Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Speed caps being reinstated on Full Monty plans


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-01-2013, 21:39
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,626

Full Monty speed caps will be put back in place from the 16th of January. 4Mbps down, 1Mbps up.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 10-01-2013, 21:42
-ajm-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hedge End, Southampton, Hants.
Posts: 2,451
Deleted

Last edited by -ajm- : 10-01-2013 at 21:43. Reason: Changed my mind again
-ajm- is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 21:44
-ajm-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hedge End, Southampton, Hants.
Posts: 2,451
Would this be to convince people to move to EE?
-ajm- is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 21:47
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,121
Any proof? Any reason provided? Since they blocked tethering from the full monty I would have thought they wouldn't do this again.

At least its not 1mbps like it was at the start.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 21:51
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,821
I'm two months into a 12 month SIM only contract. No mention of a speed cap when I signed up. Can they enforce contracts if they change the terms like this? Or is it somewhere in the small print that they can impose speed caps?
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 21:56
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,121
I'm two months into a 12 month SIM only contract. No mention of a speed cap when I signed up. Can they enforce contracts if they change the terms like this? Or is it somewhere in the small print that they can impose speed caps?
Well they've been doing it for years on older plans with speed caps at 1,8mbps and 3,6mbps. When the full monty came out it was speed capped at 1mbps and then 3.6mbps. It was only due to complaints that they lifted it. So I guess they can do it.
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 22:02
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,821
I decided to pay more to go with T-Mobile as I thought the combined EE network would be better than 3. If they're going to be messing about imposing speed caps, I wish I hadn't bothered.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 22:08
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,626
The cap was never meant to be removed in the first place.
The APN change meant the caps came off on all plans.
Full Monty cap now going to be put back.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 22:08
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,121
Hmmm, well the good thing is that tbh 4mbps will be ok for browsing and streaming etc.. you'll only want 4mbps and above in a few cases, like downloading large files/tethering. But you cant tether on the full monty anyway, so like I said I have no idea why t-mobile would cap speeds.

I totally see your point though

@Devinbloke, can I ask how you know? Wasn't the cap originally taken off due to complaints?
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 22:10
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,821
Hmmm, well the good thing is that tbh 4mbps will be ok for browsing and streaming etc.. you'll only want 4mbps and above in a few cases, like downloading large files/tethering. But you cant tether on the full monty anyway, so like I said I have no idea why t-mobile would cap speeds.

I totally see your point though
You're not supposed to, although they haven't blocked it.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 22:23
John_Patrick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 771
You can tether on full monty as it was sold as part of the deal when people signed up. The removed the tethering some months ago but was for new sign ups after that point, didn't apply to original contracts.

Wonder if it says they can do this in their t&c's
John_Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 22:34
Adamuk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 69
Isn't Full Monty supposed to mean 'everything'? Cheers T-mobile.
Adamuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 22:49
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,821
I guess this will cover them:

"3.4 We reserve the right to manage Your use of Our Network in order to protect it for the use of all of Our customers. We may therefore apply traffic management controls from time to time. Details of Our current policy are on Our website."

Still pathetic though.

EDIT:

Their traffic management policy categorically states that there's no speed cap: http://support.t-mobile.co.uk/resour...uly%202012.pdf
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 22:59
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,626
Hmmm, well the good thing is that tbh 4mbps will be ok for browsing and streaming etc.. you'll only want 4mbps and above in a few cases, like downloading large files/tethering. But you cant tether on the full monty anyway, so like I said I have no idea why t-mobile would cap speeds.

I totally see your point though

@Devinbloke, can I ask how you know? Wasn't the cap originally taken off due to complaints?
You can certainly ask but I'm afraid I can't tell you.
All I can say is its from a very reliable source.

No I believe the cap speed was increased due to complaints but it was never removed. When EE4G launched and the EE APN was changed globally, this had the side effect of temporarily removing the Full Monty cap. I'm guessing it was easier to update all the APNs first (removing the cap) and then put the Full Monty cap back later. This is a guess though as I say.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:08
jabbamk1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: London, UK
Posts: 7,121
You can certainly ask but I'm afraid I can't tell you.
All I can say is its from a very reliable source.

No I believe the cap speed was increased due to complaints but it was never removed. When EE4G launched and the EE APN was changed globally, this had the side effect of temporarily removing the Full Monty cap. I'm guessing it was easier to update all the APNs first (removing the cap) and then put the Full Monty cap back later. This is a guess though as I say.
Ok no worries. And I seem to remember the cap being removed much earlier. Like before the summer early. People were confirming the cap was gone and getting over 4mbps as early as May. So im not sure if the APN change is the reason here
jabbamk1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:09
ajh94
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: London & Essex
Posts: 982
Why on earth are they putting the cap back, that's ridiculous. Will it be a different APN or everywhere but with a cap, also is this just for Full Monty? Orange isn't affected is it?

Also how do you know this, you got any proof?
ajh94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:10
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,821
What about the PDF I linked to?

"Are there any services, content, or protocols always slowed down? No."
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:15
moox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,084
Their traffic management policy categorically states that there's no speed cap: http://support.t-mobile.co.uk/resour...uly%202012.pdf
Are you looking at "What are the download/upload limits or data usage caps on this tariff?"

That sounds more like a set download allowance than an actual speed restriction.
moox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:16
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 432
The cap was never meant to be removed in the first place.
The APN change meant the caps came off on all plans.
Full Monty cap now going to be put back.
So are they capping it by APN or by Plan itself? There are a few APN's still accessible that all appear to be unlimited (As in no speed cap)
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:16
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,821
Are you looking at "What are the download/upload limits or data usage caps on this tariff?"

That sounds more like a set download allowance than an actual speed restriction.
I'm not sure what you mean.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:16
moox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,084
What about the PDF I linked to?

"Are there any services, content, or protocols always slowed down? No."
Sounds unclear to me. That might suggest specific protocols rather than a general limit - by applying an overall speed limit they're not targeting anything in particular and "no" might be the correct answer.

I don't think they know what they're doing - they say P2P is both blocked and restricted to 50kbps at all times on plans after Feb 2012. So the answer to the question should be "yes" just for that?
moox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:17
danielmeah
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Liverpool(L15)l, UK
Posts: 432
Hmmm, well the good thing is that tbh 4mbps will be ok for browsing and streaming etc.. you'll only want 4mbps and above in a few cases, like downloading large files/tethering. But you cant tether on the full monty anyway, so like I said I have no idea why t-mobile would cap speeds.

I totally see your point though

@Devinbloke, can I ask how you know? Wasn't the cap originally taken off due to complaints?
Some of us can tether tho :| so hopefully that's not capped to.
danielmeah is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:21
IslandNiles
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 12,821
Sounds unclear to me. That might suggest specific protocols rather than a general limit - by applying an overall speed limit they're not targeting anything in particular and "no" might be the correct answer.

I don't think they know what they're doing - they say P2P is both blocked and restricted to 50kbps at all times on plans after Feb 2012. So the answer to the question should be "yes" just for that?
True. But they don't list any permanent slowdowns, or slowing down during peak periods for browsing, streaming etc.
IslandNiles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:29
Step666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Scotland
Posts: 1,226
Back when T-Mobile capped all their customers at 1.8Mbps down, I went through a huge palaver with T-Mobile's Customer Services, who simultaneously claimed there was no speed cap and were mysteriously able to more than triple my speeds by adding a particular booster to my account.

Eventually I contacted CISAS because I believed that T-Mobile were failing to provide the service they advertised.
Their response was "Unfortunately we are unable to help you in this matter as your complaint concerns a business decision taken by the company you are complaining about. Business decisions fall outside the scope of our scheme and we have no power to deal a complaint of this nature" - worse than useless...
Step666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2013, 23:39
moox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 7,084
Back when T-Mobile capped all their customers at 1.8Mbps down, I went through a huge palaver with T-Mobile's Customer Services, who simultaneously claimed there was no speed cap and were mysteriously able to more than triple my speeds by adding a particular booster to my account.
I never even got that far. I knew there was something they could add, and after much CS wrangling one of them claimed to add a booster but it still didn't work.

Fortunately it was a 1 month contract so I just told them to shove it.

There was plenty of "local network conditions" as an excuse, so that must be why across Cornwall my phone always got a precise 1.8Mbps and a 3 phone in the same place got far more).
moox is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:46.