Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

iOS 6.1.2 update out.


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 19-02-2013, 18:01
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,780

Fixes an Exchange calendar bug that could result in increased network activity and reduced battery life it says on the update..
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 19-02-2013, 18:02
DevonBloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Totnes, Devon
Posts: 2,535
Thank you. Will check it out. I had noticed my battery draining a bit quicker and I use Exchange and I hammer the calendar a lot!. Lets see if it fixes it.
DevonBloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 19:01
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,413
Ooo another one. I knew it was coming but didn't think it would be out this quickly.

EDIT why can't they make it downloadable on the phone network, you have to connect to wifi to download an 11.5mb file? Why?
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 19:02
Stuart_h
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,520
Does this fix the fix that 6.1.1 was fixing ?

To be fair good on them for getting updates out quickly .....
Stuart_h is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 19:03
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,706
Does it fix the locked phone hack?
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 19:40
legends wear 7
Guest
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 2,071
This is an awful lot of bug fixes for a company that people would have us believe deliver perfect fault free products
legends wear 7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 19:49
acoolwelshbloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Swansea, UK.
Posts: 2,361
Does it fix the locked phone hack?
No it does not, there will be another fix for that.
acoolwelshbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 19:51
davybhoy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Belfast
Posts: 1,173
Ooo another one. I knew it was coming but didn't think it would be out this quickly.

EDIT why can't they make it downloadable on the phone network, you have to connect to wifi to download an 11.5mb file? Why?
You on EE mate? Mine was 12.5Mb. Or was that a typo? Not trying to make an ass of you, just wondering if there seems to be a different update for different networks....?
davybhoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 19:54
acoolwelshbloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Swansea, UK.
Posts: 2,361
You on EE mate? Mine was 12.5Mb. Or was that a typo? Not trying to make an ass of you, just wondering if there seems to be a different update for different networks....?
Mine was also 11.5mb via over the air, was running 6.1.1 prior.

I'm on 3 uk but phone was originally on O2 officially unlocked.
acoolwelshbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:20
neil402003
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 134
I presume this would wipe out my jailbreak if i updated?.
neil402003 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:31
BKM
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 5,511
Ooo another one. I knew it was coming but didn't think it would be out this quickly.

EDIT why can't they make it downloadable on the phone network, you have to connect to wifi to download an 11.5mb file? Why?
Are you SURE it is only 11.5Mb! The full .ipsw files used by iTunes are now ~1Gb!!! Is this very small file merely the updater?
BKM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:33
kidspud
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 4,874
Are you SURE it is only 11.5Mb! The .ipsw files used by iTunes are now ~1Gb!!!
Just updated my iPad. File size was 12.5Mb
kidspud is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:33
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,780
yes, mine was 12mb. It only changes a few bits of code.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:33
chenks
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,592
Are you SURE it is only 11.5Mb! The full .ipsw files used by iTunes are now ~1Gb!!! Is this very small file merely the updater?
yes 11.5MB. it's a delta update, it doesn't require to download the whole OS, just the updated part.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:34
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,413
You on EE mate? Mine was 12.5Mb. Or was that a typo? Not trying to make an ass of you, just wondering if there seems to be a different update for different networks....?
Im on Three network and it was 11.5mb, strange thats its not the same?
Mine was also 11.5mb via over the air, was running 6.1.1 prior.

I'm on 3 uk but phone was originally on O2 officially unlocked.
You say "over the air" but did you need to connect your phone to wifi first? i swear i download an update in the past directly from the phones 3G connection? i cant remember now........
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:36
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,413
Are you SURE it is only 11.5Mb! The full .ipsw files used by iTunes are now ~1Gb!!! Is this very small file merely the updater?
DO NOT download it via itunes, it will wipe your phone of everything like it was out of the box, do it via wifi on the actual phone, it only takes 5mins tops
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:42
chenks
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,592
DO NOT download it via itunes, it will wipe your phone of everything like it was out of the box,
no it won't
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:45
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,780
DO NOT download it via itunes, it will wipe your phone of everything like it was out of the box, do it via wifi on the actual phone, it only takes 5mins tops
No it won't. Load of tosh. Please do not weigh into discussions if you are clueless.
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:52
acoolwelshbloke
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Swansea, UK.
Posts: 2,361
Im on Three network and it was 11.5mb, strange thats its not the same?


You say "over the air" but did you need to connect your phone to wifi first? i swear i download an update in the past directly from the phones 3G connection? i cant remember now........
Yea I had to connect to wifi.
acoolwelshbloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 20:55
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,413
Well when i updated from 6 to 6.1 i connected it to itunes and it said theres an update available etc, i clicked update and it said something like 80-90mbs even though i knew the OTA update was only 20 something mb, so i went ahead with it and to my complete horror during the process i saw the word "restoring iphone", then it was too late, my phone was wiped.

So tell me how i went wrong? how do you download a small OTA update via itunes without restoring the phone in the process? all i did was press the only button there was(update)

And before you (or anyone else) tells me im talking "toss", how about letting me explain first.... If i thought there was a possibility id done it wrong then i wouldnt have made such a bold statement, according to you guys i did it wrong though lol
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 21:10
chenks
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,592
Well when i updated from 6 to 6.1 i connected it to itunes and it said theres an update available etc, i clicked update and it said something like 80-90mbs even though i knew the OTA update was only 20 something mb, so i went ahead with it and to my complete horror during the process i saw the word "restoring iphone", then it was too late, my phone was wiped.

So tell me how i went wrong? how do you download a small OTA update via itunes without restoring the phone in the process? all i did was press the only button there was(update)

And before you (or anyone else) tells me im talking "toss", how about letting me explain first.... If i thought there was a possibility id done it wrong then i wouldnt have made such a bold statement, according to you guys i did it wrong though lol
you clearly clicked on restore rather than update.
doing an update via itunes does NOT wipe the device in any way.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 21:18
The Lord Lucan
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Scotland
Posts: 3,780
plus iTunes backs up the phone before the OS upgrade starts..
The Lord Lucan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 21:20
Lidtop2013
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: West Midlands, UK
Posts: 1,413
you clearly clicked on restore rather than update.
doing an update via itunes does NOT wipe the device in any way.
Pretty sure i didnt. i remember seeing the message about an update, well whatever happened im not doing it that way again.
Lidtop2013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 21:21
chenks
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: North Ayrshire
Posts: 10,592
Pretty sure i didnt. i remember seeing the message about an update, well whatever happened im not doing it that way again.
pretty sure you did.
the update and restore buttons are next to each other.
chenks is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2013, 21:30
Dark 1
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Nottingham
Posts: 3,873
Ain't touching it until it's confirmed there's a jailbreak available for it.
Dark 1 is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 17:15.