Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Plusnet's "Half Price Sale"


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-02-2013, 23:48
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,536

According to their current TV ad, "All broadband's half off!", but looking at the packages on offer, that only seems to
apply to the packages that are sold with line rental, but not the broadband only packages. So, the rather jovial chap
in the ad says it's all half price, but their website says it isn't all half price. That to me, is misleading advertising.

Or ... have I missed something?
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 02-02-2013, 23:57
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,655
According to their current TV ad, "All broadband's half off!", but looking at the packages on offer, that only seems to
apply to the packages that are sold with line rental, but not the broadband only packages. So, the rather jovial chap
in the ad says it's all half price, but their website says it isn't all half price. That to me, is misleading advertising.

Or ... have I missed something?
Yes I applied for the BB only but was moved to BB + Phone (which includes phone line) as that was the half off price not the BB only one. I needed a new phone line though.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2013, 23:58
Scraggy Taters
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 2,809
Get your best telephone voice ready & give em a ring (0800 4320200) for free & enquire.

Being an existing customer, I did and clinched a 5.99 a month 60GB deal for a year !
No harm in asking.
Scraggy Taters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 14:11
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
Yes I applied for the BB only but was moved to BB + Phone (which includes phone line) as that was the half off price not the BB only one. I needed a new phone line though.
You was moved or did you ask to be moved?
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 17:09
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,655
You was moved or did you ask to be moved?
I thought I was applying for the Unlimited BB only, which would have been 9 a month.

But they put me in the Unlimited BB + Phone package which was 5 (first year) + 15 line rental, so 20 a month (first year) 25 (after that).

And I had to pay 75 to have a new line put in.

So definitely not the 9 I originally thought.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 21:26
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
I thought I was applying for the Unlimited BB only, which would have been 9 a month.

But they put me in the Unlimited BB + Phone package which was 5 (first year) + 15 line rental, so 20 a month (first year) 25 (after that).

And I had to pay 75 to have a new line put in.

So definitely not the 9 I originally thought.
So was it your mistake or theirs? if it was theirs then get them to pay for the phone line.

Hang on if you had a phone line why did you have to pay for one to be put in?
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 21:31
koantemplation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Wolf359
Posts: 77,655
So was it your mistake or theirs? if it was theirs then get them to pay for the phone line.

Hang on if you had a phone line why did you have to pay for one to be put in?
It's not about fault.

I'm just not keen when any company advertises something at X amount but then when you go to buy it, you have to pay X to the power of 20u43o9009.

I didn't have a phone line which is why I said 'a new phone line'.
koantemplation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:01
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,536
Get your best telephone voice ready & give em a ring (0800 4320200) for free & enquire.
I'll do that later today. I don't want the phone line rental just broadband. Post Office Home Phone supplies our phone
service at 11 per month for line rental, and we don't want to change. The "Unlimited Fibre Broadband" is enough.
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 08:32
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
It's not about fault.

I'm just not keen when any company advertises something at X amount but then when you go to buy it, you have to pay X to the power of 20u43o9009.

I didn't have a phone line which is why I said 'a new phone line'.
So you would have to have a phone line anyway if you want broadband, so how else do you think you would get broadband?


i do agree that things are hidden or in small writing, but most people know that they need a phone line for most broadband.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 19:12
tghe-retford
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Retford
Posts: 17,514
I thought I was applying for the Unlimited BB only, which would have been 9 a month.

But they put me in the Unlimited BB + Phone package which was 5 (first year) + 15 line rental, so 20 a month (first year) 25 (after that).

And I had to pay 75 to have a new line put in.

So definitely not the 9 I originally thought.
Even when selecting the unlimited fibre option for 19.99 a month, they tried to tick the option for a phone line when ordering. I had to untick it.

The 75 breaks down (for me) roughly as:

50 install fee for BT Openreach to install the faceplate, fibre modem and work at the cabinet;
20 upfront first month fee - I guess you pay in advance;
5 postage and packaging for the router.
tghe-retford is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 14:35
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,536
I've just phoned Plusnet a few minutes, and I can confirm they are guilty of false advertising in their current TV advert.
The sales rep I spoke to, a chap called Tariq, insisted their half price offer only applies to the broadband packages
that include line rental. So, the jovial chap in Plusnet's latest telly ad that says "All broadband's half off!" is telling
some corporate porkie pies, and I think that merits a quick word with the folks at the ASA.

It seems "Good honest broadband from Yorkshire", isn't really quite so honest after all.
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 15:54
codeblue
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: A Sound Expert
Posts: 7,384
Get your best telephone voice ready & give em a ring (0800 4320200) for free & enquire.

Being an existing customer, I did and clinched a 5.99 a month 60GB deal for a year !
No harm in asking.
careful, they put it back up to a top account after that 12 months
codeblue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 18:52
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,435
Even when selecting the unlimited fibre option for 19.99 a month, they tried to tick the option for a phone line when ordering. I had to untick it.
That is a bit dirty to be honest. my mate ordered his over the phone, so he made sure that it was fibre only and no phone.
But they did try a few times.

The 75 breaks down (for me) roughly as:

50 install fee for BT Openreach to install the faceplate, fibre modem and work at the cabinet;
20 upfront first month fee - I guess you pay in advance;
5 postage and packaging for the router.
About the same for my mate, the router is not wroth a fiver mind you, useless heap of junk. Shame really, because Thomson routers used to be very good.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 19:05
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,412
How much did did your 'mate' save over not having a phone and what freebies with the phone line did he/she loose in terms of inclusive calls etc?
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 20:03
yorkieUK
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1,887
Deleted - I rehashed info already stated by someone else!
yorkieUK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 20:30
Mr Pringle
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 5,179
I'm not looking forward to being lumped with a Thomson router (they've always been rather less than fun in my eyes), but I'll probably just use it as a modem onto a better router.

Line rental prices are generally fixed, everyone knows that. I signed up and they've been rather good at communicating so far - and for proper FTTC 80 down/20 up I'm happy with 20 a month and then 30-odd!
Mr Pringle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 20:38
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,536
I'm not looking forward to being lumped with a Thomson router (they've always been rather less
than fun in my eyes), but I'll probably just use it as a modem onto a better router.
That would be rather cumbersome having 3 interlinked networking devices at the very top level of your network.
You've got the BT Openreach modem connected to the phone socket, the crap Thomson router connected to
the BT Openreach modem, and your own 3rd party router connected to the crap Thomson router.

Wouldn't it be easier a bit less cumbersome to put your own router in place of the crap Thomson router?
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 16:32
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,536
An interesting development ... just received this e-mail from the ASA:

PLUSNET PLC

Thank you for contacting the Advertising Standards Authority.
Im sorry to learn that this ad has caused you concern.

You may be interested to know that were already investigating
this ad and the information in your complaint will be helpful.
Well let you know the result as soon as possible.
Thanks for your patience during this time.


Best regards

I guess other people must have already contacted the ASA about Plusnet's misleading ad before I did.
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 21:29
eljmayes
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 660
An interesting development ... just received this e-mail from the ASA:


I guess other people must have already contacted the ASA about Plusnet's misleading ad before I did.
I thought that it was a tad brazen. I can't personally recommend them currently as my speed has been 0.2MBps download and 0.6MBps upload for the past for past three days without resolution.
eljmayes is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:05.