Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Windows Message: 'stack overflow at line0' on Ebay


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2013, 13:33
johnwh
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 268

I keep getting a window pop up on Ebay pages ' stack overflow at line 0'. anyone know what it is and how do I stop it? Doesn't appear on any othe web pages.
johnwh is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-02-2013, 18:12
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,700
try a different browser or disable any addons would be my first try
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 18:20
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,787
I am getting this as well. Using IE8. I haven't tried another browser yet.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:52
Joddle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Valencia - Spain
Posts: 390

As the title suggests, I have very suddenly been experiencing stack overflow errors when I browse on ebay. This only happens on ebay and on no other websites.

I don't think this is a problem with me as the errors started coming on last Saturday - and on all 6 of the PCs in the house.

The common factor is that all PCs run XP pro SP3 and Internet Explorer 9 - however I note that other people have also reported a similar thing starting around the same time as it did for me.

Ebay suggested disabling scripts and add-ons, all which I have tried but the errors persist on "line 0 line 78 and line 86".

I have even stripped down a PC and completely reinstalled the OS on a newly formatted disk and at first with the native IE7 all worked fine but when it updated to IE 8 the problems started all over again.

I have also tried other browsers Firefox, Chorme and Opera and they are trouble free - its only IE8 where there is an issue.

As the problems only started last week, and on all my machines at the same time, and other people have reported a similar thing, I can only assume something at Ebay has changed to cause the errors but they seem not to want to consider that.
Joddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 11:59
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,162
Already a thread on this:
http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1794085
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 13:41
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,303
Ebay have made some changes and really screwed things up.

I use Opera as my browser, and if I now view an ebay item page, most of the links from that page don't work. E.g the link at the top of the page to "my ebay" etc.

One would hope they are aware of the issues and will resolve them (revert back to the old version until they have fixed the bugs in the new one)
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 13:45
Joddle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Valencia - Spain
Posts: 390
try a different browser or disable any addons would be my first try
Tried disabling addons - no difference - other browsers all work fine but my systems are all set up to use IE8 so I don't really want to spend time changing that - especially as it worked fine up until this last weekend!!! Ebay seem very reluctant to acknowledge they have a problem.....

Perhaps everyone who experiences the issue should write to the customer help section at ebay

PS noted a mistake in earlier thread - "IE9" should read "IE8"
Joddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 19:24
Joddle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Valencia - Spain
Posts: 390
Just found something interesting. If I use the Spanish ebay system (ebay.es), I don't get any problems at all - even if I view the same items which cause problems when I have been browsing via the UK ebay site (ebay.co.uk)!

To see if that was true I tried using the USA site (ebay.com) as well and the same thing - no problems at all - even when browsing UK items.

I think this is pretty conclusive that there is indeed an issue with the UK site - I have informed Ebay so lets see if they respond.
Joddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 09:50
Joddle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Valencia - Spain
Posts: 390
Hmm - this morning the problem seems to have vanished - on all of my machines!! No response from Ebay support yet though. Seems they must have realised that they did have an issue after all and have fixed it - can't think of an other explanation. Shame they can't simply respond and say yes we were at fault but its OK now, or make an anouncement to that effect.
Joddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:25
Maxatoria
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 4,700
Probably was a typo/small error in a script somewhere causing the error so it and probably a dozen other balls ups got fixed at the same time
Maxatoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:41
IvanIV
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 20,414
Stack overflow is an error that happens with recursive functions (that call themselves) and the condition when to stop (that is essential) was wrong. This results in a stack overflow, because each call of the function takes a chunk of the stack and when it runs out the function is aborted. So dodgy script on ebay is my guess.
IvanIV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 13:41
Zenith
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East London
Posts: 2,787
I am still getting this error today.
Zenith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 13:58
Geowitch
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: East Anglia
Posts: 280
I have spent two frustrating hours this morning trying to list two items. I had major problems uploading images and re-attempt them over and over again until they uploaded. I have never had problems like this with Ebay before.
Geowitch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2013, 16:52
Stig
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Sandy Heath, Beds, UK
Posts: 6,162
Even though I'm an IE user most of the time, I sometimes have to use Chrome when I'm having problems with sites.
Stig is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:55.