Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

windows media centre


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-02-2013, 13:02
newbee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 579

Hi there, I'm trying to rip CD's to MP3 files so I can put them on an external drive, I get as far as 'it can't deal with it in dgital and reverts to Analoge' I clicked on the help section and follwed the instructions to set it for digital but it still comes up with the same message! of course this is new to me, would I be better downloading some free software to do this? any advice would be appreciated.
newbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 10-02-2013, 13:08
TheBigM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: moon
Posts: 12,683
I have no idea what's going on here.

But use windows media player to do this anyway, not windows media center.
TheBigM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 13:54
newbee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 579
Sorry it is the player version I'm using but won't procced beyong the error message advising it would now do it in analouge (spelling)!
newbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 14:04
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,877
Have you had a look at the instructions here,

http://portables.about.com/od/newsan...p-with-WMP.htm
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 15:26
newbee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 579
Hi again, I tried another CD and it ripped automaticly, I see in the instruction link this might happen all the time unless I untick it.

Thanks for the help
newbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 16:49
newbee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 579
Was going fine but now taking about 20 mins per track, no idea what has slowed it down but may have overworked it as done about 10 cd's some with 20 odd tracks.
newbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 16:59
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,996
Was going fine but now taking about 20 mins per track, no idea what has slowed it down but may have overworked it as done about 10 cd's some with 20 odd tracks.
It's always possible there's some problem with your optical drive, or the data connection to it.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 17:35
1saintly
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,180
would I be better downloading some free software to do this? any advice would be appreciated.
Yes.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9uNh5e3vqsE
http://www.freerip.com/screenshots.php
Untick the Freerip Addons when installing
1saintly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 19:20
newbee
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 579
well, once it closed down and I re-booted it worked fine until I put one of her love CD's to copy with 26 tracks, looks like it doesn't like big files.
newbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2013, 22:32
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,877
well, once it closed down and I re-booted it worked fine until I put one of her love CD's to copy with 26 tracks, looks like it doesn't like big files.
it could also be the CD is copy protected. Also some commercial CD are manufactured slightly out of spec to defect copying.
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:14.