Digital Spy

Search Digital Spy
 

DS Forums

 
 
 

What's the cheapest unlimited broadband without line rental


Reply
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26-02-2013, 11:41
Daniel_Jones
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 40

I'm shopping round and was wondering what is the cheapest unlimited package but I do not want line rental
Daniel_Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Please sign in or register to remove this advertisement.
Old 26-02-2013, 11:47
joshua_welby
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: London
Posts: 6,816

I'm shopping round and was wondering what is the cheapest unlimited package but I do not want line rental
Only Virgin offers Broadband without the Line Rental but only if you live in a Cable TV area
joshua_welby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 11:50
rjb101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,131
When you say you don't want line rental is that because you have a land line providor and don't want to change or you use a mobile and don't want to pay for the use of a landline.

If it's the later then it's only Virgin afaik, and then only if you live in the right place.
rjb101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 12:12
Daniel_Jones
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 40
When you say you don't want line rental is that because you have a land line providor and don't want to change or you use a mobile and don't want to pay for the use of a landline.

If it's the later then it's only Virgin afaik, and then only if you live in the right place.
I'm currently on O2 all rounder with out line rental I was just wondering if there is any cheaper packages around ? I currently use my mobile for all calls as I have unlimited calls if I need to phone a 0845/70 number guaranteed I can find a landline alternative so I don't see the point in paying for line rental when I'm not going to use it
Daniel_Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 12:19
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,127
I'm currently on O2 all rounder with out line rental I was just wondering if there is any cheaper packages around ? I currently use my mobile for all calls as I have unlimited calls if I need to phone a 0845/70 number guaranteed I can find a landline alternative so I don't see the point in paying for line rental when I'm not going to use it
You cannot get broadband over a phone line without paying line rental. There is no way round that.

Your only options are some form of wireless broadband or Virgin cable if you don't want to pay line rental.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 12:22
Daniel_Jones
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 40
You cannot get broadband over a phone line without paying line rental. There is no way round that.

Your only options are some form of wireless broadband or Virgin cable if you don't want to pay line rental.
I'm on O2 and I don't pay any line rental what so ever just 12.50 for bb
Daniel_Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 12:35
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,127
I'm on O2 and I don't pay any line rental what so ever just 12.50 for bb
In that case whoever is providing your phone line is not billing you for the service. Or you are on O2's 12 month half price broadband and line rental package offer.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 12:48
Daniel_Jones
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 40
I used to have line rental with bt early last year when I plugged a phone into the socket there is a dial tone but it will not let you dial out I've been paying 12.50 for broadband only for nearly a year. I don't know what's happening but I'm not complaining
Daniel_Jones is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 13:05
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,127
I used to have line rental with bt early last year when I plugged a phone into the socket there is a dial tone but it will not let you dial out I've been paying 12.50 for broadband only for nearly a year. I don't know what's happening but I'm not complaining
That sounds like BT have ceased the line. Which means that it will likely go completely dead at some random point in time.

In fact it is amazing your broadband is working as normally that would cease at the same time. But then that does rely on the different service providers talking to each other. But there is no way you can get broadband without an active phone line so if you DO change providers and your line is actually ceased then you are going to have to re-activate the line and start paying rental for it.
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 15:21
rjb101
Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,131
I used to have line rental with bt early last year when I plugged a phone into the socket there is a dial tone but it will not let you dial out I've been paying 12.50 for broadband only for nearly a year. I don't know what's happening but I'm not complaining
looks like you'll be staying with 02 then
rjb101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-02-2013, 15:45
chrisjr
Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Reading
Posts: 21,127
looks like you'll be staying with 02 then
And always the risk Openreach will decide they need that pair of wires for something else
chrisjr is online now   Reply With Quote
 
Reply



Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

 
Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 13:47.