Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

Digital Spy should have better tablet support!


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17-02-2013, 11:58
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,783

I cannot use the forum search function on either of my tablets (Xoom and Nexus 7).

If I 'click' on the Search Forum box, the keyboard comes up then as soon as I type the first character, the keyboard goes away and the box disappears.

Isn't it time Digital Spy had a tablet-friendly setting?
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 17-02-2013, 12:17
psionic
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Crystal Palace TX
Posts: 18,825
Search seems to work fine on my Nexus 7.
psionic is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 12:31
THOMO
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Gateshead, Tyne and Wear.
Posts: 3,910
I cannot use the forum search function on either of my tablets (Xoom and Nexus 7).

If I 'click' on the Search Forum box, the keyboard comes up then as soon as I type the first character, the keyboard goes away and the box disappears.

Isn't it time Digital Spy had a tablet-friendly setting?
I also have the same problem with my Apple IPad 2, but it works ok on my Laptop Computer.
Ian.
THOMO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 12:33
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
the search box is shit. it's shit on the desktop too. i often click it type my search and then notice the cable on my mouse has moved out of the search box.

i can get it to work on my N7 but it's not straight forward.

they've mixed two forms of behaviour, for hover and click. they are using hover behaviour but after a click.

so you click the search function and that activates hover behaviour on 'search' and on 'forum tools'. it's daft because of someone had wanted forum tools they wouldn't have clicked search.

it's really stupid.

on my tablet, my phone and every tablet i've ever used you click search, the search box comes up and the screen is resized to make the search box fill the screen, which causes it to lose focus and disappear, so you have to click it again.

i find it hard to believe this is part of vbulletin.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 12:42
Resonance
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,606
Works fine of my Asus TF300 (using Chrome browser).
Resonance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 13:50
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,783
To the people that say it works on their tablet - are you sure you mean the popup Search This Forum box?

Of course the static search box at the top of the screen works on anything!
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 17:04
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 20,833
Digital Spy should have better tablet support!

I don't see anything wrong with DS on a tablet and it works fine for me. I get better results on searches anyway (irrespective of device) by going to Google, typing in site:forums.digitalspy.co.uk followed by the search terms that you're looking for and that should bring up some relevant results.
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 17:17
JeffG1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Newbury
Posts: 4,783
Digital Spy should have better tablet support!

I don't see anything wrong with DS on a tablet
Sure you're selecting the search box on the blue line just below the Add Reply or New Thread button (depending on which level you're at)?

If so, I'd be interested to know what tablet you are using. If it's an iPad, maybe it's just a problem with Android tablets (or my particular Android tablet is different from everyone else's!)
JeffG1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 04:17
Resonance
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 5,606
To the people that say it works on their tablet - are you sure you mean the popup Search This Forum box?

Of course the static search box at the top of the screen works on anything!
Yes, it's the pop up box. As I say works fine on my Asus TF300 using Chrome browser. I just click search, box comes up, touch inside box and then I can type into the box.
Resonance is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 07:32
lettice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,672
This works perfectly on ipad and iphone, exactly as it would on a PC browser.
Tried it with Safari, Chrome and iCabMobile browsers

I asked a friend to try on their Samsung Galaxy tab2 and it works fine on there too.
lettice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 08:58
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
so are we saying it works differently for different people running exactly the same hardware and software?
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 16:41
TelevisionUser
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Storbritannia
Posts: 20,833
This works perfectly on ipad and iphone, exactly as it would on a PC browser.
Tried it with Safari, Chrome and iCabMobile browsers

I asked a friend to try on their Samsung Galaxy tab2 and it works fine on there too.
That's what I have running on Android 4.04 with the standard vanilla browser and the internal DS search works OK for me. That said, I usually go outside to Google to do DS searches because I find their results to be more relevant overall.
TelevisionUser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 17:16
emptybox
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Scottish Borders
Posts: 10,760
It doesn't work on my Motorola Xoom (1st gen) on Android 4.0.4.

The search box pops out, then I touch inside the box and the keyboard pops up, and then keyboard and box disappears before I have time to enter anything.

This is on the stock browser and also the Maxthon browser.

ETA: it does work however on the Chrome browser, so I guess it depends on the browser.
emptybox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 19:38
Mr. Cool
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,469
Digital Spy needs an app on both Android and iOS.

Maybe Tapatalk?

You could also just go to forums.digitalspy.co.uk/search.php
Mr. Cool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 19:49
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,266
It works sometimes for me on my N4/N7 using Chrome and other times it vanishes as soon as I start typing.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 00:39.