Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Firefox hogging the CPU


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-02-2013, 13:04
GoodBuddy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Harlington,Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,335

Yesterday I noticed that Firefox was running very slow. I had a look at task manager and its running up to 50% of the CPU usage.
I re installed and still it runs slow.

Anyone else having issues with it?

Have just tried Chrome for the 1st time. Seems very quick but just not sure of the layout just yet.
GoodBuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 07-02-2013, 13:15
NewWorldMan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 2,439
I think you'll find that all the browsers have these kinds of issue for some users, while others have no problems.
NewWorldMan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 13:18
GoodBuddy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Harlington,Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,335
I think you'll find that all the browsers have these kinds of issue for some users, while others have no problems.
Just seems strange that it started last night. Have scanned for Viruses etc but is all clear. IE and Chrome run like a dream compared to FF right now.
GoodBuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 14:19
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,357
Try Firefox in 'safe mode'.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 16:23
BrokenArrow
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Hampshire
Posts: 15,836
Firefox is a hog on CPU and memory.

Open a few tabs and that's 300MB gone. It has a ridiculous memory footprint, i can't imagine how they could have made it so inefficient.
BrokenArrow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 16:27
ic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: In a world of fools...
Posts: 862
Firefox is a hog on CPU and memory.

Open a few tabs and that's 300MB gone. It has a ridiculous memory footprint, i can't imagine how they could have made it so inefficient.
Only for some people.Mines currently running at 98 meg with 11 tabs open.
ic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 18:02
DJGM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Whitefield, Manchester
Posts: 3,549
Yesterday, I was running both SeaMonkey and Firefox side by side. SeaMonkey (my primary browser, built upon the
same Mozilla/Gecko technology under the hood as Firefox) had 2 windows open, with a total of 23 tabs, 12 in one,
and 11 in the other. It was using about 480MB of RAM in total, which is fairly reasonable ... not too bloated IMHO.

Meanwhile, Firefox had only 1 window open, with only 7 tabs, and that was eating up a staggering 1010MB RAM!
A handful of browser tabs using nearly 1GB of RAM, even without any Flash or Java stuff running, is ridiculous!
I've also found Chrome to almost as bad as Firefox for eating RAM, using between 90-125MB of RAM per tab.


SeaMonkey might not be to everyone's taste in the GUI department, with it being based upon the classic browser
suite paradigm from the heydays of Netscape, but they must be doing something right to cut out so much bloat!
DJGM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2013, 18:12
GoodBuddy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Harlington,Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,335
Firefox has finally sorted itself out (for now). 10-15% CPU usage wile on Digital Spy and averaging 167mb.
GoodBuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 16:49
Tadpole
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Solihull, West Mids
Posts: 1,573
Some extensions are known to cause slow-downs, the ones which I enable only when I need them are Xmarks and DownloadHelper

http://www.thewindowsclub.com/speedu...forming-addons
Tadpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 17:21
Fowl Fax
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 3,620
You could try Opera and see if that is any better.

Been using Opera for over 10 years now, and can't say I've ever had any issues with it.
Fowl Fax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 10:33
GoodBuddy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Harlington,Bedfordshire
Posts: 1,335
2 screen shots taken 1 minute apart showing the cpu usage of Firefox.

http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/n...ps36a96aa8.jpg

http://i307.photobucket.com/albums/n...ps707e4eed.jpg

It only has high usage for a few minutes then goes back to normal.
GoodBuddy is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:28.