Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Mobile browser request


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18-02-2013, 15:10
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389

I've just got myself a Nokia Lumia 620 smartphone and noticed my website looked a little odd when viewed on the phone The font size seemed to have a mind of its own

Anyhow after a bit of a google session I have hopefully managed to get the site usable on mobile browsers (optimised for landscape 800x480 or bigger).

The site should now render with bigger fonts when on a mobile browser so it is easier to read.

As I only have one mobile browser could people please test with their devices and give some feed back.

Thanks.

URL: http://abcde.co.uk/
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 18-02-2013, 15:46
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,483
Looks OK using Safari on an iPhone 4.
albertd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 15:52
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Looks OK using Safari on an iPhone 4.
Great Thanks.

Does the contact page have a map on it as I have removed some content to keep bandwidth down a bit for mobile users
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 15:58
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,483
Great Thanks.

Does the contact page have a map on it as I have removed some content to keep bandwidth down a bit for mobile users
It did when I first looked, but the map is gone now.

Still comes up on Firefox under Vista.
albertd is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 16:07
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
It did when I first looked, but the map is gone now.

Still comes up on Firefox under Vista.
Brilliant, thanks, I just added the code to remote it for mobile browsers.

The site has more eye candy when on a desktop Though most is plain text with CSS3 to tart it up ie. the site logo
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 16:18
lettice
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 2,932
On an iphone/ipad it does not show the map but a link 'FIND US ON GOOGLE MAPS', but if i change the browser id to firefox 17 windows it shows the map integrated.

It does the same with a Nexus 7 browser id.
lettice is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 16:20
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
On an iphone/ipad it does not show the map but a link 'FIND US ON GOOGLE MAPS', but if i change the browser id to firefox 17 windows it shows the map integrated.

It does the same with a Nexus 7 browser id.
Great, thanks for testing.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 16:48
JulesandSand
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 5,421
It displays OK on my HTC One X, the map is shown as a link.
JulesandSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 16:52
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
It displays OK on my HTC One X, the map is shown as a link.
Thanks, I also tested on an iPad3 and it looks good.

I'm glad the change was not too painful, I borrowed the mobile detection php code and that looks to be good
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 16:53
JulesandSand
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Caledonia
Posts: 5,421
Thanks, I also tested on an iPad3 and it looks good.

I'm glad the change was not too painful, I borrowed the mobile detection php code and that looks to be good
I've no idea what you just said but I'm glad it's working for you!
JulesandSand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-02-2013, 22:01
s2k
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5,076
Formatting looks alright...wouldnt say the text size was notably large but no real need to zoom and if I do it basically all adjusts. The button images dont show up though, not sure if this was intentional or due to the browser not supporting fancy scripting.

No map is displayed but there is a text link which prompts to open in one of 3 things.. if I choose maps it shows up as snakey lane.

Using the standard browser that comes with Android (not Chrome).
s2k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 09:20
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
Formatting looks alright...wouldnt say the text size was notably large but no real need to zoom and if I do it basically all adjusts. The button images dont show up though, not sure if this was intentional or due to the browser not supporting fancy scripting.

No map is displayed but there is a text link which prompts to open in one of 3 things.. if I choose maps it shows up as snakey lane.

Using the standard browser that comes with Android (not Chrome).
Thanks for testing, the graphics have been removed to minimise bandwidth for people not using wifi. The graphics should appear on desktop browsers as they will mainly have less bandwidth restrictions.

I changed the text size to 24pt for mobile as on my WP8 the text was very small and hard to read without zooming, desktops get the font at 12pt.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 10:07
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
opera has the ability to show you how it renders in opera mobile.

most phones adjust the fonts to keep them above a certain minimum level.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 10:13
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
opera has the ability to show you how it renders in opera mobile.

most phones adjust the fonts to keep them above a certain minimum level.
I don't have opera installed so cannot test on that, plus opera is changing its engine so I'm not too bothered about testing on opera mobile.

I found the resizing of fonts by the browser to be hit and miss so decided to turn this off using CSS.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 10:42
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
there is a meta command to disable zooming

<meta content='width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0, maximum-scale=1.0, user-scalable=0' name='viewport' />


<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width" />

but it can be over ridden.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 10:52
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
there is a meta command to disable zooming

<meta content='width=device-width, initial-scale=1.0, maximum-scale=1.0, user-scalable=0' name='viewport' />


<meta name="viewport" content="width=device-width" />

but it can be over ridden.
Thanks, I use:
Code:
text-size-adjust:none;
-moz-text-size-adjust:none;
-webkit-text-size-adjust:none;
-ms-text-size-adjust:none;
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 11:01
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
Thanks, I use:
Code:
text-size-adjust:none;
-moz-text-size-adjust:none;
-webkit-text-size-adjust:none;
-ms-text-size-adjust:none;
it'll works perfectly and looks nice in chrome on my nexus 7. but i can resize it.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 11:17
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
it'll works perfectly and looks nice in chrome on my nexus 7. but i can resize it.
I don't mind the site being resizeable it was the mobile browsers resizing some of the text but not all that caused a problem.

Thanks for testing.
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 12:41
tealady
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: colchester
Posts: 10,983
OK on skyfire, but more of a desktop view.
Do we get a discount?
tealady is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 12:49
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
OK on skyfire, but more of a desktop view.
Do we get a discount?
Thanks and no
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2013, 18:26
Magic Cottage
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 2,569
All looks fine running Chrome on my ICS smartphone.
Magic Cottage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2013, 18:30
anniebrion
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 16,389
All looks fine running Chrome on my ICS smartphone.
Thanks, looks like the mobile device detection ode is OK and the HTML5 compliant coding makes it work as expected on all devices
anniebrion is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT. The time now is 14:16.