Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

iPad to a TV via HMTI cable


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 24-01-2013, 17:48
Willi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 135

I've just bought an adaptor for an iPad and a cable for HMTI. See http://www.amazon.co.uk/Ex-Pro%C2%AE...8449964&sr=8-1

However, when I plug this into the iPad and connect to a Sharp LC-22LE22E, I get the message "No removable device detected".

I was hoping to access BBC iPlayer and the other apps which work fine on the iPad and in this way enable the catch-up apps to play through the TV.

Is this not possible?

W
Willi is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 24-01-2013, 18:18
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,943
It is possible, as long as you have the correct adaptor and cable. The link you have provided doesn't work for me, so it's hard to say what the problem might be right now.

Where we you seeing the error message? On the iPad screen or the TV screen?

I use an official Apple AV adaptor, and a standard HDMI cable.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Apple-Digita...9051404&sr=8-2
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2013, 18:40
Roush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 2,207
I use an official Apple AV adaptor, and a standard HDMI cable.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Apple-Digita...9051404&sr=8-2
That's not the genuine Apple adaptor. It's a cheap knock-off.
Roush is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2013, 18:42
stud u like
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Sunny Side Of The Street
Posts: 37,937
That's not the genuine Apple adaptor. It's a cheap knock-off.
Looks expensive to me. It is almost 18 pounds.

I can buy two pairs of trousers for that money.
stud u like is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2013, 19:07
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,943
That's not the genuine Apple adaptor. It's a cheap knock-off.
Quite possibly, although it does say "by Apple" in the description. I got mine from the Apple Store (and paid a lot more than that)

As the OP's link didn't work, I just wanted to show them a comparable product, so they could let us know if that's the kind of thing he ordered, rather than make a buying recommendation.

Apologies for any confusion.
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2013, 22:52
Willi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 135

Thanks for the replies.
The adaptor came from Amazon:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Apple-Digita...9051404&sr=8-2
It cost about 15 and it is marked CEFC - that's all.
At one end there's an i-Pad plug and this fits into the i-Pad2 which I have; the other end of this short cable has the large holder with a single socket (female) for the HMTI cable which I bought along with the adaptor.
The message is coming up on the screen of the Sharp TV and the menu option to get there is 'Media Browser'.
As I say, the iPlayer works fine on the iPad, as do the various other catch-up apps. It's just that I'd like to play them through the Sharp TV.
Thanks in advance.
W
Willi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2013, 23:15
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,226
What is an HTMI cable? I have heard of HDMI which is what this adapter converts to.

Also why are you going into the Media Browser on the TV? That is not how it works. This adapter allows a TV to act as an external display device for the iPad. So you play stuff on the iPad and it is sent to the TV for display. Think of it as though the iPad was a DVD or Blu-Ray player or Sky box or whatever. You just select whatever HDMI input you have the iPad plugged into on the TV and start whatever it is you want to watch playing on the iPad and then hope it comes out on the telly. Which is never a given with the iPad!

The Media Browser on the TV is used to play files from USB drives or maybe across the network from other sources. It would be a pretty exceptional TV that could locate anything on an iPad
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 24-01-2013, 23:16
fastest finger
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Heart of England.
Posts: 5,943
Thanks for the replies.
The adaptor came from Amazon:
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Apple-Digita...9051404&sr=8-2
It cost about 15 and it is marked CEFC - that's all.
At one end there's an i-Pad plug and this fits into the i-Pad2 which I have; the other end of this short cable has the large holder with a single socket (female) for the HMTI cable which I bought along with the adaptor.
The message is coming up on the screen of the Sharp TV and the menu option to get there is 'Media Browser'.
As I say, the iPlayer works fine on the iPad, as do the various other catch-up apps. It's just that I'd like to play them through the Sharp TV.
Thanks in advance.
W
If i understand you correctly, Instead of selecting "media browser" you need to select the HDMI input.

There should be a button on your remote labelled "Input" or "Source" or maybe a picture of a square with an arrow going into it.
fastest finger is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 09:51
Willi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 135
Yes, there's a button on the remote marked 'source' and this did the trick.
VMT for your help!
W
Willi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 09:52
Willi
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 135
One thing which I did not mention: 4oD does not permit replay via a TV. I suppose this is some kind of copyright restriction and wonder if it's a permanent ban.
W
Willi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2013, 23:31
Roush
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Hertfordshire
Posts: 2,207
One thing which I did not mention: 4oD does not permit replay via a TV. I suppose this is some kind of copyright restriction and wonder if it's a permanent ban.
W
Yeah, I did mention that on your other thread.

It's because they don't have rebroadcast rights for mobile devices.
Roush is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:57.