Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Sky Fibre & wireless equipment


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-02-2013, 09:44
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The square root of you.
Posts: 2,710

I assume that the router sky supplies when they send it out to install fibre will work will all my wireless devices like my xbox, laptop, pc & smartphone?

I haven't got to go buy new dongles too have i?
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 05-02-2013, 10:08
joshua_welby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 6,769

I assume that the router sky supplies when they send it out to install fibre will work will all my wireless devices like my xbox, laptop, pc & smartphone?

I haven't got to go buy new dongles too have i?
Only if they are not the "N" type ones
joshua_welby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 10:16
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,586
Only if they are not the "N" type ones
not sure what you mean by that statement, but i suspect it's nonsense (as usual).

I assume that the router sky supplies when they send it out to install fibre will work will all my wireless devices like my xbox, laptop, pc & smartphone?

I haven't got to go buy new dongles too have i?
the current sky router is "n" wifi compatible and will work with all your existing wireless devices.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 10:36
joshua_welby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 6,769
not sure what you mean by that statement, but i suspect it's nonsense (as usual).
I was talking about his dongles, as the OP's question was about his dongles

Anyway to make things clearer for the OP, if you have existing dongles then it might MIGHT be a "G" one, that has the slower speeds for downloading, there are several flavours of Router Specs
one being G and the other one is N, then there is the new one AC

See here about Router WiFi Rating http://www.myopenrouter.com/forum/th...reless-N-or-G/
joshua_welby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 10:48
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,586
I was talking about his dongles, as the OP's question was about his dongles

Anyway to make things clearer for the OP, if you have existing dongles then it might MIGHT be a "G" one, that has the slower speeds for downloading, there are several flavours of Router Specs
one being G and the other one is N, then there is the new one AC
they will still work on an "n" router though, as the router is capable of b,g and n wifi specs.

yes the dongle won't connect at "n" speeds, but they will still connect and run at "g" speeds.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:01
OMTT
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,267
I got Sky fibre installed yesterday & the router (Sky hub) isn't wireless N but I manges to connect my PS3, Wii U, 360, laptop & phones no problem to it so you'll be fine (although I have since connected my consoles via ethernet)
OMTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:05
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,586
I got Sky fibre installed yesterday & the router (Sky hub) isn't wireless N but I manges to connect my PS3, Wii U, 360, laptop & phones no problem to it so you'll be fine (although I have since connected my consoles via ethernet)
the sky hub is wireless N.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:16
OMTT
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 2,267
the sky hub is wireless N.
Yeah, meant is wireless N

No 5Ghz wireless though so you might get interference if too many wireless equipment are connected
OMTT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:18
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 9,586
Yeah, meant is wireless N

No 5Ghz wireless though
still wireless N though at 2.4Ghz (up to 144Mbps).
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 05-02-2013, 11:47
PencilBreath
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: The square root of you.
Posts: 2,710
It's all new stuff & the only thing using a dongle is the pc. I just meant I hoped I didn't have to buy dongles for everything.

Cheers, good to know.
PencilBreath is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:09.