Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

"BTWiFi" vs "BTWiFi-with-FON"


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 25-02-2013, 15:25
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,186

When I look at the list of routers in the area, I often see BT users who have three entries:

BTHub3.......
BTWiFi
BTWiFi-with-FON

I can understand there being two, one for the user's own system (BTHub3...) and one of the WiFi entries for other BT customers to use, but what is the purpose of the third one?
albertd is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 25-02-2013, 17:26
Richard_T
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: East Midlands
Posts: 3,332
The Hub bit is the customers private wifi.
the BT wIfi is a BT wifi hotspot service ( that doesnt use any of the customers allowance)
the Fon bit is part of the international fon wifi sharing network, again with BT customers this doesnt use any of their alowance, and if they are using the internet it wont take ( much) bandwidth as the user gets priority.

As for Fon, you can buy a fonera yourslef and safely and securly ) share some of your internet wioth other people on the fon network, likewise you can then use Fon wifi hotspots in the UK and around the world for free.
http://maps.fon.com/

The fon boxes cost around £35 - if you have a smartphone and skype+Skype credit/call out, or another voip provider you can call home on your phone over wifi, whilst abroad, connected to a fon wifi hotspot with no roaming costs.
Richard_T is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-02-2013, 17:44
-ajm-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hedge End, Southampton, Hants.
Posts: 2,425
Because there are three types of connection;
Home hub
Business hub
Public places

The BTWiFi SSID is consistent on all of those but BTWiFi-with-FON is only one home hubs and BTOpenzone-B is only on business hubs. I am a fon user and as of recently I can't connect to any of the two business hubs I can receive at home, but I can connect to the home hub. Since all transmit BTWiFi, it only connects to the strongest one but if I connect to BTWiFi-with-FON, it goes to the home hub one.
-ajm- is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 08:27
albertd
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Crawley, W. Sussex
Posts: 7,186
Thanks folks. I still don't really get it as the explanations are rather technical for me, but it is not a matter of any urgency, was just curious.
albertd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 12:19
jackthom
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 4,033
Thanks folks. I still don't really get it as the explanations are rather technical for me, but it is not a matter of any urgency, was just curious.
Yes I've just joined BT Infinity and haven't found an idiots guide for this yet.

I'm having slight trouble understanding the differences between making a BT Fon connection and using the shared BT WiFi signal, apart from an extra box being required for one..
jackthom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 13:05
The Sack
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: S6 WTID UTO FTB
Posts: 5,531
what extra box?
The Sack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 17:46
robertcrowther
Inactive Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 236
No extra box is required, only the HomeHub. (Which is a Fonera router)

Fon works by putting the unused portion of your broadband to work for you. Fonera routers make this possible by broadcasting two powerful, dedicated WiFi signals. One signal is encrypted and private - itís just for you. The other signal is public, and accessible to registered members of the Fon community. And, because you only share a little bit of your WiFi, you won't even notice when others are connected.
robertcrowther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 17:54
-ajm-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hedge End, Southampton, Hants.
Posts: 2,425
Thanks folks. I still don't really get it as the explanations are rather technical for me, but it is not a matter of any urgency, was just curious.
You needn't worry. But if you buy a Fonera, I suggest you only use BTWiFi-with-FON because the other one plays up on certain hubs for FON accounts.
-ajm- is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 17:58
-ajm-
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Hedge End, Southampton, Hants.
Posts: 2,425
Yes I've just joined BT Infinity and haven't found an idiots guide for this yet.

I'm having slight trouble understanding the differences between making a BT Fon connection and using the shared BT WiFi signal, apart from an extra box being required for one..
As a BT Customer, you can use:
BTWiFi
BTWiFi-with-FON
BTOpenzone
BTOpenzone-H
BTOpenzone-B
BTFON
They're more or less the same.
All you need to do is log in.
-ajm- is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 27-02-2013, 11:59
jackthom
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Northumberland
Posts: 4,033
Thanks robertcrowther and -ajm- for making that clearer.
jackthom is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:03.