Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

How can I cut and paste on a tablet?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2013, 15:28
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,816

It's a fairly simple ask, but I don't know how to do it.

For example, if I want to paste a link into a post on my PC, I highlight the link on a tab on my browser, Ctrl/C to copy it to the clipboard, then Ctrl/V into the post.

How can I do this on a tablet (I'm talking Android here, of course)?

Also editing stuff is an absolute pain with those green arrows that sometimes split into two to highlight a range, but more often than not just appear as a single arrow.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-02-2013, 16:08
tosha43
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 323
on my note i keep my finger pressed on bit i need then 2 blue bars appear strecth to what i need then there is options at the top of page hope this helps.
tosha43 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 16:31
John259
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Posts: 13,226
How can I do this on a tablet (I'm talking Android here, of course)?
The Google Nexus 7 manual says you select the text you want to manipulate, then press the Cut, Copy or Paste button on the virtual keyboard.

I haven't tried this so I don't know how convenient it is. Nor do I know if other tablets and/or other versions of Android differ.
John259 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 17:51
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,832
Which tablet?

On my nexus and S3 you hold your finger on text then drag the blue bits about and an option appears at the top of the screen to cut/copy.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 15:17
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,816
Nexus 7 and Motorola Xoom. Thanks for the suggestions - I will try those out. Though it's still not clear to me how you copy from one application and paste into another. Guess I will need to experiment.
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 18:11
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,832
To paste, you just hold your finger down again and a paste option appears at the top.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 09:28
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,816
OK - this is just an experiment:

http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showt...php?p=64052057

Yay! Thanks!
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:23.