Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Google as home page


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 14-02-2013, 16:19
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,457

I have always used Google as my home page as it is quick to load and reliable, if Google doesn't load the internet is down.
I've just noticed however that the latest home page with the Ferris Wheel is thrashing my lowly P4 with 2GB RAM.
All is fine since changing it to something else.
Anyone else noticed this ?
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 14-02-2013, 16:40
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,963
It's just for Valentine's day, so it'll be gone by tomorrow.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 16:43
max99
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,671
It's not just you. I've seen it on quite a few machines, usually older spec ones. If you Google for it, you'll find plenty more complaints. They're fun little things until they cripple your computer.
max99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 16:46
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,457
It's not just you. I've seen it on quite a few machines, usually older spec ones. If you Google for it, you'll find plenty more complaints. They're fun little things until they cripple your computer.
I'll be Binging it for the time being .
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 17:14
Mr. Cool
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,482
Which browser do you use? Maybe it has poor hardware acceleration/poor HTML5 support.

I use the latest version of Chrome on an Intel Atom (circa. 2007) without any slowdowns.
Mr. Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-02-2013, 18:16
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,457
Which browser do you use?
Firefox but it is only the Ferris Wheel causing it, not had a problem before with Google. I get the same happening on sites like this but as someone pointed out if I hover over the scrolling text below 'Featured Jobs' it stops.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 09:03
Earake
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,785
Firefox but it is only the Ferris Wheel causing it, not had a problem before with Google. I get the same happening on sites like this but as someone pointed out if I hover over the scrolling text below 'Featured Jobs' it stops.
I was getting the same problem with Chrome on my old 1Gb RAM XP laptop.

I changed to https://encrypted.google.com/ which resolves to the standard Google logo.
Earake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 09:03
Earake
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Down South
Posts: 1,785
Happening again today ?
Earake is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 10:20
radioanorak
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Faliraki,Rhodes, Greece
Posts: 1,733
If its giving a problem , then dont bother
Just use a blank page as home page
radioanorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 10:30
LION8TIGER
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,457
Happening again today ?
Yes but not as bad as the Ferris wheel, I've changed to your suggestion and it seems to have done the trick thanks.
LION8TIGER is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:03.