Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 

Avalon 300R Connect


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-02-2013, 10:41
davor
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Europe
Posts: 1,936

Does anyone have Pure's Avalon 300R Connect free view box? I was just checking the specs, and it looks great. Do you have to be contracted with a cable provider to use on demand services? My guess is no, but I see that people go with talk talk's YouView box just to have on demand services. What's the difference between the regular YouView and talk talks and BT's box? This would be two questions in one
davor is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-02-2013, 15:43
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,043
Does anyone have Pure's Avalon 300R Connect free view box? I was just checking the specs, and it looks great. Do you have to be contracted with a cable provider to use on demand services? My guess is no, but I see that people go with talk talk's YouView box just to have on demand services. What's the difference between the regular YouView and talk talks and BT's box? This would be two questions in one
It uses a broadband connection for the on-demand services. Just like many a Smart TV or some PVRs such as my Humax Fox-T2

The basic YouView service is the same whatever way you get it. The TalkTalk and BT versions add on some extra streams and channels that you don't get with the stand alone box. Though you have to get either TalkTalk or BT broadband with those boxes. The stand alone box can be used with any broadband supplier.

http://www.youview.com/get-youview/

Click the links to the TalkTalk and BT websites to get the full details.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 16:13
lstar337
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somersets Mighty Mendip Tx!
Posts: 8,996
It uses a broadband connection for the on-demand services. Just like many a Smart TV or some PVRs such as my Humax Fox-T2

The basic YouView service is the same whatever way you get it. The TalkTalk and BT versions add on some extra streams and channels that you don't get with the stand alone box. Though you have to get either TalkTalk or BT broadband with those boxes. The stand alone box can be used with any broadband supplier.

http://www.youview.com/get-youview/

Click the links to the TalkTalk and BT websites to get the full details.
Hmm...

Does the BT Youview box continue to work for standard Youview services if you leave BT and go to another supplier?
lstar337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 16:20
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,043
Hmm...

Does the BT Youview box continue to work for standard Youview services if you leave BT and go to another supplier?
Can't see why it shouldn't. Unless BT have tweaked the firmware to make it specific to them of course.

Mind you I see in the "Legal stuff" at the bottom of the page describing the box they say if you quit in the first 12 months you could get charged up to £299 which I assume may be to effectively buy the box off them?

So if they are in effect flogging you the box if you move suppliers it would seem a bit off if they sold you a crippled box that didn't do the basics at least.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 16:53
lstar337
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Somersets Mighty Mendip Tx!
Posts: 8,996
Can't see why it shouldn't. Unless BT have tweaked the firmware to make it specific to them of course.

Mind you I see in the "Legal stuff" at the bottom of the page describing the box they say if you quit in the first 12 months you could get charged up to £299 which I assume may be to effectively buy the box off them?

So if they are in effect flogging you the box if you move suppliers it would seem a bit off if they sold you a crippled box that didn't do the basics at least.
Just thinking about the old Vision boxes. My dad was charged for his early Vision box (he was told the money was to pay for the box) but as you probably know, those boxes are a dead stick without a BT broadband.
lstar337 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 17:18
paul_m
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Romford
Posts: 1,423
Is this Pure Avalon the first PVR with built-in WiFi so you don't need to cable it to the router or use homeplugs? That's a big plus for this box if so. And the menus GUI looks very nice and modern too.
paul_m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 18:46
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 22,043
Just thinking about the old Vision boxes. My dad was charged for his early Vision box (he was told the money was to pay for the box) but as you probably know, those boxes are a dead stick without a BT broadband.
Difference is BT Vision was a solely BT service whereas YouView isn't. So in that respect a YouView box can have a life away from BT. You just lose the add ons BT give you on their version.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 28-02-2013, 01:55
Peter Henderson
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Newtownabbey, Co.Antrim Northe
Posts: 1,493
If it works properly with Saorview then it'll be great. Currently, the Humax boxes only seem to be able to do this.
Peter Henderson is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 16:33
Haygudlookin
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: North Yorkshire
Posts: 11
Hi,
I have both a Humax YouView box and the new Pure Avalon 300R. I bought the Avalon because of the WiFi as I needed it in a rooml well away from my router.
I am with TalkTalk for my ISP, but do not use, or want their tv packages. The Avalon just connects to iPlayer and YouTube without any problem. I have to say that the picture and sound quality of the Avalon are excellent. The graphics are slick and very quick, and I like the fact that in the EPG once a programme is highlighted the information for it is there on screen without needing another button push like with my YouView box. I also like the fact that recordings can be edited. So I use both boxes. I tend to record movies and documentaries on the Avalon as i tend to keep those and the 1TB of storage is good for that, and do the rest on the YouView.
Haygudlookin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-03-2013, 18:58
Hertz
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 374
Here's a very favourable review from What HiFi:

http://www.whathifi.com/review/avalon-300r

Pure Avalon 300R review: Verdict
Even without those additions we’re rather smitten with the Avalon. Simply put, no other PVR delivers higher quality video and none are as much of a pleasure to operate. This is a really classy device that proves once and for all that Pure is way more than a radio manufacturer
Hertz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2013, 12:19
gital
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Cambridgeshire
Posts: 26

Here's a very favourable review from What HiFi:

http://www.whathifi.com/review/avalon-300r
Here is another excellent review by Home Cinema Choice:
http://www.homecinemachoice.com/news...-review/15384/
gital is offline Follow this poster on Twitter   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2013, 13:54
DarkDestroyer
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Preston UK
Posts: 18

Just bought a second hander on ebay for £120 all in - good box bought it to replace Hummy 9200T and Sony streaming box (save power and ports).

I already have a Hummy HDR-FOX-T1 and that's a great box, probably just better than the pure for flexibility (more config options, hackable, just a bit more streaming support and a nicer interface)

The Avalon is a great box though, iplayer and youtube better and faster than the hummy, the PIP feature on the info bar is great except I'd like to be able to swap channels and retain the PIP to swap back like the 9200T.

Hoping for a firmware update soon, there are ruored to be new on line bits and bug fixes. Hopefully some more streaming support too.
DarkDestroyer is offline   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 16:30.