Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Routers


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27-01-2013, 12:45
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,344

I've never had a router before so not sure how they work.

Can you use a router without being connected to the internet to connect 2 or more computers and wifi enabled devices in the house?

For instance can I stream a video from my laptop to my TV with just the router? (no internet connection)
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 27-01-2013, 12:54
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
I've never had a router before so not sure how they work.

Can you use a router without being connected to the internet to connect 2 or more computers and wifi enabled devices in the house?
Yes you can

For instance can I stream a video from my laptop to my TV with just the router? (no internet connection)
It might be possible depending on the TV and laptops software, an easier way is to connect the laptop to the TV via HDMI or DVI.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 12:57
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,178
http://www.computerhope.com/jargon/r/router.htm

If all you want to do is play stuff from youre laptop - tv.
Then depending on youre make of TV?
Make of laptop?
You could just plug the laptop into youre tv with a cable.

Also how do you connect to the internet at the moment?
who is youre provider, sky virgin bt etc?
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 13:06
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,344
http://www.computerhope.com/jargon/r/router.htm

If all you want to do is play stuff from youre laptop - tv.
Then depending on youre make of TV?
Make of laptop?
You could just plug the laptop into youre tv with a cable.

Also how do you connect to the internet at the moment?
who is youre provider, sky virgin bt etc?
Laptop is a Medion E6212

TV is a Samsung UE40D6530

At the moment I am using a Three Mifi Device.

My TV is a bit too far away from where my laptop is to connect via HDMI. I can do it, but I can play files via USB slot on the TV better.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 13:20
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
My TV is a bit too far away from where my laptop is to connect via HDMI. I can do it, but I can play files via USB slot on the TV better.
The whole purpose of a laptop is that it is portable, move it nearer the TV when you want to watch on the bigger screen
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 13:35
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,852
TV is a Samsung UE40D6530
I think that's a smart TV so you should have no problem. Just have to connect your TV to your router. Some TV models need an optional WiFi adaptor or you can connect a cable to your router. Also allows you to access internet content such as BBC iPlayer etc. direct from your TV.

In addition I believe Samsung provides software which allows you to stream content from your laptop.

http://www.samsung.com/uk/consumer/t...UE40D6530WKXXU
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 13:39
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,344
The whole purpose of a laptop is that it is portable, move it nearer the TV when you want to watch on the bigger screen
Yes the whole point is that it is portable near you, not away from you.

Why would I want my laptop over near the TV when the whole point of using Wifi is to have the laptop near me?

koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 14:11
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Yes the whole point is that it is portable near you, not away from you.

Why would I want my laptop over near the TV when the whole point of using Wifi is to have the laptop near me?

Why do you need it near you when watching a movie
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 14:15
alan1302
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: West Yorks
Posts: 5,739
Why do you need it near you when watching a movie
Some people like to use their laptops these days whilst watching movies
alan1302 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 14:38
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,344
Why do you need it near you when watching a movie
So that I can fast forward, control the volume etc.

Or surf the net while I watch something.

Or look at the internet on the tv via the laptop.

The so called Smart TV's internet is slow and bulky.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2013, 15:39
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
So that I can fast forward, control the volume etc.

Or surf the net while I watch something.

Or look at the internet on the tv via the laptop.

The so called Smart TV's internet is slow and bulky.
You can get quite long HDMI cables or even wireless HDMI connections (quite expensive)! you can also get media center remote's that allow FF, RW, Volume control etc... that work on various media apps ie XBMC.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 21:44
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,344
Could someone point me to a good web site that explains how to set up a router for the first time?

I'm wondering how many user names and passwords there are?

There is the one for the internet provider, but there is also the WPA password as well?
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 21:50
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,852
Could someone point me to a good web site that explains how to set up a router for the first time?

I'm wondering how many user names and passwords there are?

There is the one for the internet provider, but there is also the WPA password as well?
Isn't there a sticker on it, or isn't the default password in the manual?

There will also be an IP address, username and admin password which allows you to change the router settings.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 21:52
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,612
Could someone point me to a good web site that explains how to set up a router for the first time?

I'm wondering how many user names and passwords there are?

There is the one for the internet provider, but there is also the WPA password as well?
Which router make/model?
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 21:55
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,344
Which router make/model?
TP-Link TD-W8968
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 21:57
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,344
Isn't there a sticker on it, or isn't the default password in the manual?

There will also be an IP address, username and admin password which allows you to change the router settings.
Yes I've got the addy for the router, it isn't connect at the moment as my BB isn't due for activation till next week.

I take it I enter the Internet Providers username and addy once I've entered the settings menu?
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 22:03
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,852
The local address of that router is http://192.168.1.1 Username=admin Password=admin

The quick setup manual can be found at http://www.tp-link.com/Resources/doc...7106503808.pdf
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:16.