Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

old pc won't boot with seagate drive?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14-01-2013, 14:56
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 895

I've got a old medion pc which I'm using with a 2TB WD HDD and it works fine however If I take that out and try and use a Seagate Barracuda 7200 500GB Drive it won't work?

Just stays on the intel inside logo doesn't even load the POST
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-01-2013, 03:12
Loobster
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 11,275
Sounds like the drive is bad. Have you tried connecting it to another computer to make sure it works?
Loobster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-01-2013, 12:37
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,284
I presume we are talking internal drives here, connected via SATA?

If it was an external USB drive then there would be a simple solution.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2013, 00:33
jayzee786
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cardiff UK
Posts: 895
Yes it's a internal drive via SATA.

Any specs needed I will post using speccy. This same drive connected with same sata cable on another desktop works as a secondary and a boot drive. So drive is okay. The sata ports are okay as they work with other drives.
jayzee786 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2013, 11:49
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,284
Even with no drives installed the BIOS screens should come up, so if this drive is stopping you even getting into the BIOS it suggests that the BIOS is stalling trying to identify the drive for some reason?
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2013, 15:21
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,602
I seem to remember there was a problem with Seagate Barracuda drives being bricked. Google brings up loads of references.

Edit: Ah, just seen your post #4.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-01-2013, 20:37
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,685
Might be worth checking to see if theres a sata 1 compatibility jumper and try enabling/disabling it
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:48.