about as now - at least to tourists - I found it childishly amusing to make calls with my Skype App and then watch all the puzzled faces out of the corner of my eye. I imagine some of them thought I was some kind of mental patient who was hearing imaginary voices on my mobile.
carnivalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 23:11
ajh94
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London & Essex
Posts: 942
Never thought of using UMA for calls and stuff, but i use the wifi on the underground all the time. was using it at bethnal green the other day and its FAST!
ajh94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2013, 23:14
Kiskin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central London
Posts: 6,244
love using the wifi on the underground. Really helps when you have a while to wait for your train and also for me when I'm on my way home and I need updates on the footie
Kiskin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 21:49
Nick_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 473
I only discovered Orange UMA while using wifi on the underground, I got a call whilst waiting for a train and was crystal clear
Nick_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 22:23
mogzyboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Wales
Posts: 3,813
Apologies for being thick, but what is UMA? Does it work on the iPhone? I ask because, oddly enough, I have one!
mogzyboy is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 22:44
ajh94
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London & Essex
Posts: 942
I only discovered Orange UMA while using wifi on the underground, I got a call whilst waiting for a train and was crystal clear
what phone u got?
ajh94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 23:52
Matt D
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 11,171
Apologies for being thick, but what is UMA? Does it work on the iPhone? I ask because, oddly enough, I have one!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Generic_Access_Network

It's a way of allowing a phone to access a mobile network via e.g. WiFi.

The iPhone doesn't support it.

You could at least try Skype or Facetime via LU's WiFi, but of course that only works if you want to talk to someone who also has Skype or Facetime.
Matt D is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 23:57
tdenson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,967

You could at least try Skype or Facetime via LU's WiFi, but of course that only works if you want to talk to someone who also has Skype or Facetime.
Not if you have Skype credit, no problem calling normal phones, I do it all the time
tdenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 23:59
Matt D
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 11,171
Not if you have Skype credit, no problem calling normal phones, I do it all the time
Ah, good point.
Matt D is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 00:00
tdenson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,967
I was a bit amused by the email I got from Virgin Media advertising the underground wifi. I received this today the 9th January 2013 -

"Free WiFi has been a huge success on the London Underground. In fact, since it launched, over 800,000 people have been tweeting and emailing underground. And we're adding another 48 WiFi-enabled stations by next Spring - which includes 20 new stations going live in December. It will also remain free for everyone until January next year."

I read that as saying it is free until January 2014 - can we legally hold them to that ?
tdenson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 00:25
tfl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 115
iPhone users can just use Viber
tfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 19:28
Nick_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 473
what phone u got?
Blackberry Bold, it works on most Blackberry handsets including Curves.

It is available on many smartphones when using Orange,EE and T-Mobile, for a list go to the Orange shop website and read the phone specification and features. Not too sure about Vodafone and 3.
Nick_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 19:34
Nick_London
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 473
Apologies for being thick, but what is UMA? Does it work on the iPhone? I ask because, oddly enough, I have one!
When reception fails or when at home and where there is no network coverage, your phone will use a wifi connection as a signal.

No additional fees and calls come out of your minutes as usual. It is slightly similar to how BT Fusion and Cable and Wireless Smart talk works.
Nick_London is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 00:49
djfrancis
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: North London
Posts: 451
you could use Zello but is push to talk

www.zello.com
Zello for iPhone
Zello for Android
Zello for BlackBerry
Zello for PC
djfrancis is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 08:00
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,219
No these things require others to have the same app installed. We're talking about normal calls out of your Orange allowance or automatically receiving inbound calls, that's totally different to a push to talk app.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 15:13
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,826
Never understood why Push to talk didn't hit it off in the UK... it was great in the states. Like a long distance walkie talkie.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 15:15
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 7,926
iPhone users can just use Viber
So can every other smartphone user!
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 20:34
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,219
There's a key difference between being able to make and receive calls without the other person needing to have the same app running though.

So you could receive a call from the bank or make a call to a friend with a non smartphone, that's where UMA or operator apps like Tu-Me really come in useful. You can't compare that to Skype etc
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 22:43
paulbrock
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Wapping, London
Posts: 15,828
So what handsets does it work on then? Just blackberry?

edit: ah android phones with Orange bloatware on them can do it too. Hmmm...not worth it!
paulbrock is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:19.