Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Changing Hard Drives


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 22-01-2013, 17:44
-Batman-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,983

I know if you take the hard drive out of the PS3 and put a new one in that it will wipe it.

But whats happens if you stick a new 1TB drive in and use it but at a later date put the original drive back in would it wipe that one
-Batman- is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 22-01-2013, 17:51
NorfolkBoy1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Norwich
Posts: 4,056
I think it would wipe it, not 100% sure though.

My guess would be the internal memory (RAM) would need to identify the drive which it's paired, so changing back to the old drive would (maybe) cause a problem there.

I could be wrong though.
NorfolkBoy1 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2013, 18:04
homer2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: John Lewis
Posts: 3,434
Soon as u replace the original hdd with another and start using the new hdd which will get formatted automatically to the ps3 then your old hdd cant just be put in tho ps3 to use. The ps3 will format the hdd again.

Its a security measure to stop images of hdd been passed around with pre loaded games.
homer2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2013, 11:49
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,271
Soon as u replace the original hdd with another and start using the new hdd which will get formatted automatically to the ps3 then your old hdd cant just be put in tho ps3 to use. The ps3 will format the hdd again.

Its a security measure to stop images of hdd been passed around with pre loaded games.
Going by the thread here http://www.giantbomb.com/playstation...elp/35-551657/ that guy put his old HDD back in with no issues.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 19:53
homer2012
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: John Lewis
Posts: 3,434
Going by the thread here http://www.giantbomb.com/playstation...elp/35-551657/ that guy put his old HDD back in with no issues.
U can do it with Custom Firmware but not Offical Firmware.

The bloke was either telling porkies or was on CFW and was told how to do it.
homer2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 14:12.