Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

4pin psu to 8 pin motherboard?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2013, 17:26
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,292

I've upgraded to an almost new system. With new 3570k, 8GB DDR3 and Asus P8Z68-V Pro/Gen3 motherboard.

I have an existing Corsair HX520W that is much loved and I would like to re-use it in the new system.

The issue is for CPU power the HX520W only comes with a 4 pin connector. However, the new motherboard doesn't have a 4 pin supply for the CPU but an 8 pin.

I can't find anything definitive on the web, some say its fine some stuff says its not recommended.

Thanks for any advice/help.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-02-2013, 17:36
Grouty
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: The Nth East
Posts: 13,828
Ive used a 4 Pin in an 8 Pin in the past, was fine, the motherboard had a plastic cap over 4 Pins, so you could just plug a 4 in if thats all you had, if you had an 8 though, you would just remove the cap.

Don't know if its still the same today though, as was a good few years ago
Grouty is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 17:44
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,974
it should work, but you can always use a converter cable like this,

http://www.amazon.co.uk/StarTech-inc...4&sr=8-1-spell


Might be able to pick one up cheaper elsewhere if you look around
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:13
cp2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Standish, near Wigan
Posts: 411
it should work, but you can always use a converter cable like this,

http://www.amazon.co.uk/StarTech-inc...4&sr=8-1-spell


Might be able to pick one up cheaper elsewhere if you look around
I've used the same adapter myself a few months ago with problems.
cp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 19:35
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,292
I've used the same adapter myself a few months ago with problems.
What kind of problems?
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 07:49
cp2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Standish, near Wigan
Posts: 411
Aagh! Amazing how a simple but stupid typing mistake combined with the brain being on a different astral plane can change things completely.
I meant "without" problems!

In my case I was transferring an existing motherboard, and cpu into a new, cheap case c/w psu as a pc for a relative. The motherboard etc was way over specced for what they needed hence the cheap case. Using the adapter meant I didn't have to buy a new psu which would have cost more than the case.

Apologies.
cp2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 09:28
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,292
Thanks all,

Well it appears to be okay. There wasn't a cover on 4 of the pins but it only fitted one way I think.

Extremely snappy going from an Athlon II X3.

I haven't done anything demanding on it yet though so haven't pulled too many watts.

Hopefully it will be sound until I can afford my next upgrade. Which will be a new PSU and I can retire the beloved HX520W to a secondary PC.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 10:29
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,720
Thanks all,

Well it appears to be okay. There wasn't a cover on 4 of the pins but it only fitted one way I think.

Extremely snappy going from an Athlon II X3.

I haven't done anything demanding on it yet though so haven't pulled too many watts.

Hopefully it will be sound until I can afford my next upgrade. Which will be a new PSU and I can retire the beloved HX520W to a secondary PC.
The extra four pins just give it a bit more stability, don't try to overclock mind you.

There are some boards that will not fire up without the extra connections. my mates gigabyte I7 based system would not, I forgot to connect the extra four connector and all it did was beep at me. Went back in, stuck the connector on and of it went.

when you can, it is best to get a power supply with the extra connections.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 14:41
Smudged
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 2,169
Hopefully it will be sound until I can afford my next upgrade. Which will be a new PSU and I can retire the beloved HX520W to a secondary PC.
The HX520W is a quality PSU so I'm sure it would be fine with a cable adaptor. I doubt it lacks the power for your system (unless of course you've got or are intending to get a power hungry, high end graphics card).
Smudged is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 16:43
DeelyBopper
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,292
I'm a doofus. Checking the HX520W manual and it has both 4 and 8 pin cables.

I'd hidden it away in the space for cable management on the original build.

Appreciate the help all. It's good to know anyway if I come across this issue in future builds.
DeelyBopper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 18:22
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,720
I'm a doofus. Checking the HX520W manual and it has both 4 and 8 pin cables.

I'd hidden it away in the space for cable management on the original build.

Appreciate the help all. It's good to know anyway if I come across this issue in future builds.
LOL, oh well it can and no doubt happen to the best of us. corsair PSUs are pretty good, I got a CX 430 in my second computer and it have been a reliable PSU, in fact it powered this one for a couple of months.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:45.