Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

This forum doesn't like going backwards.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 30-01-2013, 18:42
Jimmy_McNulty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, M.D
Posts: 10,537

The back button doesn't work for me.I'm using Chrome.

When I click back it just refreshes instead....
Jimmy_McNulty is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 30-01-2013, 18:49
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
The back button doesn't work for me.I'm using Chrome.

When I click back it just refreshes instead....
I use the back button all the time if Firefox as I have one of my mouse thumb buttons allocated to this task, I have no problems.

I have just tried chrome 24 and this is also fine.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 18:57
Jimmy_McNulty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, M.D
Posts: 10,537
It's fine on other sites, it's just this forum it doesn't work for me.
Jimmy_McNulty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 18:59
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
It's fine on other sites, it's just this forum it doesn't work for me.
Might be because I'm using ABP to remove the ads, they could be affecting the back button
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 19:04
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,450
Might be because I'm using APB to remove the ads, they could be affecting the back button
Or it might be ABP ?
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 19:31
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,679
Simple, don't block ads unless you have to and support the site and the way it's funded.
Thine Wonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 19:32
Jimmy_McNulty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, M.D
Posts: 10,537
I did not know about that. Strange, i don't have this problem on my desktop on DS and i'm still using Chrome with ABP.
Jimmy_McNulty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 19:38
Jimmy_McNulty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Baltimore, M.D
Posts: 10,537
Simple, don't block ads unless you have to and support the site and the way it's funded.
Behave.
Jimmy_McNulty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 19:41
Kolin Klingon
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 4,198
Install a decent browser like Internet Exploer 9.

3, 2, 1.............................

Kolin Klingon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 19:59
Thine Wonk
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 10,679
Fair point I made that comment before I saw yet again more intrusive ads causing an issue for forum users.

My silly suggestion.
Thine Wonk is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 20:05
ironjade
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: London
Posts: 8,344
Simple, don't block ads unless you have to and support the site and the way it's funded.
Not until they pry ABP from my cold, dead hands.
ironjade is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 23:39
plugs13amp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 227
I've had the same problem since early November last year (2012). Anything from one, to a raft of references to the same page appear on the "back" button. If you click the "back" button then another tranche of references get added. This is with Chrome browser (recently v24.0.1312.56m, and as of the last few minutes, 57m, and its still a problem) on a laptop running Vista (all service packs and updates) and AdBlock Plus.

It's not every page and its not every site, the problem is mostly with DS, but I have seen it on other sites as well, most notably Yahoo News. I can't see any common denominator.

After much searching of the internet I came across only two references to it, one on this forum entitled; DS Homepage Problem, and this links to a further reference on the AdBlock Forum

For me, when I removed AdBlock Plus the problem seemed to dissappear. But I didn't do extensive testing as I quickly learned to use the Forum Jump button at the bottom of a thread, and re-installed AdBlock Plus. It is a bit more of a pain on Yahoo News.

Neither thread has been updated since early November, and neither offers any real explanation or solution.

I see the link provided by LION8TIGER does offer a possible solution, I hadn't seen that thread before

Last edited by plugs13amp : 30-01-2013 at 23:49. Reason: possible fix info
plugs13amp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 23:41
eugenespeed
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: HEED ARMY!!!!!
Posts: 29,686
I have the same problem. I thought it was just my computer.
eugenespeed is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 30-01-2013, 23:59
plugs13amp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 227
From very very brief testing, just a few minutes, switching to AdBlock, instead of AdBlock Plus as proposed in the thread linked in LION8TIGER's post, does seem to have resolved the problem.

I'll report back in a day or two, fingers crossed.....
plugs13amp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 14:34
radioanorak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Faliraki,Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 1,727
I use this browser
www.palemoon.org
No problems with the back button on DS
The browser starts fast & loads pages very quickly
It does not update very often unlike some other browsers
radioanorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 15:41
Ellie666
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Spooner Drive, Quahog
Posts: 1,732
i find so many ads on the site these days that it repeatdly crashes, especially in ie.

chrome seems to work ok and certainly for "advanced replies" which i can't do in ie 8,9 or 10
Ellie666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-01-2013, 18:47
morski
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 104
I get this on SRware Iron if I use the adblock.ini file to block ads. Seems to be fine if I use the Adblock extension though on Chrome.
morski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 12:51
radioanorak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Faliraki,Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 1,727
Ads !!! What ads
Adblock Plus works for me ,here on DS & elsewhere
radioanorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 13:39
dadioflex
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 1,540
Only time I've heard of this happening before was when a friend of mine had a key-logger installed on her laptop by her ex-boyfriend. Might be something to look into. A lot of them don't register on anti-virus programs because they're custom-made but you can look for odd processes running in task manager.
dadioflex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 14:19
artnada
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 8,946
Fine in Firefox not in Chrome. I suspect this is a Chrome/Adblock Plus issue.
artnada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2013, 14:58
plugs13amp
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 227
Well no problems to report so far after switching to AdBlock, and it appears to work just as effectively as ABP.

Just to be clear, there is AdBlock without the Plus, written by Michael Gundlach, and there is AdBlock Plus written by Vladimir Palant.

It is the latter, AdBlock Plus, that some users report causes multiple references to the same page to appear on the "back" button in Chrome and some of its derivatives when clicking on some pages of some sites on some computers (both Windows and Linux). No-one seems to have nailed it down to any more than that other than a suggestion that the number of references that get dumped onto the "back" button is related to the number of ads on the page.


Now if I could fix AdBlock Plus on Chrome on my android tablet, where it prevents some DS pages being displayed at all (if I uninstall it they display normally).... thinks.... I wonder if they're the same pages that cause the "back" button problem on the Windows box....
plugs13amp is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 21:09.