Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Monitor for desktop pc


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-01-2013, 00:52
Diane
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 595

At the moment I have a 19" monitor with the screen resolution set to 1280 x 900 which is perfect.

I want to get a 22 " monitor and it says in the product info that the screen resolution is 1920 x 1080

My screen resolution settings only go up to 1600 x 900 so does that mean I cant have a bigger screen.

Thanks for any help?
Diane is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-01-2013, 01:51
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,460
1920x1080 is the native resolution of the 22inch monitor, but unless it's some really obscure make/model, you should
be perfectly free to use the lower 1600x900 resolution you're used to. Although some might recommend you use the
full HD native resolution the monitor was designed to be used with. 1920x1080 is officially classed as "full HD".
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 01:54
evil c
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Wirral Peninsula
Posts: 2,646
1920 x 1080 is Full HD which presumably is the monitor's max resolution. Just set the monitor to a lower resolution although Windows should do it automatically when you install it. You don't say which operating system you have but assuming it's W7, have a look at this: http://windows.microsoft.com/en-GB/w...n-your-monitor


Edit: Just like buses, no answers then 2 come along at the same time!
evil c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 05:05
Helmut10
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 336
No it does not. A modern Graphics Card in a PC will certainly do 1920 x 1080 usually at 60 Hz for an LCD monitor. It would have to be a very old PC Graphics Card not to do that resolution at all.

A Plug and Play monitor, the modern ones anyway, will tell the Graphic Card the resolutions they are happy with. Older monitors may require an *.INF file that essentially does the same thing.

Probably all you have to do is plug it in (Plug and Pray...) and go to the Display Properties in the Control Panel and check, if not then set it to 1920 x 1080 60 Hz. It should now be listed in there.

There is actually no point in using the lower resolution, the new monitor is larger for the extra pixels.

I'm sure you will like the extra room it will give you.

You can use the monitor at some lower resolution you used before but it won't be as crisp as the native resolution.
Helmut10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 08:28
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,227
Very little difference in price between 22" and 24", buy a 24".
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 08:45
Daedroth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2,942
Your current monitor is what is limiting your resolution to 1280 x 900. The computer should be able to do better than that. If you replace the monitor with a new 22", then that will allow 1920 x 1080, as both the PC and the monitor will support it.
Daedroth is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 12:07
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,294
Yes, as others have said, don't have any worries about buying a 1920x1080 monitor.

When you connect it to the computer it should recognize the resolution of the monitor and offer that to you in the settings.
In fact it will probably just set the resolution correctly without you having to do anything, depending on the operating system.

You should always run LCD/LED monitors at their native resolution. The only exception to this would be if you were playing a video game that only worked properly at a lower resolution. You would then sacrifice some sharpness of detail.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 17:20
Diane
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 595
Thanks for all your help and advice, much appreciated.

My operating system is XP
Diane is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:17.