Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Sony BDP S350 Upgrade


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2013, 11:18
The Moth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 600

I've attempted to update the software on my Sony BDP S350 bluray player for the first time using the ethernet connection but I keep getting this message ...

"Ext memory in the EXT jack on rear of unit not recognised. Check ext memory, turn the power off, then on again"

I've tried the off / on suggestion, I'm defintely connected to the LAN port of the bluray player and I've tried 2 different cables but I cannot get it to work.

Anyone got any ideas?
The Moth is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 10-02-2013, 12:40
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 37,637
Isn't there a port on the back for a memory stick?, and don't you have one plugged in?.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 17:14
The Moth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 600
There is a port labelled "EXT" but nothing is plugged in it.
The Moth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 18:44
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,269
What version of software do you have? My BDP-S350 is on 07.4.024 which it declares is the latest version. As does the Sony website. So if you've got that version already then no point trying an update.

Doesn't seem to be anything here about the problem you are having though.

http://www.sony.co.uk/support/en/pro...network-update
chrisjr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 19:24
bobcar
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 12,032
What happens when you try "network diagnostics"?

The message you get (or something similar) happens when you try to use some internet features such as BD live without a card in, that does not apply to software downloads though.
bobcar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 19:32
The Moth
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 600
Thanks to all for the suggestions. I tried the update again this evening and this time it worked. I wonder whether previously I had the cable plugged into the wrong port on the wifi router. It's a Sky box and has 4 ports; a green, two yellows and a blue. I tried one of the yellows this time and it worked. Now to see if it makes any difference to the disc that won't load.
The Moth is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:21.