Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Android Software Updates


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2013, 23:31
Ollie_h19
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Derby
Posts: 4,616

Both myself and my girlfriend have a Samsung Galaxy S3. Hers regularly updates itself with the latest Android Firmware and is now running 4.1.2. Mine is running on v4.0.4 and won't update; I have tried Home > Settings > About Device but the option to update my software isn't there (its first on the menu on my girlfriend's phone) and it also doesn't update via Samsung Kies.

Any help in updating my phone's software would be much appreciated!
Ollie_h19 is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-01-2013, 23:48
Anika Hanson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 13,564
My OH has the same problem. His S3 also wouldn't update.
Anika Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 00:28
Scotty2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Teesside
Posts: 862
Both myself and my girlfriend have a Samsung Galaxy S3. Hers regularly updates itself with the latest Android Firmware and is now running 4.1.2. Mine is running on v4.0.4 and won't update; I have tried Home > Settings > About Device but the option to update my software isn't there (its first on the menu on my girlfriend's phone) and it also doesn't update via Samsung Kies.

Any help in updating my phone's software would be much appreciated!
Is your S3 on the same network as your girlfriends and was it bought from the same shop?

The reason I ask this is because the software updates are sometimes dependent on the phone network. For example, if you bought an S3 on Orange from an Orange store or EE store as they are now known, then your updates will be available when Orange release them. If on the other hand you bought your S3 from The Carphone Warehouse, then that means the handset is an unlocked factory model and will receive updates when Samsung release them. Does this make sense?
Scotty2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 06:51
Ollie_h19
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Derby
Posts: 4,616
Both came from Carphone Warehouse.

We're both now on EE, but I was previously on T-Mobile and she was on Orange, if that makes a difference.
Ollie_h19 is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 09:38
Scotty2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Teesside
Posts: 862
Both came from Carphone Warehouse.

We're both now on EE, but I was previously on T-Mobile and she was on Orange, if that makes a difference.
It might make a difference but as far as I'm aware, The Carphone Warehouse sell unlocked, unbranded handsets which means yours and your girlfriends phones should have exactly the same software, firmware etc.

Have a look at this thread, it allows you to download the latest firmware and also included is the software (Odin) to flash it to your phone.
It's really easy to do but if you have any questions let me know.
Scotty2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:04
Kriskiki89
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 30
Is it as easy as the instructions on the first post of that thread?
Kriskiki89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:05
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 7,424
I'd try uninstalling Kies, reinstalling the latest version - then running the firmware update from there
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 11:50
Scotty2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Teesside
Posts: 862
Is it as easy as the instructions on the first post of that thread?
In my opinion, yes it is.

Here is a tutorial video I found on YouTube which gives a step by step guide.

Remember: Before you start, make sure the battery is fully charged and back up all of your data and files as this may be wiped during the upgrade.
Scotty2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 21:58
Ollie_h19
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Derby
Posts: 4,616
I'd try uninstalling Kies, reinstalling the latest version - then running the firmware update from there
I've updated Kies to the newest version (rather than un- and re-installing) and it still says I'm running the latest Firmware.

I've emailled Android Support and I'll see what they say. That Odin thing looks a bit complicated.
Ollie_h19 is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 12:32
Dai13371
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ammanford, South Wales
Posts: 7,900
Trust me, Odin is the easiest thing in the world. Very important to read the instructions carefully though before proceeding.
Dai13371 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 13:37
finbaar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2,985
I've updated Kies to the newest version (rather than un- and re-installing) and it still says I'm running the latest Firmware.

I've emailled Android Support and I'll see what they say. That Odin thing looks a bit complicated.
Completely uninstall Kies and all drivers and start again. If that fails use Odin.

Now things can go wrong when updating your phone - OTA, Kies or Odin and honestly using Odin is not a risky thing to do at all. Should the worst happen and your device bricks and you need a warranty repair do not tell them you were updating using Odin as they will not fix it under warranty. There is no way they can tell how you were updating.
finbaar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 21:40
Ollie_h19
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Derby
Posts: 4,616
I've uninstalled and re-installed Kies and now it recognises it can update the Firmware, at last!

However it doesn't seem to get past 'Downloading Firmware Upgrade Components'. It gets to 100%, stays there a while, then it freezes. Once or twice I get an error message about 'administrative rights' so I run Kies as admin but still nothing. Rubbish isn't it?
Ollie_h19 is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 23:00
Anika Hanson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 13,564
I've uninstalled and re-installed Kies and now it recognises it can update the Firmware, at last!

However it doesn't seem to get past 'Downloading Firmware Upgrade Components'. It gets to 100%, stays there a while, then it freezes. Once or twice I get an error message about 'administrative rights' so I run Kies as admin but still nothing. Rubbish isn't it?
Yep Kies is a pile of poo. I've tried to update three different devices and I didn't have any luck with any of them. It was one thing or another, Kies stuck on an updating loop, software never completes download, Kies cannot connect to device etc I've uninstalled and reinstalled it but it makes no difference.


I just wait for the OTA updates now. You have to wait longer but it works.
Anika Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2013, 23:55
platelet
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: GL51 0EX
Posts: 7,424
I've uninstalled and re-installed Kies and now it recognises it can update the Firmware, at last!

However it doesn't seem to get past 'Downloading Firmware Upgrade Components'. It gets to 100%, stays there a while, then it freezes..
Slim hope but I had something like this, and thought it had hung but it came back to life after a long time, maybe 5-10 minutes. Whole upgrade too about half hour to run from what I remember
platelet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 10:29
Scotty2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Teesside
Posts: 862
You could of had it updated by Odin within 20 minutes.
Scotty2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:25
Ollie_h19
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Derby
Posts: 4,616
Finally managed to update over Kies! You just need to be patient, which I'm not very.

And the even better news is, the Software Update option has appeared in the "About" menu so hopefully I won't have to go through this rigmarole again!

Thanks for all your help.
Ollie_h19 is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:40
Scotty2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Teesside
Posts: 862
Finally managed to update over Kies! You just need to be patient, which I'm not very.

And the even better news is, the Software Update option has appeared in the "About" menu so hopefully I won't have to go through this rigmarole again!

Thanks for all your help.
Good to hear
Scotty2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 14:58
tosha43
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 323
You could of had it updated by Odin within 20 minutes.
any good tutorials on this
tosha43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 15:04
Scotty2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Teesside
Posts: 862
Scotty2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 15:08
kpfarmer1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 20
I tried to update my S3 last night. Kies crashed and now my phone has got a Firmware update error message and to connect to kies in safe mode. My computer does will not connect to my phone now. So I have got a brick. Thanks kies.
kpfarmer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 15:16
Ollie_h19
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Derby
Posts: 4,616
You know what I find amazing? Samsung is such a popular, impressive manufacturer, the smartphones are so amazing as to be a credible rival for the iPhone yet the software for it is slow, unreliable and clumsy.

Its odd isnt it?
Ollie_h19 is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 15:17
Scotty2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Teesside
Posts: 862
That's why I have the Nexus 4. No bloatware and other stuff to slow the OS down.
Scotty2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 15:17
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,784
You know what I find amazing? Samsung is such a popular, impressive manufacturer, the smartphones are so amazing as to be a credible rival for the iPhone yet the software for it is slow, unreliable and clumsy.

Its odd isnt it?
Think a lot of software is quite poor from different companies...I know that I've never been impressed with software from different camera makers or even Logitech who I swear by their products but not keen on the software.
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2013, 20:12
bigsis
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: My home...
Posts: 1,134
Sorry for hijacking this thread but I have a problem which I hope someone can help me with concerning Android updates.

A friend of mine has a Galaxy S3 which she got from the O2 shop in July which is still running 4.1 Android. We have both tried to update both OTA and via Kies but it's still saying no updates available. When she bought it from O2 the person serving her came out with the phone already unsealed from the box which to me rings alarm bells as I always thought that the seal should be broken in front of the customer.

I mention this as her daughter has the exact same phone which she bought from Argos a month later again on O2 but hers feels different in that the weight is a little heavier and the phone looks cosmetically different too. It's hard to put into words how but it certainly looks and feels different. Her phone automatically updates too as she now has version 4.3 installed.

Should my friend take her phone back? She isn't happy with it and to top it all now it is taking a long time to charge up whereas her daughter's takes 2 hours at the most.

It seems to me she has maybe been given a refurbished phone or a phone of lower quality, will O2 give her a replacement?

The phone in the end will cost her nearly 500 and I know I would want a phone that updates for that price and not a refurbished one.

Many thanks in advance and a very Merry Christmas!!
bigsis is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-12-2013, 20:48
qasdfdsaq
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,286
O2 hasn't released the 4.3 update for the S3 yet so the phone you got from Argos will be an unbranded, non-O2 phone.

There is almost always a delay of several months between the manufacturer releasing an update and individual networks releasing updates to their customized versions.

There are always natural variations between individual handsets cosmetically depending on when and where it was built, that's doesn't mean there's something wrong with it though.

Are you/they actually having a problem with the phone? If so, get that sorted. Otherwise you just have to wait till an update exists before you can update it, that's not a phone problem, that's O2's firmware team being slow.
qasdfdsaq is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:33.