Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Tablet with no flash...? help...


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-02-2013, 21:30
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 539

...just got a Toshiba AT300 tablet...plays iPlayer and YouTube OK but not TV catch up because it's saying my tablet does not support flash...It's got latest OS (JB) and I hear that flash is not going to be supported in future..why does it play BBC iPlayer then? Thought that needed flash..is there going to be an HTML5 support from all these companies eventually that now use flash ?
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 03-02-2013, 21:44
Anika Hanson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 13,335
You can sideload flash onto your tablet. Search google for flash apk and download and install the file. Alternatively you can download the good ereader app store from google play and download flash from there. It's quite annoying that the developers have not made android compatible versions of catchup TV, 4oD, ITV player and channel 5 on demand. All these apps are available on iOS, which also does not support flash and works with HTML5.
Anika Hanson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 21:48
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,649
I never sideloaded flash on to my Nexus 10 and i watch catchup tv probs though. How come?
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2013, 22:00
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 539
...In some ways - all this interlinking and merging of companies and inter 'syncing' with this that and the other- makes life far more complicated for the 'average' user....
Wish I'd not brought this Toshiba tablet - too much messing about to get it running..Thought it would all work smoothly 'like the adverts make out ....even grandpa can use it !
Give me my good old laptop anyday...
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 09:58
boyzie
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: St Osyth
Posts: 3,079
...In some ways - all this interlinking and merging of companies and inter 'syncing' with this that and the other- makes life far more complicated for the 'average' user....
Wish I'd not brought this Toshiba tablet - too much messing about to get it running..Thought it would all work smoothly 'like the adverts make out ....even grandpa can use it !
Give me my good old laptop anyday...
Ive got an old one you can have,it will only run Dos tho........
boyzie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:14
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,836
I never sideloaded flash on to my Nexus 10 and i watch catchup tv probs though. How come?
FilmOn works fine without Flash too.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 10:22
!!11oneone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3,741
Make sure you have BBC Media Player. It's what makes iPlayer work and (shhhhh) is actually flash by another name.
!!11oneone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 13:45
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 539
Make sure you have BBC Media Player. It's what makes iPlayer work and (shhhhh) is actually flash by another name.
...i've done that in order to get iplayer...but it's tv catchup that i'm enquiring about...
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 14:07
slick1two
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 2,364
...i've done that in order to get iplayer...but it's tv catchup that i'm enquiring about...
There is a tv catchup app for Android.
slick1two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 15:49
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 539
There is a tv catchup app for Android.
Yes..I know but that doesn't work on my Toshiba tablet...that's what I'm trying to sort out...
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 19:49
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
Yes..I know but that doesn't work on my Toshiba tablet...that's what I'm trying to sort out...
The app doesn't use flash so that's not the issue here.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 20:31
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 539
The app doesn't use flash so that's not the issue here.
..why does it not run on my toshiba AT300 - OS4 Jelly Bean then ?
It clearly says Flash is required to run this Ap ....
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2013, 20:35
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
..why does it not run on my toshiba AT300 - OS4 Jelly Bean then ?
It clearly says Flash is required to run this Ap ....
Where does it say that?
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:51
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 539
Where does it say that?
When I try to install the app.
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 12:15
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
When I try to install the app.
Strange, it's not listed as a requirement on the play store.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 13:10
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 539
Strange, it's not listed as a requirement on the play store.
...I'm not kidding you matey....You're trying to make me out as some sort of dimbo....I know what it says 'cause -
I LERNED TOO REED AT ME SEKUNDRY SKULE AND MI TEECHR SED I WUD GO A LUNG WEY..


Toshiba AT300SE..with JellyBean 4.2
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 14:14
grumpyoldbat
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 3,472
Does the tablet have a browser that doesn't support HTML5? Could it be something to do with that? I installed TV Catchup on my new Nexus 4 yesterday. I definitely haven't installed Flash on it, yet TV Catchup is working.

Are you installing the TV Catchup app from Google Play, or trying to use the website version of TV Catchup?
grumpyoldbat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 16:11
nvingo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: wisbech, cambs / norfolk
Posts: 3,643
I have the TV Catchup app installed on my phone which cannot run flash and I installed it on a tablet and it worked before installing flash (which had to be sideloaded).
nvingo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 17:07
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 539

I have the TV Catchup app installed on my phone which cannot run flash and I installed it on a tablet and it worked before installing flash (which had to be sideloaded).
..I too have got this running on my Android (Samsung Galaxy Ace 2) phone..works Ok.
BUt - I assure you all it will NOT install on my Toshiba AT300Se tablet...why - I don't know... but I'm going to leave it now...
I'll use my good old laptop ....
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 17:21
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
..I too have got this running on my Android (Samsung Galaxy Ace 2) phone..works Ok.
BUt - I assure you all it will NOT install on my Toshiba AT300Se tablet...why - I don't know... but I'm going to leave it now...
I'll use my good old laptop ....
Did you ever try sideloading flash as suggested at the beginning of the thread?
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 21:10
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 20,861
I have been through this very process. I'd suggest first going into Settings then Security and ticking Unknown Sources to allow the installation of non-Play Store apps. Then go to Youtube and type in something like "How to put flash on android tablet" and follow the instructions. It's also essential to download BBC Media Player if you want to get access to iPlayer stuff, both audio and video.
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 23:06
advid
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 539

I have been through this very process. I'd suggest first going into Settings then Security and ticking Unknown Sources to allow the installation of non-Play Store apps. Then go to Youtube and type in something like "How to put flash on android tablet" and follow the instructions. It's also essential to download BBC Media Player if you want to get access to iPlayer stuff, both audio and video.
...OK..thanks to all suggestions from you...finally side loaded flash and got it working..
Still not really sure of why it didn't work in the first place ...!!!
advid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 20:52
BrokenArrow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 15,248
Make sure you have BBC Media Player. It's what makes iPlayer work and (shhhhh) is actually flash by another name.
Haha, this is the stupid thing about it, all the special apps that are installed to watch catchup TV are all running Flash.

They've just moved it out of the browser and into the dedicated apps.
BrokenArrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 21:02
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,272
Haha, this is the stupid thing about it, all the special apps that are installed to watch catchup TV are all running Flash.

They've just moved it out of the browser and into the dedicated apps.
Isn't that essentially what Adobe Air is?
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 21:37
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,649
Make sure you have BBC Media Player. It's what makes iPlayer work and (shhhhh) is actually flash by another name.
Really???? I didn't realise that!!!!!!!
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:15.