Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

O2....anybody lost signal just now?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 21-01-2013, 20:30
sarahj1986
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Warwickshire
Posts: 5,343

I'm on my wifi....


No service on signal so can't get texts/calls. It's been dodgy all weekend. Anybody got issues..?!
sarahj1986 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 21-01-2013, 21:00
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,679
Nothing on the status page. Must be either your phone or a local mast area. Try restarting your phone.
Thine Wonk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-01-2013, 22:40
Grouty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Nth East
Posts: 13,828
Im having probs on Vodafone, everytime i send a text, it comes up error, so i retry, then it says message sent, but im not getting any replies, so putting it down to the weather, as its pretty bad here in the Nth East.
Grouty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 06:42
ney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scotland, Dunfermline Area
Posts: 9,220
That happened to be one morning last week, I lost 02 signal for a good 10mins while at work. Yet a guy at work also on 02 had 3 bars out of 4. Work usally had 4 bars out of 4 for signal.

Darrenh
ney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 13:35
Creamtea
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 6,480
With o2 I'm CONSTANTLY losing signal.
Creamtea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 15:19
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,569
I and several others are absolutely convinced that the signal in our area has not been as good since that major outage in the middle of last year.

However, no scientific evidence to back up such a theory, but who knows. O2 would never admit to such a thing.

Last edited by Magic Cottage : 22-01-2013 at 15:19. Reason: Typo
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 15:25
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,951
Like EE they are in Urban areas upgrading a lot of sites in the next few months. Reduced power or complete switch offs will occur. Usually on the status page though unless for a short period ie 10 mins or so. However taking one mast out generally takes an hour to calm down as all the phones switchback and the nearby sites see a reduction in traffic.
The Lord Lucan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 15:52
dontpannic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Orpington, Kent
Posts: 2,344
I and several others are absolutely convinced that the signal in our area has not been as good since that major outage in the middle of last year.

However, no scientific evidence to back up such a theory, but who knows. O2 would never admit to such a thing.
You're just trying to make a link between the two when in all likelihood there is no link at all.

The outage last year was caused by a network registration server going down. Whenever a phone would try to connect to the network it would normally communicate with this server and the server would confirm if the handset was allowed on the network. It would have nothing to do with signal strength or quality, and even if the server were still dodgy it would be thousands more than just you and several others. It would be all or nothing, not a degraded signal.

O2 have been just as good as always for me. Very rarely lose signal, and when I do it is in various parts of the country where I wouldn't expect a fantastic signal anyway.
dontpannic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 16:03
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,951
Yeah absolutely no link between coverage or lack of due to last years outage.
The Lord Lucan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 17:16
ney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scotland, Dunfermline Area
Posts: 9,220
I may not have the best of mobiles an HTC Desire S but im starting to think 02 are getting worse. My signals been coming and going at times this afternoon while I was at work. Like it did one morning last week. Yet the 02 service status page says all is ok in my area.
My mobile seems to be ok again now since I got home at 1 or 2 bars out of the 4 and text seems fine. I used to think 02 was a fine network but im slowly starting to think they are getting worse.

Darren
ney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 18:05
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,569
You're just trying to make a link between the two when in all likelihood there is no link at all.

The outage last year was caused by a network registration server going down. Whenever a phone would try to connect to the network it would normally communicate with this server and the server would confirm if the handset was allowed on the network. It would have nothing to do with signal strength or quality, and even if the server were still dodgy it would be thousands more than just you and several others. It would be all or nothing, not a degraded signal.

O2 have been just as good as always for me. Very rarely lose signal, and when I do it is in various parts of the country where I wouldn't expect a fantastic signal anyway.
I'm obviously not as well versed as you on the technicalities of the workings of the mobile network and therefore have to bow to your superior knowledge in these matters.

Slap my wrist for such conspiratorial suggestions!
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 18:13
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,951
As a network gets busier (more people are buying/using smartphones/tablets) the area that a 3G mast shrinks as it tries to manage the traffic on it. This you notice as reduced coverage especially at peak time. Depends if O2 have been investing in new masts or not.
The Lord Lucan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 20:16
ney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scotland, Dunfermline Area
Posts: 9,220
My sister just popped in and said she was having 02 signal problems as well as this afternoon and she's got an IPhone.

Darren
ney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 21:22
Fran Blakes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In bed watching TV
Posts: 818
Pop your postcode address into their website:
http://status.o2.co.uk/
Fran Blakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-01-2013, 21:27
ney
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Scotland, Dunfermline Area
Posts: 9,220
Pop your postcode address into their website:
http://status.o2.co.uk/
All it says is we maybe carrying out some maintenance on our phone masts in this area on 23th and 24th January. Nothing about any 02 prolems this afternoon.

Darren
ney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2013, 13:30
Fran Blakes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: In bed watching TV
Posts: 818
All it says is we maybe carrying out some maintenance on our phone masts in this area on 23th and 24th January. Nothing about any 02 prolems this afternoon.

Darren
The website only shows ongoing or upcoming events. Doesn't show previous/resolved issues.

Last Friday when we first had snow O2 were having problems, noticed some people were tweeting about it.
Fran Blakes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2013, 13:38
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,701
That status page is quite good. EE need one of those.
Only problem is every postcode I put in around here said no 3G, no 3G and no 3G. I had to put in a code from my local Town to get a result. O2 really need to get thier backsides in gear. Apparenlty they are though, like headless chickens as one person put it.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:10.