Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

CHROME - not on Galaxy Ace 2 ?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20-01-2013, 11:59
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 540

...I've just purchase my first Android phone (after years with Nokia and Symbian OS) ...
At home I've got Chrome browser installed on 2 desktops and 2 laptops.. Why won't the Chrome app run on this Galaxy Ace 2...
(Gingerbread OS)....Is it outdated already and needs ICS or later ?
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 20-01-2013, 12:03
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,888
It sounds like your out of luck im afraid
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1606264
Its NOT Google Chrome, it clearly says at the link you provided. Google Chrome relies on APIs introduced in ICS so a GB port is not possible unless somebody were to start a completely different project of compiling for Android from Chromium source which may not even be possible
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 13:08
MGS4SnakeRulez
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16,302
Chrome on mobiles is complete crap anyway it's slow and takes up way too much space. I use Firefox on both my mobile and my phone and it syncs between the two.
MGS4SnakeRulez is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 13:34
scooby1970
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Neath
Posts: 2,314
Chrome on mobiles is complete crap anyway it's slow and takes up way too much space. I use Firefox on both my mobile and my phone and it syncs between the two.
I beg to differ. On my S3 Chrome is much faster than Firefox or thr stock browser, and fully syncs between desktop and mobile with no problems at all.

Mark
scooby1970 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 14:53
tghe-retford
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Retford
Posts: 17,592
Even with a custom ROM to Android 4.0-4.2, Chrome will not be available for download on the Galaxy Ace. Weird, because I could download it onto an EVO 3D with custom 4.0 ROM.
tghe-retford is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 16:00
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 540

Even with a custom ROM to Android 4.0-4.2, Chrome will not be available for download on the Galaxy Ace. Weird, because I could download it onto an EVO 3D with custom 4.0 ROM.

ok..thanks for comments guys. Not to worry .. The on board browser is Ok for me...Compared to my old Nokia the phone's a real wizzer and does far more than i'll need...
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 16:31
MGS4SnakeRulez
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 16,302
I beg to differ. On my S3 Chrome is much faster than Firefox or thr stock browser, and fully syncs between desktop and mobile with no problems at all.

Mark
It still takes up way to much space. I've never actually used the stock browser. I've used Chrome, Firefox and Dolphin and found Firefox to be the fasted and most reliable.
MGS4SnakeRulez is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 16:57
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,888
It still takes up way to much space. I've never actually used the stock browser. I've used Chrome, Firefox and Dolphin and found Firefox to be the fasted and most reliable.
Syncing between all my devices wins it for me every time.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 23:33
doom&gloom
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 8,792
The Jelly Bean update is due in February for this phone so not long to wait.
doom&gloom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-01-2013, 23:57
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 50,776
ok..thanks for comments guys. Not to worry .. The on board browser is Ok for me...Compared to my old Nokia the phone's a real wizzer and does far more than i'll need...
I have the same phone and yeah there's not much wrong with the default browser, but I might give Firefox or Opera Mini a go sometime. Does Opera Mini work on it? The stock one can be a bit slow but I think it depends on the phone connection. Very fast when browsing over Wifi though. The phone isn't bad for playing games though. It plays stuff like Angry Birds quite well
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 00:17
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 540

I have the same phone and yeah there's not much wrong with the default browser, but I might give Firefox or Opera Mini a go sometime. Does Opera Mini work on it? The stock one can be a bit slow but I think it depends on the phone connection. Very fast when browsing over Wifi though. The phone isn't bad for playing games though. It plays stuff like Angry Birds quite well
..as you've got a Galaxy Ace 2 can you go to your settings/default sounds and tell me what the DEFAULT media sound sounds like...
Mine plays a tune and goes on and on and keeps repeating and adjusts the level automatically.. it's twice played on its own tonight when the phone has been idle and I can't figure out why..... What sets it off ? What is MEDIA ??
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:06.