Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Text from Vodafone


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-02-2013, 19:32
tfl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 114

Reads:

If you've not already downloaded iOS 6.1 for your iPhone 4S, please hold off for the next version while Apple fixes 3G performance issues.

Anyone else heard about this?
tfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 08-02-2013, 19:35
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,533
No I haven't. How strange. I have 6.1 and haven't noticed any problems (EE). Just a Vodafone problem maybe? Although I can't see how it could be unless it's a 900Mhz problem perhaps?
I'm guessing here.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:09
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
Can't see anything on the Twitter feed or forums so sounds like a poor rumour to me.
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:10
tfl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 114
Just give it some time, I'm sure it's not just me who got this message
tfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:11
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,413
No problems with 6.1 3G here (4S)
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:12
tfl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 114
No I haven't. How strange. I have 6.1 and haven't noticed any problems (EE). Just a Vodafone problem maybe? Although I can't see how it could be unless it's a 900Mhz problem perhaps?
I'm guessing here.
I think you might be right with 900Mhz, although that would mean people on O2 having more or less zero 3G coverage haha
tfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:13
tfl
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 114
No problems with 6.1 3G here (4S)
Network?
tfl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:21
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,779
Quite a few people are getting the Text. http://lockerz.com/s/282193425

It's genuine and more details here:

http://forum.vodafone.co.uk/t5/Apple...e/td-p/1425278
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:26
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,413
Sorry, Three.
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:28
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,533
But clearly it is if you're on Vodafone with a 4s.
I recall several posts on various threads now where people have been complaing of no Internet connection. I wonder if that's it?
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:29
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,533
HEY!!, you edited your post! Now mine looks stupid Hahahahaha
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:49
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
Updated my wife iPhone she has no issues on vodafone
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2013, 20:56
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,413
HEY!!, you edited your post! Now mine looks stupid Hahahahaha
Haha yeah i did a quick edited because after typing it i thought oh wait a sec, maybe its only for people on voda, i wasnt really sure so i just left it at that.


So your reply looks fine after all, or at least it would have
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 01:58
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,779
Updated my wife iPhone she has no issues on vodafone
It would seem it doesn't affect all Vodafone 4S users on 6.1, it's under certain circumstances that it does.

6.1.1 / Vodafone Carrier update shall be out shortly.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:31
John_Patrick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 757
Voda use two (or three) different vendors for 3G Nodes.... I wonder if there is a chance that the issues are caused by this?

Non of the other UK networks use the same kit for 3g, hence why it maybe only Voda saying not to update?

Just a thought....
John_Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:38
prking
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Weston-super-Mare
Posts: 8,966
Voda use two (or three) different vendors for 3G Nodes.... I wonder if there is a chance that the issues are caused by this?

Non of the other UK networks use the same kit for 3g, hence why it maybe only Voda saying not to update?

Just a thought....
I think that's probably right. There have been some issues with other handsets in the past requiring a firmware update for Vodafone.
prking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 08:46
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 24,142
Yup, my first thought was that it was an introduced 900 Mhz problem so may depend on your location.
Lucky it is the 4s, not the older 4 and that Vodafone are shouting about it.

So what fundamental change has Apple done here?
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 19:34
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 39,746
I'm on Virgin and i've noticed the 3G reception on my 4s isn't as good as it was on my Galaxy S3 - it's been as low as 1 bar this evening when I used to get between 3 and 4 bars with the S3.

I did a full update and upgraded to 6.1 when i got the phone a few days ago as well, so i'm wondering if it's related ?
JasonWatkins is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 21:09
acoolwelshbloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Swansea, UK.
Posts: 2,361
I upgraded from a jailbroken 5.1.1 to 6.1 and signal is slightly weaker if the signal meter is anything to go by. But no real issues for me, no loss of signal or anything.

I'm not on Vodafone though, three uk.
acoolwelshbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 21:58
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,779
I'm on Virgin and i've noticed the 3G reception on my 4s isn't as good as it was on my Galaxy S3 - it's been as low as 1 bar this evening when I used to get between 3 and 4 bars with the S3.
Unlikely. As you are using the EE network which is currently in the middle of a major overhaul it is is more likely to be reduced service due to mast upgrades. Most (but not all) happen at the close of business on Friday till early on Monday morning..
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 22:43
JasonWatkins
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 39,746
Unlikely. As you are using the EE network which is currently in the middle of a major overhaul it is is more likely to be reduced service due to mast upgrades. Most (but not all) happen at the close of business on Friday till early on Monday morning..
Didn't know about the upgrades - makes more sense if you look at it like that. we'll see on monday then - cheers
JasonWatkins is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 22:42
alanwarwic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 24,142
Maintenance is always at weekends. Happens with them all.

Seems 3 Austria have given the same advice to iPhone users.
If there is no different similarity between the two then its possibly a problem on all networks.
alanwarwic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 09:01
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
So according to various tech news sites its not just a problem on Vodafone, just that Vodafone are the only network to proactively tell its customers to hold off installing a buggy apple update.
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 20:50
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,779
6.1.1 update to address 3G issues is now out. Only for the 4S.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 21:00
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,533
6.1.1 update to address 3G issues is now out. Only for the 4S.
While I don't dispute your "work done at the weekends" thing, surley EE aren't only doing the current upgrades only at the weekend are they??
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:16.