Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

PS3 - bad experience.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-01-2013, 00:19
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,588

Well... it looks like that's 160 quid thereabouts down the drain.

I've wanted, and I have for some time to play the "proper" version of Fifa. I think you can get that with the PS About a week ago I ordered a PS3 slim and Fifa13. It arrived the other day and for a time I've had a good few hours, on and off of Fifa bliss. When it works, it's a fantastic game and more than I hoped for. But as expected the game does lag at times and has crashed. Tonight however took it to a new level.

The system, (not the game) because I'd otherwise be able to press PS and quit it, freezes at Nov 17th 2012 in game time.

This is in the Career mode of the game btw. I know there's more to the game that this one mode but tonights experience is the tip of the iceberg and I feel like a mug for going down this route.

It was either this or shelling out 300 just for a Wii U bundle console but my Wii has been grossly underused in recent years. I'll be hoping my PS3 will be able to play DVD's at any rate. I just want to be able to sit and relax. This computer is great for DVD's but I can't relax in the same way, if you catch my drift.
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 12-01-2013, 01:01
Conroy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: cs_office
Posts: 2,466
Apparently FIFA 13 is very buggy. So much so, even the BBC covered it on Watchdog in October.

As it seems you are new to the PS3, whenever a game freezes (and this will happen from time to time), the entire PS3 will freeze leaving the unit unresponsive to button presses.
Conroy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 02:54
thomas2400
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,305
It's not your PS3, Fifa 13 has notorious career mode glitches, just give it a quick google and you'll see

Also a game crash will of ocassion freeze up the entire machine meaning no buttons will work as Conroy said
thomas2400 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 11:21
mojobrew
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Milton Keynes
Posts: 797
Well... it looks like that's 160 quid thereabouts down the drain.

I've wanted, and I have for some time to play the "proper" version of Fifa. I think you can get that with the PS About a week ago I ordered a PS3 slim and Fifa13. It arrived the other day and for a time I've had a good few hours, on and off of Fifa bliss. When it works, it's a fantastic game and more than I hoped for. But as expected the game does lag at times and has crashed. Tonight however took it to a new level.

The system, (not the game) because I'd otherwise be able to press PS and quit it, freezes at Nov 17th 2012 in game time.

This is in the Career mode of the game btw. I know there's more to the game that this one mode but tonights experience is the tip of the iceberg and I feel like a mug for going down this route.

It was either this or shelling out 300 just for a Wii U bundle console but my Wii has been grossly underused in recent years. I'll be hoping my PS3 will be able to play DVD's at any rate. I just want to be able to sit and relax. This computer is great for DVD's but I can't relax in the same way, if you catch my drift.
This is a known bug which was fixed by a patch a little while ago - did you update the game when you first started it up or did you skip it?
mojobrew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:29
thomas2400
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,305
This is a known bug which was fixed by a patch a little while ago - did you update the game when you first started it up or did you skip it?
Actually while there is a patch, multiple in fact, my first career freeze issues happened after the newest patch so whether or not he has patched might not be the issue
thomas2400 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:53
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,588
This is a known bug which was fixed by a patch a little while ago - did you update the game when you first started it up or did you skip it?
Yea the patches don't seem to fix everything. I did the system automatic updates but I haven't been able to get a secure connection to the internet ever since. We have a WAP in the house but the connection from it where I have the system isn't reliable at all. So i've given up any hope on online gaming too,
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 12:59
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,588
It's not your PS3, Fifa 13 has notorious career mode glitches, just give it a quick google and you'll see

Also a game crash will of ocassion freeze up the entire machine meaning no buttons will work as Conroy said
Sorry, to come back to that point...

Every time the game has glitched to that extent, the system keeps warning me that some files might be corrupt. I'm not sure I believe there are, as the system is so new but it can't be doing the hardware any good to have to keep closing down while technically still in a game. Like resetting a computer on BSOD
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 13:10
thomas2400
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 3,305
Sorry, to come back to that point...

Every time the game has glitched to that extent, the system keeps warning me that some files might be corrupt. I'm not sure I believe there are, as the system is so new but it can't be doing the hardware any good to have to keep closing down while technically still in a game. Like resetting a computer on BSOD
If its keeps happening on a certain date you can just starting a new career, when mine froze it was when it was starting up a certain game and i had to sim past the game or i couldn't continue
Or than that your career is broken and as far as i know it will continue to freeze your PS3 each time you load that save, so if you are getting worried just stop playing it
thomas2400 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 13:15
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,588
If its keeps happening on a certain date you can just starting a new career, when mine froze it was when it was starting up a certain game and i had to sim past the game or i couldn't continue
Or than that your career is broken and as far as i know it will continue to freeze your PS3 each time you load that save, so if you are getting worried just stop playing it
Hmmm, I'll try that, but it does seem to be a certain date, I have to do some things with the Youth Acamedy and turn down an approach by the russian FA but when the day of destiny comes, silence and then, gone

I'll try it one more time then give it a break... go back to Football manager maybe.

Edit - Nope, there it goes again. I think what I'll do, because I'm stubborn, is start a new career from Professional difficulty, and see how far I get this time. Last time I started on semi pro because I was so new.

Double Edit - Something else I forgot to add, when it does it's check on reboot it seems to wizz through to 38% percent checking in seconds... and then just boot normally? Is this the same for you?

Last edited by lordOfTime : 12-01-2013 at 13:27. Reason: progress update....
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 13:40
Thunder Lips
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 1,553
Sorry, to come back to that point...

Every time the game has glitched to that extent, the system keeps warning me that some files might be corrupt. I'm not sure I believe there are, as the system is so new but it can't be doing the hardware any good to have to keep closing down while technically still in a game. Like resetting a computer on BSOD
That's a standard warning, no need to carry out the file restore thing it prompts you to do every time! (just in case you didn't know)
Thunder Lips is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 13:54
XxBlaKOuTZxX
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Edinburgh / Scotland
Posts: 2,773
Of topic here but does Psn+ cause the Ps3 problems ?. I subscribed to Psn+ last month and the last few times ive finished with the Ps3 and shut it down it bleeps at me 3 or 4 times then shuts down and when I turn it back on I keep getting a message that there could be corrupted files or something and the console does a HDD check to fix any corrupt files. This only started happening since I subscribed
XxBlaKOuTZxX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 17:37
TheG-Man
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Z'ha'dum
Posts: 745
I joined PSN+ just after chrimbo and have no probs whatsoever. The corrupt data screen is a fairly new update which comes up if the ps isn't shutdown properly. PS3 s do freeze from time to time and it seess to me certain game glitches make it happen more often eg: I had lots of problens with Skyrim untill the patches.
TheG-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 17:49
Sam Seed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: In the Spaceship
Posts: 301
buy an Xbox
Sam Seed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 18:06
TheG-Man
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Z'ha'dum
Posts: 745
Don't be such a dick Sam.
TheG-Man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 19:37
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,588
Fifa is just as buggy on Xbox so that wouldn't have helped. I'm.happy enough with what I've got.

If Career mode isn't going to be doable this time around.... Maybe tournament play will be more forgiving. Not sure I can settle for one-off. kick off games in the long run.
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 19:48
grps3
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 2,727
dont blame the ps3 for EA's problems

ea games are usually ported badly for ps3, so sams advice isnt far wrong

u go onto say that u hope ps3 will play dvds....it can do way more than that
first off if you have an hd tv ...u can turn an option for dvds to upscale them to hd.....noticable quality difference straight away.... but if u do have hdtv then start buying blurays.....well worth the extra cash

also the ps3 can connect to your pc/laptop or other devices using media server
you can stream just about any media file on your pc(pics/music/video) to your ps3 and view/watch/listen through your tv.....this is probably the feature i use most on my ps3

also if you got plenty pennies then you can get a 3DTV for games and movies

160 for a 3 d compatible bluray player, media server that also happens to play some kickass exclusive games(and buggy EA ones) is well worth it
grps3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 22:37
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,588
Thanks for all your posts and advice all. I won't deny I was thoroughly deflated last night. I'd love to think I could play on a full career mode without fear of crashing consoles but I suppose most if not everyone is in that boat.

I didn't mean to run down the console at all. It's obviously a fantastic machine as the sales figures since it came out suggest and there's more to the console than Fifa but I was having fun with that season and would have liked to have at least one season to play about with before being forced to quit it.

Maybe I can try again for next year. <fingers crossed>
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2013, 23:52
OMTT
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,634
Delete all FIFA game data & saves & start over fresh with it to see if that helps
OMTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2013, 00:58
gother
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Between Venus and Mars
Posts: 6,766
Well... it looks like that's 160 quid thereabouts down the drain.

I've wanted, and I have for some time to play the "proper" version of Fifa. I think you can get that with the PS About a week ago I ordered a PS3 slim and Fifa13. It arrived the other day and for a time I've had a good few hours, on and off of Fifa bliss. When it works, it's a fantastic game and more than I hoped for. But as expected the game does lag at times and has crashed. Tonight however took it to a new level.

The system, (not the game) because I'd otherwise be able to press PS and quit it, freezes at Nov 17th 2012 in game time.

This is in the Career mode of the game btw. I know there's more to the game that this one mode but tonights experience is the tip of the iceberg and I feel like a mug for going down this route.

It was either this or shelling out 300 just for a Wii U bundle console but my Wii has been grossly underused in recent years. I'll be hoping my PS3 will be able to play DVD's at any rate. I just want to be able to sit and relax. This computer is great for DVD's but I can't relax in the same way, if you catch my drift.
its fifa mate it happens to me too. I refuse to play fifa atm until greedy EA sort it out.
gother is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-01-2013, 00:59
gother
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Between Venus and Mars
Posts: 6,766
i'd rather not cheers although i did get a xbox360 you asked for that.
gother is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 00:14
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,588
So yea as i was saying earlier... I'm not throwing away my copy of Fifa, even if it did crash yet again mid match in a tournament play, but I want to finish at least 1 EPL tournament before I admit defeat against the glitches. If i can advance all the away to the end, i will.
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 11:47
Gimmerss
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Wakefield
Posts: 39
as suggested try deleting both the FIFA game data and the save game on the system itself then try playing again but don't update you wont be able to play online without updating (i don't think) but you might be able to play career mode without any problems.
Gimmerss is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 13:00
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,588
as suggested try deleting both the FIFA game data and the save game on the system itself then try playing again but don't update you wont be able to play online without updating (i don't think) but you might be able to play career mode without any problems.
I might, but the thing is, I do enjoy playing the game, but when I do, I'm playing on eggshells like I expect the game to crash at any moment. I've never had that on Nintendo consoles, Ever!

I'll keep playing though.
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 13:10
Ash_735
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Manchester, UK
Posts: 8,006
I like how you keep bringing other consoles into this when everyone has said it's the games fault. I know it's hard to believe if that crapfest of a game is the only PS3 game you've got, but you have to trust us, the PS3 and Xbox 360 do work!
Ash_735 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 13:14
lordOfTime
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: County Durham
Posts: 13,588
I like how you keep bringing other consoles into this when everyone has said it's the games fault. I know it's hard to believe if that crapfest of a game is the only PS3 game you've got, but you have to trust us, the PS3 and Xbox 360 do work!
I know I keep bringing the other consoles (.i.e. Nintendo) into it but trust me it's not an attempt to knock the PS3 down. I bought it because I wanted it.

But can you also see where my feelings of doubt and apprehension come from? I just wanted to express how I'm feeling when playing the game... that's all.
lordOfTime is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:24.