Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

IOS 6.1 wifi issue iphone 4s


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-02-2013, 17:49
Melanie_Brown1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 25

my fiance updated to ios 6.1 on the iphone 4s and now the wifi connection is grayed out on his iphone. tried resetting the phone and resetting the network settings but nothing has worked. Is anyone else having the same problem or has anyone managed to fix this?
Melanie_Brown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 09-02-2013, 17:59
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,517
Since this is your Third post and in case no one has said so before, welcome to the forum Melanie.
What network is the iPhone on?
If it's Vodafone it may be related to this http://forums.digitalspy.co.uk/showthread.php?t=1796240 although this is a cellular issue I think.

If not, got to Settings-General-Reset and tap Reset network settings and see if that fixes it.
This will wipe all the stored WiFi netowrks though but not a major problem.

Also try closing all background apps. (Double press the menu button quickly to reveal the apps, hold down one of them till they start wiggling and close them all).
Then do a soft reset. To do this, hold down the power button and the menu button until you see the Apple logo.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:05
Melanie_Brown1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 25
hi. thanks. Yes its on vodafone i saw on their website saying not to download it but doesnt say what to do if you already have. We've tried the reset network settings about 50 times and still doesnt work also reset the whole phone and it doesnt work.
Melanie_Brown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:08
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,517
Hmmm, not good. VOD are supposed to be bringing out a fix for it soon. iOS 6.1.1 possibly.
Perhaps call them and see what they say.
You can't easily go back to iOS 6.0 I'm afraid.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:14
Melanie_Brown1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 25
He's called them last night but they want him to send the phone away for seven days. Also been to apple and hes booked in next week for them to look at it.

So glad i dont have any of this left iphone for samsung galaxy s3.
Melanie_Brown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:16
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,322
Hmmm, not good. VOD are supposed to be bringing out a fix for it soon. iOS 6.1.1 possibly.
Perhaps call them and see what they say.
You can't easily go back to iOS 6.0 I'm afraid.
Vodafone won't be bringing out anything, they have no control over iOS releases.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:25
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,517
This is true. I should know better. Thank you.
A carrier update it what I really meant which will certainly fix the cellular issue and could sort the Wifi as well.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:30
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,751
No linked to Vodafone bug.

Try a hard reset of holding the phone home button and power button for 15 seconds.

If that doesn't work do a full restore in iTunes
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1414?v...S&locale=en_US
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:33
Melanie_Brown1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 25
Have tried this also still doesnt work.
Melanie_Brown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:35
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,751
Hardware fault or it's been jailbroken in the past. Apple store.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:39
Melanie_Brown1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 25
definitely not been jailbroken or been jailbroken in the past as he got it brand new. Will see what the apple store say on thursday.
Melanie_Brown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:42
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,322
definitely not been jailbroken or been jailbroken in the past as he got it brand new. Will see what the apple store say on thursday.
do a backup then a complete wipe and restore.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:44
Melanie_Brown1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 25
as ive said previously i have already tried to restore the phone about 4or 5 times and its still not worked.
Melanie_Brown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:45
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,322
as ive said previously i have already tried to restore the phone about 4or 5 times and its still not worked.
you said you reset the settings, that's not the same as a restore.

have you connected it to itunes via the USB cable and clicked the "restore" button, which downloads the iOS file and wipes the phone and re-installs from scratch.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:48
Melanie_Brown1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 25
yes i have connected it to i tunes and i meant to say tried restoring the phone and resetting the network settings. ive tried 4 times to restore the iphone.
Melanie_Brown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 18:50
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,322
yes i have connected it to i tunes and i meant to say tried restoring the phone and resetting the network settings. ive tried 4 times to restore the iphone.
faulty phone then.
unrelated to ios6.1 update and nothing to do with any vodafone issue.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 19:09
SkyPaulusPlus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 3,781
wifi being greyed out usually means the wifi chip has gone, create a new user account on your CP and restore the phone again from there, if its still greyed out you may need a new one.
SkyPaulusPlus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 21:04
Melanie_Brown1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 25
whats a CP?
Melanie_Brown1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 21:08
plymouthbloke1974
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SW England
Posts: 4,800
He means PC

Also, I think my iPhone is affected too
plymouthbloke1974 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 21:10
michael37
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Livingston
Posts: 2,537
This is a known issue with iOS 6.1.

https://discussions.apple.com/thread...art=0&tstart=0
michael37 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 21:17
chenks
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,322
2 people in that thread with a similar problem... hardly widespread! and one of the people says they've had it for months so can't be an iOS6.1 issue.
chenks is online now Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2013, 21:46
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,751
Seeing as there are about 70 million (last time i checked) iPhone 4S units out there and many are on iOS6-6.1 i find it hard that anyone can say this issue (or any other issue) is wide spread.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 00:52
SkyPaulusPlus
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: England
Posts: 3,781
yes i meant PC

Usually its the chip or possibly baseband, its been around for ages on iOS4 & 5
SkyPaulusPlus is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:54.