Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

MacBook Pro


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-01-2013, 13:22
secu
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nottingham - England
Posts: 6

Hello - I am thinking of buying a MacBook pro. I keep changing my mind though. One minute I think the 1,500 is a solid investment. Then I think for 1,000 I could buy another laptop.

Somebody please tell me what they think of the pros and cons of spending that extra 1,000.

Main tasks I will use it for is

Football Manager
Photoshop
MS Office (Mainly Access, Excel, PowerPoint and Word)
Music Production

I do also have an Ipad and Iphone.
secu is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-01-2013, 13:31
paulj48
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,033
Dont forget if you spend 1500 on the Macbook Pro you'll need another 600+ to spend on a copy of Photoshop.
paulj48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 13:37
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,570
Do you already have Mac OS compatible versions of those programs? I believe Football Manager has both on the same disk but I don't think Office does. Not sure about the others.

If you don't have Mac compatible versions then that is extra you will need to spend on top of the price of the Macbook.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 13:45
paulj48
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,033
Also Access is not available in Office for Mac, you'd have to run the Windows version via Bootcamp or Parallels on OSX
paulj48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 15:53
secu
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nottingham - England
Posts: 6
Software is not an issue in terms of being a show stopper. Didn't know that about Access. Is it difficult to configure a dual boot of Windows and Mac OS?
secu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 15:57
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Software is not an issue in terms of being a show stopper. Didn't know that about Access. Is it difficult to configure a dual boot of Windows and Mac OS?
Could you not use LibreOffice Base instead of Access?

http://www.libreoffice.org/download/?nodetect
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 15:58
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,793
Is it difficult to configure a dual boot of Windows and Mac OS?
There are numerous avenues for making this relatively straightforward.

Just check the T&Cs of any software you're using (if going the legal route...) as some companies limit, or don't support at all, software loaded on a Win partition on a Mac.

Personally, for those uses, I'd stick with a PC.
If you were doing much more video or graphic work then it'd be a close one. Obviously, it's always down to user preference.
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 16:25
Recurring
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 282
I think the only one of those things that warrants the Macbook is music production for Logic, but unless you're serious about it you might want to stick with a laptop and use another Windows compatible DAW and save yourself the difference. Otherwise I'd go for the Macbook, definately a solid investment.
Recurring is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 16:31
MassiveDynamics
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 473
Software is not an issue in terms of being a show stopper. Didn't know that about Access. Is it difficult to configure a dual boot of Windows and Mac OS?
Boot camp is very easy - but it only supports Windows 7.

It will partition the HD, download the drivers and puts them on a USB stick (or CD/DVD if you have a drive).

I had installed an SSD in my MacBook Pro last summer but only did a boot camp install yesterday (need direct access to the hardware and I don't have a Windows laptop nowadays).
MassiveDynamics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 16:34
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 11,375
Boot camp is very easy - but it only supports Windows 7.
no, you can run Windows XP as well, and no doubt Vista if you really wanted to.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 16:36
paulj48
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,033
Could you not use LibreOffice Base instead of Access?
Filemaker Pro is a database program for the Mac, gets very good reviews too.
paulj48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 16:37
paulj48
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,033
no, you can run Windows XP as well, and no doubt Vista if you really wanted to.
Not with the latest version of Bootcamp that comes with Mountain Lion.
paulj48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 16:45
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 11,375
Not with the latest version of Bootcamp that comes with Mountain Lion.
still possible if you want to.
plenty of tutorials that will guide you thru the process.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 16:52
MassiveDynamics
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: England
Posts: 473
You could use XP unofficially but you would be unsupported by Apple and in early 2014 unsupported by Microsoft as well.

Only the bottom of the range MBP has 4Gb of ram, all the rest have 8Gb so XP would kind of wasted on the hardware - is the dual GPU switching set up even supported by XP?
MassiveDynamics is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 16:56
cnbcwatcher
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: At college, in L.A.'s office
Posts: 51,399
Tricky one OP but it's up to you really. If you feel you'd be better off buying the Mac then go for it. Who am I to argue? Are you planning on buying the normal MBP or the Retina one?
cnbcwatcher is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:11
paulj48
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,033
still possible if you want to.
plenty of tutorials that will guide you thru the process.
Seen the tutorials, lots of people saying it doesnt work on 2012 MBP i5 and i7's they get the blue screen of death, it can be done via Parallels though.

But come on your not going to spent 1500 on a Mac and then put on an 11 year old operating system.
paulj48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:21
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 11,375
Seen the tutorials, lots of people saying it doesnt work on 2012 MBP i5 and i7's they get the blue screen of death, it can be done via Parallels though.

But come on your not going to spent 1500 on a Mac and then put on an 11 year old operating system.
funnily enough, i have XP but only in Vmware.
i does what i need if i ever need to drop into windows (which is very rare).

i'd say though that if windows is important then you're not gonna be buying a mac anyway (or shouldn't be).
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:25
paulj48
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1,033
Funnily enough I also have XP running on Parallels on a 2011 MBP but only to run one program thats called Sporttracks that uses .net code (its a running/excercise logbook)

I choose to use XP as I still have a valid license for it
paulj48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:31
soulboy77
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Herts
Posts: 14,670
.. One minute I think the 1,500 is a solid investment. Then I think for 1,000 I could buy another laptop....
I don't think 'investment' is the right word here! For 500 - 750 you can buy a pretty decent Windows laptop that will have enough oomph to do all that you require. If you go for an MacBook Pro you are deciding to pay a big premium for the Apple name and design.

So be in no doubt, as you don't need it to run certain specialist apps, the real reason to go for a MacBook Pro is purely to have the qudos of owning one.
soulboy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:38
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,078
I don't think 'investment' is the right word here! For 500 - 750 you can buy a pretty decent Windows laptop that will have enough oomph to do all that you require. If you go for an MacBook Pro you are deciding to pay a big premium for the Apple name and design.

So be in no doubt, as you don't need it to run certain specialist apps, the real reason to go for a MacBook Pro is purely to have the qudos of owning one.
Technically, you expect an 'investment' to increase in value; a computer of any description will depreciate heavily.

Dell do some very nice Ultrabooks which are almost as desirable as a MBP for a lot less money. There were some nice ones on Dell Outlet last week.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:38
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 11,375
I don't think 'investment' is the right word here! For 500 - 750 you can buy a pretty decent Windows laptop that will have enough oomph to do all that you require. If you go for an MacBook Pro you are deciding to pay a big premium for the Apple name and design.

So be in no doubt, as you don't need it to run certain specialist apps, the real reason to go for a MacBook Pro is purely to have the qudos of owning one.
if you want to run logic then you then a mac of some sort.
for music production it's pretty much close to industry standard.
the OP did mention music production in the origina post.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:38
mred2000
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 6,793
For 500 - 750 you can buy a pretty decent Windows laptop that will have enough oomph to do all that you require.
You could probably knock the starting price down to 350-400...

...the OP did mention music production in the original post.
But not which package. I've played about with a few packages on both platforms in the past.
mred2000 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:39
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 7,078
if you want to run logic then you then a mac of some sort.
for music production it's pretty much close to industry standard.
the OP did mention music production in the origina post.
What about Pro Tools? That runs on PC and Mac.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:42
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 11,375
What about Pro Tools? That runs on PC and Mac.
pro tools, yeah
but walk into any studio or look on stage and it'll be macs and logic you'll see 9 times out of 10.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 17:59
soulboy77
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Herts
Posts: 14,670
if you want to run logic then you then a mac of some sort.
for music production it's pretty much close to industry standard.
the OP did mention music production in the origina post.
That's my point. The OP can justify the cost in terms of having the right tools for the jobs. Only he knows if he just wants to dabble in music production or is going to do it seriously and needs to run high end s/w.
soulboy77 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:31.