Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

HD TV Aerials and High Gain Boosters


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13-02-2013, 23:54
Airborne
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 15

I wish to upgrade my rooftop TV Aerial - getting breakup of picture on some channels (particularly BBC 1 and 2 incl HD).

I would probably install the new aerial myself. I have a Loft based TV Splitter as I have 2 other sets in other rooms. I may upgrade this as well.

I only know of one or two makers - such as Antiference and Philex which can be purchased from Argos or Amazon online.

Grateful for comments on recommended manufacturers.
Airborne is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 13-02-2013, 23:58
joshua_welby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 6,842

I wish to upgrade my rooftop TV Aerial - getting breakup of picture on some channels (particularly BBC 1 and 2 incl HD).

I would probably install the new aerial myself. I have a Loft based TV Splitter as I have 2 other sets in other rooms. I may upgrade this as well.

I only know of one or two makers - such as Antiference and Philex which can be purchased from Argos or Amazon online.

Grateful for comments on recommended manufacturers.
For a start, you need to install a Wideband Aerial so that you are future proofed if they are any frequency changes in your area and install it on your roof and not in your Loft, as you get a better reception from outside
joshua_welby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 00:19
Winston_1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,176
There is no such thing as an HD aerial. Wideband aerials are not suitable in many cases. In particular wideband aerials should not be used in group A areas as their gain at the low channels is very poor. The only exception is log periodic types which have a fairly even gain throughout the band.

The aerials from Argos, B & Q, Maplin, Screwfix, etc are generally poor build quality and wideband so don't go there.

There are at least two dealers and experts on these forums who could supply a decent aerial and other bits.

Satcure.
ATV Aerials.
Winston_1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 10:44
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,712
If one of my customers said they were losing signal on BBC1 & 2 then I wouldn't be thinking they need a booster or a new aerial at all.

The digital channels are broadcast in groups that are known as multiplexes - Mux for short. Stations that have to achieve almost total UK coverage are broadcast with the highest power. These are the muxes that include BBC1 & 2. If you are getting break up on the strongest channels, but still receiving the weaker ones okay then the aerial is probably okay.

A good first step with any of these kind of vague and spurious problems is to do a "first time install" tuning. This will clear the existing channel memories and retune from fresh.

Next, have a look at the signal strength. Not every TV and Freeview box measures to exactly the same level, so use a bit of latitude here. But essentially you need only about 75% signal strength and then as much signal quality as possible. Quality is the most important one. It's a measure of signal against background noise. The better the signal quality then the more signal you have versus background noise. This is why boosters aren't a universal fix. If you have a lousy low powered signal then a booster will make it a lousy high powered signal.

If you find your signal strength at max then you might have too much signal and that can be just as bad as too little. An attenuator can reduce the signal level if required.

If these aren't the issues or you are still having problems then check your cable. Coax doesn't last forever; particularly outdoors. If the outer sheath is worn through or cracked then water can get in to the cable. Also look for areas where the cable goes through a tight corner. Sharp bends can create a notch filter that affects some signals but leave others untouched.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 11:43
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,241
If one of my customers said they were losing signal on BBC1 & 2 then I wouldn't be thinking they need a booster or a new aerial at all.
Obviously it depends on the exact situation - but one multiplex been far lower than the others is more likely to require aerial work than anything else. If all multiplexes are low, but only one below the digital threshold, then a better aerial or a masthead amplifier is most likely to be the correct solution.

But as always, with aerials local knowledge is king!
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 13:03
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,712
Obviously it depends on the exact situation - but one multiplex been far lower than the others is more likely to require aerial work than anything else. If all multiplexes are low, but only one below the digital threshold, then a better aerial or a masthead amplifier is most likely to be the correct solution.

But as always, with aerials local knowledge is king!
I'm sorry Nigel, but did you actually read the OP? Did you miss the bit where he said he's losing BBC1 & BBC2. These are the NATIONAL stations.... .i.e. out of all 6 muxes in total it is these muxes (BBC A, D3&4, BBC B/HD) that are the ones that will definitely be broadcast with the HIGHEST power.

The other muxes carrying the crappy shopping channels may well be on an equal power footing (e.g. Crystal Palace, Winter Hill, Emley Moor, Mendip). But can you honestly say that you know of a transmitter that gives greater power to the muxes carrying Gay Rabbit, Gems TV and QVC Beauty than it does to the main BBC and ITV channels? Here's a list so you can check it if interested. Here's a breakdown of channel by mux

So are you really suggesting that even if the OP's local transmitter does have stepped power, that he's actually going to lose the channels on the highest power first???
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 13:18
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,241
I'm sorry Nigel, but did you actually read the OP? Did you miss the bit where he said he's losing BBC1 & BBC2. These are the NATIONAL stations.... .i.e. out of all 6 muxes in total it is these muxes (BBC A, D3&4, BBC B/HD) that are the ones that will definitely be broadcast with the HIGHEST power.
Yes I read it, most multiplexes are the same power anyway, and having different power multiplexes makes no difference to my answer (as the differences aren't that great).

EDIT:

Just read my previous post, were you perhaps confused by my use of 'lower' which referred toi the received signal, NOT the multiplex transmitter power.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 17:10
Chris Frost
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Cheshire
Posts: 4,712
I'm not convinced, Nigel. Feels to me like you're wriggling.
Chris Frost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 19:35
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,241
I'm not convinced, Nigel. Feels to me like you're wriggling.
Not 'wriggling' at all, nothing to 'wriggle' about
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 20:08
niall campbell
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 6,945
perhaps if we can wriggle a postcode out of the OP ?
niall campbell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 20:37
Nigel Goodwin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Derbyshire
Posts: 38,241
perhaps if we can wriggle a postcode out of the OP ?
Even a postcode only helps if you have local knowledge, losing one multiplex could be something as simple as a slight alignment issue?.
Nigel Goodwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 09:00
ProDave
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Northern Scottish Highlands
Posts: 11,304
I would probably install the new aerial myself. I have a Loft based TV Splitter as I have 2 other sets in other rooms. I may upgrade this as well.
.
Tell us more about that splitter?

If it's a passive splitter then that could well be your problem.

Start by replacing it with a powered distribution amplifier. That alone may solve your problems.
ProDave is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:16.