Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Multi Region Blu Ray Player


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-02-2013, 14:08
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326

anyone else know where i could pick up a relativley cheap blu ray player that plays all regions..

this region locked stuff really gets my goat! im willing to pay for the damn stuff yet you can download certain titles before they are out.

its almost like film companies like to punish people for buying movies legitimately, with ads about piracy you are forced to watch (i just paid for this REAL dvd/BD) and region control. if someone wants to watch something they will find it.

Wreck it ralph is out next month in US and wanted the 3d BD release, but its Region A, Django is out the next month and that is Region A.

grrrr... rant over
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 11-02-2013, 14:13
stud u like
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: The Sunny Side Of The Street
Posts: 38,160
Amazon.co.uk has a few.
stud u like is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 14:19
Mark A
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 4,107
Multiregion Magic has them but they're not cheap, over a hundred pounds or so above the region locked versions.

http://www.mrmdvd.com/catalog/

Regards

Mark
Mark A is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 14:29
neo_wales
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: South Wales/Gran Canaria
Posts: 7,448
Some Panasonic region free on ebay for 150.
neo_wales is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 15:16
Bluray
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 647
I very luckily picked up one of these last year for 60
http://www.trustedreviews.com/toshib...-Player_review
then just updated the firmware a voila!!!
Bluray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 15:19
James2001
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mansfield
Posts: 24,877
A lot fewer Blu-Rays are region locked than DVDs, it's worth actualyl looking into it when it coems out. Quite a few titles Amazon lists as "Region A" are actually region free.
James2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 15:31
theonlyweeman
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 6,356
Wreck-It-Ralph is a Disney, they normally go region free
Django Unchained is The Weinstein Company, so will be released by Anchor Bay who normally lock their releases.


For 80 you can pick up a BD drive for your computer, and use free software to rip a "foreign" region disc and then burn another copy to watch on your TV (or just use a HDMI lead and play it through your laptop). Admittedly that way is quite complicated...
theonlyweeman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 15:44
Theo_Bear
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 961
Dombo, you should offer a good 50 for this. 21 hours left on the auction.

BDX3200KB

Download the Australian firmware as per instructions here
Instructions and you're good to go.

Player is a little on the noisy side, but that's your one trade off.
Theo_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 16:10
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
Dombo, you should offer a good 50 for this. 21 hours left on the auction.

BDX3200KB

Download the Australian firmware as per instructions here
Instructions and you're good to go.

Player is a little on the noisy side, but that's your one trade off.
Thank you, that lookst great!!!!!
bidding now
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2013, 19:33
Bluray
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 647
Dombo, you should offer a good 50 for this. 21 hours left on the auction.

BDX3200KB

Download the Australian firmware as per instructions here
Instructions and you're good to go.

Player is a little on the noisy side, but that's your one trade off.
That's what I did - works perfectly, ideal for Criterion!
Bluray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 09:05
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
up to 72 this morning!
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 23:31
Theo_Bear
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 961
http://www.bargaincrazy.com/toshiba-...er-bdx3200kb-1
Theo_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2013, 23:48
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326

i saw that today and tried calling the company but no reply.
there is no buy or add to basket button.tho
thanks tho
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 08:44
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
so this BD Player is sold, i dunno why its not down from their website, but another BD Player Toshiba BDX1250KB
is only cheap and also capable of multiregion discs using the firmware

so ordering that one.

Happy

no its not its the bdx1200.. still looking!
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 15:01
Theo_Bear
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 961
Dombo, there's another BDX3200 on eBay. 7 days left. One bid at 49.99. Second hand though. God only knows why the seller wants shot of it. Clearly has no idea what can be done with it.
Theo_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 18:29
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
anyone know if this can be hacked via the firm ware

Toshiba BDX1250KB

thanks theo_bear. wastching that one on ebay
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 13-02-2013, 19:25
Theo_Bear
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 961
Ahem. . Dombo, how much do you love Theo?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Toshiba-BD...item2ec5d859b1

http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-r...region-bd.html

Have a good read and make sure you know what you're doing. I don't have the 3100, so can't confirm that the Aussie firmware works, but there seem to be more than enough happy bunnies on that forum.

AFAIK, the 1250 can't be done.
Theo_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 01:10
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
Ahem. . Dombo, how much do you love Theo?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Toshiba-BD...item2ec5d859b1

http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-r...region-bd.html

Have a good read and make sure you know what you're doing. I don't have the 3100, so can't confirm that the Aussie firmware works, but there seem to be more than enough happy bunnies on that forum.

AFAIK, the 1250 can't be done.


Wow Theo.. thank you...i love you

Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 10:47
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
Ahem. . Dombo, how much do you love Theo?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Toshiba-BD...item2ec5d859b1

http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-r...region-bd.html

Have a good read and make sure you know what you're doing. I don't have the 3100, so can't confirm that the Aussie firmware works, but there seem to be more than enough happy bunnies on that forum.

AFAIK, the 1250 can't be done.
Purchased:
Thanks so much theo bear...
will let you know how i get on.


now.. who wants to buy a SONY BDP350..
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 10:41
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
Ahem. . Dombo, how much do you love Theo?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/Toshiba-BD...item2ec5d859b1

http://www.avforums.com/forums/blu-r...region-bd.html

Have a good read and make sure you know what you're doing. I don't have the 3100, so can't confirm that the Aussie firmware works, but there seem to be more than enough happy bunnies on that forum.

AFAIK, the 1250 can't be done.
ITS ARRIVED!!!
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 12:12
Theo_Bear
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 961
Dombo, let us know how you get on with installing the Aussie firmware.
Theo_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 13:03
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
Dombo, let us know how you get on with installing the Aussie firmware.
will do theo, im at work at mo, (got it delivered here)
so will get on to it tonight and let you know.

Thanks
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 20:00
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
Hi Theo,
was left disappointed tonight as remote does not work at all with player..
Bad times..

have emailed seller, will see what happens.
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 20:32
Theo_Bear
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 961
Not good. I assume you've tried new batteries?

Does the player work when you've plugged in and switched on? All basic stuff, I know. .But you'd be surprised.

If the worst happens, replacement remotes are 12 at Amazon.
Theo_Bear is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 21:01
Dombo
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,326
Not good. I assume you've tried new batteries?

Does the player work when you've plugged in and switched on? All basic stuff, I know. .But you'd be surprised.

If the worst happens, replacement remotes are 12 at Amazon.
cant get past setup/first time use screen... buttons on machine dont do nothing.coz its only play/stop
so coz remote not working im not getting anywhere.
will see if seller replaces remote then ill see about buying one..

bought new batteries as the ones included were wrong size

Last edited by Dombo : 18-02-2013 at 21:02. Reason: additional info
Dombo is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 00:16.