Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

What Wireless Router Do You Use?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 15-02-2013, 23:18
feckit
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 2,551

I have a Netgear router which is about 7 years old and looking to upgrade.
What wireless router do you use and is it any good?
feckit is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 15-02-2013, 23:20
Voynich
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Western Scotland
Posts: 13,583
A Netgear N900. I like it as it's dual band, reliable and I can plug a usb harddrive in it to share music and movies to my tablet PC.
Voynich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:21
Caldari
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Josameto
Posts: 5,238
Asus N55U Black Diamond, far and away the best router I've used.
Caldari is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:23
exlordlucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 25,297
Mine say Virgin on the front and netgear on the back.
exlordlucan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:24
tellywatcher73
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3,060
Mine's a shiny black plastic box with flashing lights.
tellywatcher73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:25
oldhag
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2,008
Sorry, can you repeat the question?

Mine's a shiny black one too. It sometimes has a 3 on it.
oldhag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:27
tellywatcher73
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 3,060
Sorry, can you repeat the question?

Mine's a shiny black one too. It sometimes has a 3 on it.
Mine sometimes has a 2 and a 4, but never a 3.
tellywatcher73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:27
carax
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 950
A Netgear N150. Does the business.
carax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:28
Bungitin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Posts: 3,150
If upgrading the router you may have to upgrade the wifi circuitry in your laptop/desktop as well.

i.e no use going 802n if your computers can only receive b or g.
Bungitin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:30
flower 2
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 4,697
See this is where I get a headache and suddenly feel out of sinc with the world
flower 2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:44
maurice45
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Quahog
Posts: 28,145
Linksys BEFW11S4
maurice45 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:51
brillopad
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Cornwall
Posts: 2,767
Asus N55U Black Diamond, far and away the best router I've used.
Me too - I'm using it's USB sockets for printer sharing
brillopad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:53
skipjack79
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 3,091
Whichever of the two neighbour's unsecured routers has the strongest signal strength at the time. Unsure of the brands if I'm honest.
skipjack79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:54
Smiley433
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Location: Location
Posts: 3,620
Netgear DG834G v2 I got eight years ago.
Smiley433 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 15-02-2013, 23:56
Orbitalzone
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Sussex
Posts: 11,340
TP Link tdw8968 for 35 which has a nice USB port for printer/drive share
Orbitalzone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 00:02
AnthonyC
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 1,082
Whichever of the two neighbour's unsecured routers has the strongest signal strength at the time. Unsure of the brands if I'm honest.
Naughty!
AnthonyC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 00:03
flashgordon1952
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: brentwood essex
Posts: 3,634
I use a ZyXEL but dont use it as a wireless router and tend to use the cabled version instead. i am not a fan of wireless anything.
flashgordon1952 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 00:07
cjsmummy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Chaos
Posts: 9,299
TP link D something, can't quite recall.
cjsmummy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 00:22
Mr Dangerous
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Surrey
Posts: 883
Netgear N150 was what I used to use, worked really well....I'm on BT now so I have a hub3.
Mr Dangerous is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 00:34
benbenalen
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Albert Square
Posts: 9,626
Virgin Media high speed "crappy" superhub
before that, I had Belkins!
benbenalen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 00:53
kolakoala
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 263
I have a netgear dsomething or other. I have a cupboard full of them going back to the days when AOL was actually AOL. If you rang up and complained they put the problem right and sent you a router as a peace offering.
kolakoala is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 00:53
digimon900
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 3,640
western Digital N900, direct connection to Fiber optic. Wireless switched off, no need for it as there are no laptops or tablets in the house.
digimon900 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 01:04
Ambassador
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Wooler, Northumberlandiana
Posts: 21,659
I have a Sky Hub, no idea who makes it but got it as a replacement when my old white Sky netgear literally blew up
Ambassador is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 01:18
digimon900
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Pennsylvania USA
Posts: 3,640
A sky hub? sounds like Sky+
digimon900 is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 01:20
noise747
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Herefordshire
Posts: 17,475
Tp-link TL-WR1043ND cable router, but it is not on cable.


Is it any good? yeah, it works ok, i have had no problems with it and it offers some good features for the price. i am sure there is better, but you will pay more for it.
noise747 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:20.