Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Using data abroad (especially sat nav)


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 16-02-2013, 04:33
heavy_rotation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,187

I'm going to Amsterdam for the first time soon and could really benefit from being able to use Sat Nav on my phone. Is there a way I can pre-download the maps and then not use any data? I'm on contract with T-Mobile.
heavy_rotation is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 16-02-2013, 07:23
wavejockglw
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 10,169
You can use an app called Sygic which allows you to preload the maps you need for most countries. Sygic uses TomTom mapping and has camera alerts etc.

More info here: http://www.sygic.com/en
wavejockglw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 08:44
John_Patrick
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 771
The is also the NavFree app that uses open source mapping.

You need the app (NavFree) and then download the mapping you want and then download a voice of your choice.
John_Patrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 10:32
nigelbb
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 671
I have the TomTom app on my iPhone. It doesn't use any data just the GPS chip in the iPhone.
nigelbb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 11:48
heavy_rotation
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,187
Awesome thankyou
heavy_rotation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-02-2013, 14:13
c4rv
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Essex
Posts: 14,966
android or iOS ?

You can pre-cache with google maps on android but I don't believe you can on iOS
c4rv is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 01:03.