Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Why root Nexus 10?


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25-02-2013, 00:24
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,908

Has anyone rooted their Nexus 10?

I was just wondering if anyone had rooted their Nexus 10 and the reasons they did it.

The only reason i can think of is to use Titanium Backup. Any other reasons?
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 25-02-2013, 00:44
superboy
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 4,047
Has anyone rooted their Nexus 10?

I was just wondering if anyone had rooted their Nexus 10 and the reasons they did it.

The only reason i can think of is to use Titanium Backup. Any other reasons?
- GMD gesture control - control the entire tablet using gestures. Much quicker, intuitive, and gets rid of that horrible black bar

- LMT Pie - an alternative method of control, also better than the default

- To calibrate the display and get rid of the horrible whites

- Change the dpi to 240, to fit more on the screen. Due to the high res, everything looks extremely sharp

etc etc. Could go on, but it definitely gets a lot better after root
superboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2013, 01:10
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,908
Well i can tell you like your gestures

I'm not that fussed about those, i dont even use the shrink gesture on my S3.

The res issues i'm not sure i've found that an issue tbh.

Please go on, because i need a reason if i'm going to root it.

The downside to rooting for me is not getting future updates from Google automatically , i'll have to faff about installing roms again.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2013, 08:55
clonmult
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 2,943
- GMD gesture control - control the entire tablet using gestures. Much quicker, intuitive, and gets rid of that horrible black bar

- LMT Pie - an alternative method of control, also better than the default

- To calibrate the display and get rid of the horrible whites

- Change the dpi to 240, to fit more on the screen. Due to the high res, everything looks extremely sharp

etc etc. Could go on, but it definitely gets a lot better after root
Or in other words, you prefer it. Not necessarily better

Rooting/jailbreaking some devices is the only way foward due to a lack of updates via official sources (ie. my vega, some SE devices, HTC, etc.), or obvious shortcomings on the device (ie. the iPhone).

These stock Android devices from Google don't have anything like the same issues.
clonmult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 12:21
Pretinama
Guest
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 5,901
Why would anyone root something that was 'stock Android' anyhow?
Pretinama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 13:38
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,398
Why would anyone root something that was 'stock Android' anyhow?
For the same reason you would jailbreak an iPhone, to do things that are normally locked.
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 13:52
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,398
I would like to ask a question about backup that was mentioned as a reason for rooting.

What advantage is there in doing a back with a rooted device rather than using something like Carbon without rooting?
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 21:03
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,908
I would like to ask a question about backup that was mentioned as a reason for rooting.

What advantage is there in doing a back with a rooted device rather than using something like Carbon without rooting?
Root is required to backup app user data. I backup absolutely everything to a 64GB SD card, then to the cloud.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 21:05
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,908
Why would anyone root something that was 'stock Android' anyhow?
Isn't that kind of what i've asked in the OP?
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 22:14
Gormond
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Scotland
Posts: 15,398
Root is required to backup app user data. I backup absolutely everything to a 64GB SD card, then to the cloud.
Not true, Carbon backs up app user data and you don't need to root.

It even backs up ever day at the time you choose to the cloud service of your choice.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ikdutta.backup
Gormond is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 23:28
whoever,hey
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 29,908
Not true, Carbon backs up app user data and you don't need to root.

It even backs up ever day at the time you choose to the cloud service of your choice.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ikdutta.backup
I'm not sure then, even after a google.
whoever,hey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2013, 23:50
flagpole
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 43,524
The one issue would be to unlock the USB storage, or possibly some other restriction that Google may have applied. Other than that it is if you think some dude who lives in his mum's basement knows better than Google.
flagpole is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:16.