Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Are There Problems With Jellybean? Better To Keep ICS For The Time Being?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2013, 03:03
carnivalist
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 4,171

As I've said on a couple of threads, I've been foiled by the horrific Kies in my attempts to update to Jellybean and have also found an issue with the OTA update. (The Kies issue is there with my mother's Samsung and on two different PCs, so I suspect Kies really is the problem and not something else).

However, I've just seen some threads on a couple of forums claiming that Jellybean has caused problems for some people - bugginess, reduced battery life and so on. One S3 user said he went back to ICS.

I'm quite happy with ICS, so I wonder what advice you would give. Is Jellybean having teething problems and would I be better waiting a while? Is there any genuine benefit in Jellybean over ICS?

If I do decide to stick with ICS for now (given my problems upgrading I may have to do that whether I like it or not) how do I stop the nag asking me to update?
carnivalist is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-01-2013, 03:06
Stiggles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Dundee, Scotland
Posts: 8,145
No problems on the S3 anyway. I ran it for a while when i had my S3 and the Mrs is fine as well
Stiggles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 10:35
SkipTracer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: The City and County of Bristol
Posts: 2,051
Only got Jelly Bean on my Samsung tablet and it works fine on that.

I only got Kies to work just a few days before the tab updated to ICS and now itís not working again but not to fussed anyways.
SkipTracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 11:50
Mark in Essex
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,940
No problems with Jelly Bean for me on my S3 and have been running it for a while.

It's a lot quicker than ICS as well.
Mark in Essex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 11:52
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 7,677
Iíve no issues with jellybean on my S3, and Iíd favour it over ICS, but itís not massively different.

Kies is a bag of poo and I never use it other than to upgrade. To install 4.1.1 I completely uninstalled Kies then reinstalled it. For 4.1.2 when I fired it up (hadnít used it since) it insisted that I upgraded Kies before upgrading the phone. Did that and it seemed to work fine.
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 12:15
Anika Hanson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 13,571
I updated my galaxy tab 2 to jelly bean a month ago. So far it's been better than ICS. No crashes, no freezing or rebooting (which happened with ICS) It's faster and smoother.
Anika Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 14:43
Rich2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: UK
Posts: 3,000
I found 4.1 on the S3 to be very slow and a huge battery drain. The recent minor update to 4.1.2 has fixed everything again plus added the multi-window feature too.

4.1 notifications are reason enough to upgrade!
Rich2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 15:18
jonner101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,191
I have a nexus 7 I've had to root it and freeze the version at 4.1.2 as so many of my favourite apps just won't work on 4.2. I don't really have any need for the multi-user features of 4.2 but it is annoying and one of my gripes with Android in general
jonner101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 15:29
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
JB has been out long enough now that the problems have been fixed.

is it better to stick to windows XP? no.
I have a nexus 7 I've had to root it and freeze the version at 4.1.2 as so many of my favourite apps just won't work on 4.2. I don't really have any need for the multi-user features of 4.2 but it is annoying and one of my gripes with Android in general
like what?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 15:48
jonner101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,191
JB has been out long enough now that the problems have been fixed.

is it better to stick to windows XP? no.


like what?

MM Tracker for a start which is my favourite app will not work in 4.2. Unfortunately that program is no longer available on the App store and we don't know if the developer is planning to update or issue a fix.

Android 4.2 should run android 4.1 apps no ?

Edit I think some apps that work with bluetooth have been affected also.

I practically got the N7 so I could use that app with all my OS maps so yeah it's really annoying.
jonner101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 16:11
jonner101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,191
is it better to stick to windows XP? no
In the business world XP is still used day in day out an awful lot, especially on back office client pcs which only need to run whatever bespoke system they need and probably word and excel.

I still develop in c# and oracle on an XP machine as we need our client software to be able to run on XP.

We have plenty of virtual machines which can run and test our software on all the latest OS's including the despicable windows 8 so our clients have a choice on OS and we know it will work. To be fair Microsoft does tend to be remarkably backward compatible, apart from some nuances between 32 and 64 bit OS versions.
jonner101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 19:14
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,969
I still develop in c# and oracle on an XP machine as we need our client software to be able to run on XP.
Its interesting you say this, then say you use VMs anyway

We have plenty of virtual machines which can run and test our software on all the latest OS's including the despicable windows 8 so our clients have a choice on OS and we know it will work. To be fair Microsoft does tend to be remarkably backward compatible, apart from some nuances between 32 and 64 bit OS versions
It doesn't seem to me like your using XP only because your clients do.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 02:56
jonner101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,191
Its interesting you say this, then say you use VMs anyway .
It's very simple our software needs to run on XP and up to windows 7 and soon windows 8 because our customers run these operating systems . We develop in XP and our Software is then tested on virtual machines on all variations of the operating systems so we can licence the software to be compatible with all the different variations. We sometimes have to tweak variants for the 32 and 64 bit versions.

It doesn't seem to me like your using XP only because your clients do.
Perfect sense as Microsoft is generally backward compatible you develop on the oldest version you need the software to work on. I'm talking niche bespoke and very corporate systems which run in the back office of large corporations and they really only care if the software does the exact job they need it to do. There is nothing of real relevance in windows 7 or 8 to what the software needs to achieve.
jonner101 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:29.