Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Gaming on fiber broadband?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14-01-2013, 14:43
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 3,219

Have you noticed if it's any better than your old DSL connection?

Getting Sky fibre installed in a couple of weeks was just wondering how/if it affects on-line gaming.
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 14-01-2013, 14:57
2Dshmuplover
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 8,052
Not really since not many things I've used max out the connection (was 20Mb/s before, now 80Mb/s on fiber optic). The actual connection to the ISP itself has been a lot more stable though and less drop outs from XBL. If you were coming from 8Mb/s or less then I would think you would notice a difference though.
2Dshmuplover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 15:05
The Sack
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: S6 WTID UTO FTB
Posts: 5,686
MW3 and Blops2 will actively put you at a disadvantage if you are picked as host on a very fast connection. So if you play COD a lot be prepared for the frustration of lag compensation.
The Sack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 16:03
gother
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Between Venus and Mars
Posts: 6,916
I noticed a huge difference on vms 100mb service i was on talktalk before and i was only getting 8.9mbs.
The ping seems much better and i'm not getting owned as much now lol.
gother is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2013, 22:44
MartinImber
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 6,126
Doesn't make that much difference, still suffer from Brazillian lag
MartinImber is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2013, 02:58
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 3,219
I was going to ask if you still get crappy 2-3 bar connections when someone in the States hosts, but post above answers that.
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2013, 14:59
ags_rule
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 5,792
I was going to ask if you still get crappy 2-3 bar connections when someone in the States hosts, but post above answers that.
Unfortunately so, I'm on 40MB and it's virtually impossible to play Spec Ops with my friend in New Zealand.
ags_rule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2013, 15:08
The Sack
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: S6 WTID UTO FTB
Posts: 5,686
I was going to ask if you still get crappy 2-3 bar connections when someone in the States hosts, but post above answers that.
usualy if you can drop on a game where you have a 2 or 3 bar connection in MW3 or Blops 2 its brill you can clean up because the lag compensation will help you rather than hinder you.
The Sack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-01-2013, 16:26
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Here.
Posts: 3,219
usualy if you can drop on a game where you have a 2 or 3 bar connection in MW3 or Blops 2 its brill you can clean up because the lag compensation will help you rather than hinder you.
It's really Zombies I was thinking of, I play that a lot more than MP.
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:45.