Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Price Of Panasonic Blu Ray Recorder On Amazon


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2013, 09:25
JEFF62
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,850

I thought about buying the DMR-BWT720 Panasonic Blu Ray recorder but it is quite expensive. Last week it was 379 on Amazon then on Friday went up to 419 overnight. Then it was 409 the other day. Now it is showing as 399. Other retailers have it as 419. So why does Amazon keep putting the price up and down. I would have been gutted if I had ordered one at 419 then found it is now 399. So when is the best time to buy? Should I wait a while to see if it goes down further or will there be a sale in the future or will it go back up again.
JEFF62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-01-2013, 10:08
Chasing Shadows
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,104
Amazon adjust their prices to reflect an acceptable profit on what they pay for the machine. If they only have a limited stock amount, so have to buy one to be able to sell you it, then they will charge you accordingly.
Chasing Shadows is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 11:38
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 7,388
There are a number of companies selling it through amazon, and they'll all have competing prices. amazon displays the cheapest one with stock in.

Under where it says "In Stock" you'll see 7 new from 399. click on the 7 new link and you'll see the completing suppliers. As the cheaper ones run out of stock it will switch to the more expensive. Also I suspect that to grab the business the suppliers watch each other's price and try and undercut, hence why it's so volatile
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 13:47
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,009
At the time of posting..............

Down to 379,99 In stock.
Dispatched from and sold by Amazon.co.uk

Also two other sellers at the same price
mac2708 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 14:21
Sideburns57
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,959
It is worth getting.
Sideburns57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 14:58
fmradiotuner1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: TheEssexSunshineCoast Clacton
Posts: 12,979
It is worth getting.
Don't really know?
It won't be able to record in HD from a Sky HD box.
Though would would fit much more stuff on the disc maybe a few films but in SD in this case would be better buying blu rays.
If you record a lot of HD yourself on camcorder video then yes if you wish to keep them.
fmradiotuner1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 15:42
JEFF62
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 2,850
Thanks. That explains it. just glad I didnt pay 409. I think it was in the sales in stores like Currys the other week for around 379 but then went up in price. I just assumed it would now remain at over 400 for a long time to come. I cannot imagine it will fall any further than 379. Basically I want to replace my 6 year old Liteon HDD and dvd recorder but want to move some content from it to the new one. Looks like cheaper panasonics have no scart connection so could not do that. Also want to use to move stuff from my sky box to it although I appreciate it would only be in SD and have a few videos to move from my old video recorder. All of this would be possible with this model. You can also attach an external hard drive to put things on but can you play stuff from an external hard drive through the unit or would it erase everything else? I am keen on putting some stuff on recordable blu ray as well.
JEFF62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 15:51
Supercell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 3,800
I own the older 500 model of this. I do love it but there are a few issues. When you transfer to blu ray if its in the highest format it doesn't work if you try and play it on another device like a PS3. Also you can't transfer hd from a camcorder properly as there is no FireWire link.

You can track prices here too to see if its just a blip or a good deal, amazon prices do fluctuate a lot. They are not low all the time as some people think.

http://uk.camelcamelcamel.com/Panaso...uct/B0086WVPWG
Supercell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 16:43
tasker
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: south yorkshire
Posts: 1,131
I have a 720 (320 in the Comet sale) it replaced the 750 freesat unit and i have to say i am so impressed with it in all aspects, i have hours and hours of the Olympics on Blu Ray now from BBC HD in 5.1 and it records from other inputs no problem including my Panasonic HD camcorder, my Flip and memory cards.
And in some cases it accidentaly recorded from a couple of music dvd's i have.
Cracking machine.
tasker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 23:29
Sideburns57
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,959
Don't really know?
It won't be able to record in HD from a Sky HD box.
Though would would fit much more stuff on the disc maybe a few films but in SD in this case would be better buying blu rays.
If you record a lot of HD yourself on camcorder video then yes if you wish to keep them.
Que? I was making a statement not asking a question. I have it and as I say, worth getting (merely my opinion though!). According to some here (the bright ones - not me!) no machine copies HD in HD..........
Sideburns57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 23:31
Sideburns57
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 1,959
One thing that is a pi??er is one can't seem to record straight to disc from HD box (needing to record to hard drive then copy to disc from that)
Sideburns57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 13:03
webbie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: North Devon
Posts: 1,447
To record HD in HD requires something like a pc, hauppauge colossus, hdmi to component converter. If you have a pc, then an extra 200 - 250 if you can accomodate the colossus card.
webbie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 13:42
Theo_Bear
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 961
Don't Blu-ray recorders have HDMI input? Would that not enable HD content saved on a Sky HD box to be copied at normal speed in HD to the Blu-ray recorder?
Theo_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 14:00
mac2708
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 3,009
Don't Blu-ray recorders have HDMI input? Would that not enable HD content saved on a Sky HD box to be copied at normal speed in HD to the Blu-ray recorder?
Not as far as I know - the HDMI socket(s) are output only.
Explanation here http://news.cnet.com/8301-17938_105-9870317-1.html

It used to be possible, I think, when Sky HD boxes had component output but that was taken off to prevent copying of HD content.
mac2708 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 15:38
Theo_Bear
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 961
Thanks, Mac. TBH, I can't believe someone hasn't reverse engineered a BR recorder and put an input HDMI socket on it, or designed a circuit board that would do the job. A Blu-ray recorder without HMDI output is pretty pointless.

Just buy a BR RAM for your PC, hook up your external HD recording device's SD card, and record away. Lemon squeasy.
Theo_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 22:12.